We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The best food in Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Annexe

L'Annexe
Ranked #4 of 759 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $49
Cuisines: French, European, Steakhouse, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Weekly Closing on Sundays and Mondays. the restaurant is open until 14:00 serving lunch at 22:00 evening service. For the Ramadan 20:30 / 22:30
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best food in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Quite simply the best meal we had in Marrakech. French cooking done superbly. Rabbit terrine for me and duck pate for my wife. The terrine would not look out of place at any michelin star restaurant. Then superb steaks to follow served with garlic saute potatoes and salad. Other mains such as duck breast, pasta and chicken in a mustard sauce also looked delicious. One minor criticism is that the portions are too large so we had no room for what looked like lovely desserts.

Initially it was too quiet with only one other couple at 8.30pm but soon it filled up and there was a lovely ambience to add to the friendly and efficient service. Our bill for two courses for two, a bottle of Morrocan wine and water came to 620 dhirams (48 pounds) which we thought was excellent value.

It can be hard to find so tell the taxi driver that it is round the corner from the hotel diwane in the gueliz district.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank greenhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    251
    35
    15
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good food but lacks atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner at L'Annexe, the food was delicious, we had goats cheese filled filo pastry for starters which was light and tasty and chicken for main course which was beautifully presented and tasted delicious.
I thought the meal good value, my only criticism with the restaurant was the lighting which lacked any sort of atmosphere. Well worth a visit for the food alone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VikingRaider_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be surprised....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Using TA we decide to give it a try: yes, it is of the beaten track, yes, it is very French, yes it is is not a tourist trap so GO- food is delightful nay exquisite , service is informal but good and you will be made to feel welcome (even with my school-boy French). We enjoyed it so much we went back two nights later and will go again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Quite disappointing and overpriced for the quality!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent a busy afternoon shopping in new city of Marrakesh and stopped by l’Annexe for dinner. While the service was good, the food was lower than average. Quite disappointing and overpriced for the quality.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MonicaH416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best meal in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had a fantastic meal here with my family, while here in Marakech. We were served the best food we ate the whole time we were in Morocco. The only bad thing I can say about the L'annexe was the way the boss treated his staff, he was fully abusing his young waitress who was so sweet and lovely and who had done a fantasitc job, in full earshot of the entire restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheep666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Annexe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to L'Annexe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing