We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Siwan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Siwan
Ranked #450 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

To get a sense of Riad Siwan, imagine a mix of five star luxury and boutique warmth and service. From the moment we entered from the dark and cobbled old streets, it was like going through the looking glass into an elegant wonderland. Maryk and Cees have created a beautiful environment designed with creative flair and filled with artworks that delight the senses. Our family took six of the seven very spacious bedrooms, each with a sitting areas and luxurious bathroom. They all open to verandahs with armchairs and the green and lush central atrium, that is a fairyland of lamps at night. Then there is the roof terrace - large, comfortable, perfect for breakfast and candlelit suppers. The tower has a panoramic view of the city. So much for the design. Now I can rave about the service and the food! It was my husband's birthday and we had adult children and three small grandchildren with us. Maryk and Cees, the owners, Khalid the manager and all the staff tended cheerfully to our every whim and accommodated all of our foibles, including fussy eaters and vegetarians. They organized excursions into the desert and the mountains, and around the town, and recommended restaurants, all making use of their extensive knowledge and contacts. Water and fruit was always provided in the rooms, you only had to sit in the courtyard, in the lounge or on the roof for someone to offer a mint tea, wine, or whatever you fancied. They lit a fire in our bedroom at night. There is free wifi. The dining room is very special with waterfall crystals from the roof and the food was delightful and delicious. Maryk organized a wonderful birthday party for us with musicians, a magician and a belly dancer! We felt as if it was a second home. My six year old granddaughter said, 'I want this to be my house!' As well, it was only moments to the main square and the souks, and by a direct route, so almost impossible to get lost! Riad Siwan gave us one of our best holiday experiences, ever. Thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I recently stayed at Riad Siwan with my boyfriend for three nights and we both have mixed reviews. it's quite long, so skip to my summary at the bottom if you want a quick answer!
It started off well; we had a transfer from the airport organised for us and a man carried our bags through to the hotel. The location was amazing as you went from the hustle and bustle of a lively town to a very quiet hotel. We were greeted by the general manager of the hotel, as well as one of the owners who took us through a guide to Marrakech and suggested a few places to visit, most of which we did. (i would definitely suggest Topsis for Morrocan food, and Contoir for a bit of belly dancing!) They then prepared us an amazing lunch where they brought you items rather than ordering off a menu - a really nice touch.

However, there were a few things that didn't quite work, some of which are just due to our tastes, others which I think wouldn't suit anyone's tastes. We were the only people staying in the hotel so it was quite eerie and didn't particularly make me feel relaxed as I felt like you had to be very quiet and were being watched everywhere you went! However, there were a few times where it was so quiet, but the staff were being so noisy that it echoed around the building.

Then there was the bed. I don't mind a sturdy mattress but this bed was like sleeping on a metal table. Every morning we both woke up with lower back pain (I'm only 25!) and did not feel well rested. I quite like to sleep in a cool room but the air conditioning unit was so noisy that it made it difficult to sleep.

Finally, there were no locks on the doors which I understand it quite common in Riads but there also wasn't a safety deposit box in the room. It would've been nice to have this explained, or reassured when we got there about the safety of the hotel.

SUMMARY!
Location - amazing
Food - really good but would possibly get bored of it if we stayed longer than 3 nights
Room - basic
Bed - awful!
Staff - very knowledgeable about the area, friendly, attentive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliB2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Buried within the twisting narrow lanes of this frenetic, ancient medina, behind a nondescript door, you enter a tranquil bit of heaven.

The central garden and fountain, the ornate and delicate carved ceiling and archways, and the fantastic suites - this was a wonderful place to enjoy our breakfasts, a late afternoon drink, an occasional dinner and a perfect night of quiet and rest.

Meals are served on a multilevel rooftop patio. The breakfasts for two could have served 4, and everything was delicious with gentle service by the staff. We ate dinner 2 of the four nights that we stayed at Riad Siwan and they were wonderful (and very romantic under the stars).

My wife and I hardily recommend this oasis as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We spent 2 days at Riad Siwan after having spent 5 days in the Grand Atlas. After the peace of the mountains, Marrakech is sensory overload - hawkers, snake charmers, scooters speeding through the narrow crowded lanes, smells and smoke from cooking, and the heat of the sun. Riad Siwan was a calm oasis that allowed us to appreciate this fantastic city without burning out. Located in the heart of the medina, which makes most of the major attractions within easy walking distance, the Riad is not easy to find - a journey through twisting, narrow lanes and tunnels leads to an unassuming door marked only as #28. Beyond that door is a newly remodeled slice of paradise, run by a friendly and efficient staff. The central atrium courtyard characteristic of a riad is a small but lush garden around a central fountain. We stayed in Ifrane, a twin room on the upper floor decorated in beautiful Moroccan colors. The room overlooks the atrium and is air-conditioned, but as it cooled down rapidly after sunset we only used the air conditioning during the hottest part of the day. The beds were wonderfully comfortable. The en suite bathroom was spacious and modern. A few steps up led to the roof terrace, where meals were served, as well as to the small but very welcome plunge pool. A few more steps led to the tower, with superb panoramic views of the medina. As one of the days we stayed at the riad was my travel companion's birthday, the staff prepared a superb dinner for us - a chicken tagine with confit citron and olives that was to die for - by far the best food we had in Marrakech. The manager Khalid is extremely helpful and proactively looked after our comfort, and also arranged a city guide for us, which made our foray into Marrakech much more informative and enjoyable. WiFi was readily accessible in all parts of the riad. Riad Siwan also supports Education For All, which provides assistance for Moroccan girls pursuing higher education.

I would highly recommend Riad Siwan to anyone staying in Marrakech. Our stay there could not have been better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Riad Siwan is a beautifully renovated Riad in a very central location in Marrakech. Our suite was fantastic, with a huge bathroom. Bed and pillows were very comfortable! The furnishings are very stylish and mostly sourced locally. It was very quiet and relaxed, an oasis to come back to after a day in the souks. The roof terrace is spacious and extremely comfortable with great views over the city. A great place for breakfast in the morning sun. We had dinner twice in the Riad and the food was fantastic and very good value. We also had a good lunch on the terrace. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Cees & Maryk are wonderful hosts and full of good advice about where to go in Marrakech. We have been to Marrakech several times and will now always stay at Riad Siwan. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our five days at the Riad Siwan. Staff and owners could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The accommodations and room features were elegant. Food was outstanding, and the accompanying Moroccan wine was surprisingly good.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This riad is an oasis in the medina. The rooms are spectacular, the food is very good (some of the best we had in Morocco) and the staff are attentive, pleasant and helpful. We would not hesitate to recommend anyone to this riad. There are no phones, no newspapers and no television - a perfect escape!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lgitterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#84 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#177 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,613 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Siwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Siwan

Property: Riad Siwan
Address: Zanka Adika No. 28 | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #450 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Siwan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Siwan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing