We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MonRiad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MonRiad
Ranked #59 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The place is beautiful, has a nice terrace. The location is really great, 10 minutes walk to the Jema el Fna square. We felt pretty safe walking there and back even at night. You can explore the whole Medina by foot from the riad, which is nice. Some of the staff did not speak english.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Propriétaire at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Carlos,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at MonRiad with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad. Good comments such as yours are really important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in Marrakech, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    194
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
93
375
68
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Riad is just a couple of minutes away from the Bahia Palace and also from the main square. Few more minutes from El Badi Palace. It is few metres away from the main street in a cul de sac so it is very easy to miss it, be prepared to get lost so my advice is to ask for more details and reference points before arriving. A taxi stand is also around the corner. I liked the location not just because is close to a couple of attractions and the main square but also because this part of the medina is a bit more open and less claustrophobic! From the terrace of the riad you can have a good picture and view of the medina and the Atlas mountains. Good service and rooms, I would suggest to ask for a higher floor to be more isolated from the ground floor courtyard. The staff is happy to talk to guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We want to thank you for your comment.
Yes, the Monriad is close to the main places to visit inside the Medina and being in a cul-de-sac makes it a quiet and relaxing oasis. At the beginning you could get lost, but with a couple of reference points you won’t miss it! We usually provide our guests with a map of the city (where the Monriad is clearly marked) and a business card with our address and telephone number, so that you can contact us whenever you need it.
We try to do our best to welcome our guests with warmth to make you feel at ease in such a fascinating city. We just want you to enjoy your time here in Marrakech and to make it as pleasant as possible for you.
We hope to see you again here in Morocco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

First, they tried to cheat on us with guide prices. When we arrived in the hotel, we asked if they could arrange an official guide from the National Tourism Board (Office National de Tourisme) to walk us around the next morning. This is a very standard practice in Morocco and every hotel is used to doing it through the Tourism board because guides need to pass a national exam in order to work as guides, and afterwards work for a fee stablished by law. The staff that night called on our behalf and told us that everything was arranged and the service would be 50 euros (500 Dh) for half a day and 100 euros (1000 Dh) for the day. I answered that I lived in Morocco and normal prices were around 25 euros (250 Dh) half a day and 30 euros (300 Dh) for the day and he replied that Marrakesh was very expensive and those were the prices of the National Tourism Board, the ones legally stablished. That same night we had dinner at a very nice 4 star hotel and asked there what were normal prices for tour guides...and they informed me that 250 Dh for the day and 300 Dh for a day. Next morning we asked to cancel the guide service because prices for a day were more than 3 times of what was charged by the National Office of Tourism, the guy made a scandal saying that it was not true and he couldn´t cancel at that point (although it was more than 2 hours before the appointment time). When I told the story to the Italian manager she pretended that those were normal prices, the "official ones", only to admit that it was a private agency organising and that she was unaware of the official prices. I honestly don´t believe that they didn´t know.

Second, we were woken up very early by a group of Italian tourists having breakfast. Rooms are around the patio and you can hear people speaking as if they were inside your room. So be prepared to be woken up as early as people start having breakfast.

Third, the breakfast was quite scarce. We had half a baguette for four people and some viennoisseries (not even one per person). Orange juice was not even fresh and I was surprised not to see "traditional" moroccan breakfast items that you usually get in riads, such as msmens, harchas, etc.

On the positive side, I´d say that the hotel is conveniently located, close to every attraction.

After this, I stayed in other hotels in Marrakesh and I can assure that you can get better value for money in the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monriad11, Direttore at MonRiad, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Madam,
>
>we thank you for your contribution but we would have preferred that you
>firstly manifested to us your complaints
>Problems can be avoided or fixed if there is enough communication on both
>parts.
>Anyway, let's go facing point by point your complaints.
>First of all, the guide service. We are very clear about this
matter, giving
>detailed information about prices and circuits and giving you the choice
of
>accepting or refusing this service. You are not forced to take a service but
if
>you do it, a little common sense must tell you that changing ideas from
night
>to day can cause discomforts to the people involved in this matter.
> I do believe my staff and the work they do daily; they are very clean and
>honest and they try to do their best to satisfy the needs of the clients so
I
>cannot accept any insults regarding to their behaviour.
>As for the noise heard from your room, I think you made a judgement only
on
>the basis of your experience which is not an ordinary status. We did anyway
our
>best to avoid the noise but it's still up to the common sense of the people
not
>screaming and shouting in a private house during breakfast.
>As for the breakfast, did you ask to the personnel if you could have more
>things to eat?It is your right and we would not refuse your request. Orange
>juice is not fresh for hygienical reasons whereas the pastry you were
served
>was totally moroccan ( ususally we give Msmen and typical croissant) ...
Again,
>did you ask for it?
>Eventually, for the price you were requested you cannot ask for more, in my
>opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Clean and comfortable, friendly and helpful staff, great location, peaceful, fabulous roof terrace, excellent breakfast and dinner also available, free wifi, great value, what more could you want to enjoy your stay in this fascinating city?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Propriétaire at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Rob,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at MonRiad with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad. Good comments such as yours are really important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in Marrakech, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

3 years later...we came back!
My partner and I decided to spend a romantic week end away from the busy London and we chose Marrakech and Monriad again!
Great to see that Marrakech has not changed at all, it feels like the world is standing still there! Well, on the contrary, Monriad has became even a more beautiful place! It's nice to see how more decorations, details and comforts have been added, making it very cosy! the staff gave us a warm welcome and looked us after for the whole time (even took care of me with my terrible cough - those secret herbal remedies...they worked!). The food we had the first night at the riad was simply tasty! thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Propriétaire at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
Dear Ruby,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at MonRiad with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad. Good comments such as yours are really important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in Marrakech, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Would agree with the other positive reviews. Be sure to go up to the top balcony in the morning after you have spend some time wandering around the city; the view looking down is really different.

Rooms are smallish, think Paris small, and if you have large luggage the stairs are going to be a problem. However if you are person who need large rooms and have a lot of luggage this hotel is not for you.

Once you reserve a room you will get confirmation and an offer for airport pick up. Do the offer for the airport pickup, even with a map getting around the twists and turns of the medina is hard until you learn some landmarks. Most street signs are in arabic and I used signs to restaurants and other stores as landmarks.

Breakfast consisted of coffee/tea, OJ, bread, yogurt, jam and butter, some cereal and cheeses were available. On two days we also had the thick creape like items and the other day we had croissants.
They also offer a dinner and want to know the before hand so they can purchase the supplies. Never tried so don't know how it was but would probably do it for a home cooked meal.

Great staff and a comfortable place, would easily come back here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanInEurope02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Propriétaire at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at MonRiad with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad. Good comments such as yours are really important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in Marrakech, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed at the MonRiad with my wife on 3 separate occasions on a 12 day trip to Morocco in November. The MonRiad is extremely well run and Federica and the rest of the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The common area is a very nice place to chill and have some mint tea. The rooms are really clean (we stayed in two different ones) and have their own individual styling. Great location - close enough to walk to the main square but far enough away to get a good nights sleep! Recommend the airport pickup on your first visit. Would definitely stay again if/when we return to Marrakech

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonRiad, Propriétaire at MonRiad, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at MonRiad with the Trip Advisor Community.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Riad. Good comments such as yours are really important and useful for us. You may rest assured that they will be forwarded to all persons concerned.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in Marrakech, for business or leisure, we remain,

with best regards,

Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#58 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#66 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#70 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#57 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#146 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#44 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MonRiad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MonRiad

Property: MonRiad
Address: 4 Derb Lahbasse | Riad Zitoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MonRiad 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MonRiad is located in Marrakech’s medina, a 5-minute walk from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers en suite rooms, a lounge and patio. Free Wi-Fi is available.MonRiad features traditional riad details including tedelakt tiles. Each room is air-conditioned and has a private bathroom.Guests are invited to relax in the riad’s living room, which has a fireplace and satellite TV. There is also a interior patio with a whirlpool fountain.MonRiad is 200 metres from Bahia Palace and 10 km from Marrakech-Menara Airport. There are a variety of sites in the area including the Berber village of Essaouira and the Ouzoud Waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your MonRiad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing