We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good, but next time I would look for other options” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Lila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Lila
Ranked #611 of 1,162 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good, but next time I would look for other options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We love to reach the hotels alone and independently and we had that experience in Morocco, but this property maps and coordinates provided false - large discrepancies, so we had to ask local for the help. It’s unpleasant because they are rude and ask for this job much more than they deserves. Riad is in dead end of street, so reach it escorted by five strangers is scary.
Inside is cosy, calm fairy tail world. Nice stuff! Lovely interior design and all moroccan decor details and colours. Room very tiny, but clean, cosy.
We spent three weeks in Morocco and this was the last stop, so I can compare it with other places we've stayed - good place, warm stuff, but nothing exceptional i think for the next time I would look for other place, but I can't say nothing particularly bad about this riad.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrius B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
12
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel was nice but we had a couple issues upon arrival. First, we had booked based on the room size as listed on the website we used and the number they gave was 474 ft. The actual room size ended up being half that, which I still struggle to understand. Aditionally, they had put us in a room not the one we booked and after talking to the owner who was probably in her chateau in France when we spoke on the phone, she gave us our room the next morning. I don't know how they can give a size that is not the actual size of the room and claim to include a kitchen and other ammenities in the room descritption. We should have known that it was too good to be true as riad rooms in Marrakesh are usually holes in the wall and to get 474, you'd have to book at the palatial hotel. Aside from the city being an overwhelming experience and the people being complete grabby and annoying at times, coming back to the quiet riad was nice after having been torn to shreds by Medina sellers and tattoo ninjas. Thanks Hana for everything. Just make sure to get the booking right.
All in all, if you want the exotic riad experience, this place is great for a good price. Otherwise, with the madness of the suks and the stink in the square, I'll probably stay outside the Medina next time just to be able to escape the rude comments by the locals (they didn't think we spoke both their languages) and the tight walkways that can get to you after a week.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hautediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had a lovely stay at riad Lila. Riad is in the middle of the medina but once you enter the riad it is quiet and very nice decorated. Hannah was such a nice women who made our stay really comfortable and she was always helpfull and friendly. Breakfast at the roof terrace was great, nice views and you could ask for anything. Our room was really nice, two seperate beds and it was clean. We stayed our first night in the other riad while lila was overbooked but this was no problem. We would definately recommend this riad to others. They also organized our airport transfer (eur 40 retour) which we would recommed to do while the riad may be hard to find yourself.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Unexpectedly there was dinner waiting for us on our arrival (we arrived after 8 pm) as Hannah thought we might be tired after our trip - she was right, we were very grateful and it was well worth the 10 euros per head. All our rooms were comfortable and very clean. There was plenty to eat for our breakfasts which we were able to have on the roof terrace in the morning sunshine. This Riad is ideally situated only a few hundred metres away from the Jamma el Fna market square and souks. Hannah was extremely helpful in arranging minibuses for our trips out to the Atlas mountains where we visited Berber villages and had guided walks. Being a large group we had to synchronise our shower times as water pressure seemed to be a problem particularly for the room at the top. Unfortunately we were unable to pay by credit card as the machine wasn't working.

Room Tip: All rooms were of a good standard, comfortable and clean. An ideal base for our group of 12 as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The manager was fantastic he could not do enough
The weather in feb is not good very cold and wet
Only go if you can barter well, with everything.
Never go to the tanneries keep well away
I ma glad I have been but will never return ,

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Booked this Riad based on the photos and reviews on here. And we were not disappointed.
I had read warnings about being harassed from the taxi door by people wanting to show you the way to your hotel. We had this, that said I don't think we would have found the place otherwise! It is well hidden down several small alleys. Once we knew the way, we were fine getting in and out though.
On arrival we were given mint tea, before being shown up to our beautiful and spotless room.
Breakfast is a table filled with more food than you could ever hope to eat, at whatever time you roll out of bed.
The staff are always smiling and happy to help as best they can. Their English is not great, but better than my French or Arabic, so I can't complain.
Going in November it wasn't really the weather for spending any time on the terrace, while it wasn't cold it certainly wasn't sunbathing weather. But I did have a quick look up there, and I imagine it would be great in the summer evenings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phdutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Exelent location in the centre of town. Nice seclude courtyard, an oasis in the middle of the city. Beautiful rooms even the one at the top. Very clean. Gods beds, even for my 2 meters. Good breakfast, lunches and diners. But the best is Hanna ! She'll manages it all for you. She makes our days! all 7 of them!.

Room Tip: Non of the rooms are big, but you got to live outside, on the tarrace or both lounche area's. Ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarmKnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#161 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#21 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#125 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#8 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Lilas
Riad Dar Lilas
#443 of 1,162 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lila

Property: Riad Lila
Address: Derb Dabachi Derb My Abdelkader No 21, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #611 of 1,162 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lila 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Lila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing