We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calming oasis with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bamboo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Bamboo
Ranked #113 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Calming oasis with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Last week my boyfriend and I spent 5 days in Marrakech - our first time - and absolutely loved it. We booked Bamboo via a package on Last Minute and from booking to check out it was a pleasure to deal with Sonia and her team.

We arranged a transfer from the hotel - a taxi, followed by the guidance of a 'carossa' right to the door of the riad - without which, we would never have found it!

On arrival (late at night) we were served mint tea and pastries the retreated to our room (ground floor).The room was spacious, cool and comfortable, especially with all the shutters closed - we were amazed how dark and quiet it was considering the noise of the medina and the close-by Jemaa el Fna!

Each morning breakfast was so peaceful up on the terrace and a perfect start to the day - Mohammed was very polite and greeted us kindly every morning.

Simon was able to reserve us a table at Le Comptoir Darna, which we had wanted to dine at for my 30th birthday, so we were pleased it all went smoothly.

On checking out, we had a late flight home so were able to leave our luggage at the riad and spend the day in the medina before returning for a quick relax by the little pool and collecting our luggage.

Would thoroughly recommend this friendly, comfortable and clean riad with no hesitations.

Room Tip: Ground floor was right by the main door and so perhaps next time we would request the first floor. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CultureJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    60
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
168
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Just got back from three great days at the Riad Bamboo. This is a wonderful calming oasis from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Sonia and Simo are excellent hosts and gave some great recommendations regarding what to see and do. We also booked dinner on our first night and the food was unbelievably good made extra special by Simo's attentive silver service. My wife and I eat out regularly as we travel on business a lot but the meal in the Riad cooked by Saida was amongst the very best we have eaten in many years, quality home cooked Moroccan food.
Definitely get the Riad to book your transfers as it helps to find the Bamboo on arrival and solves the problem of having the right amount of local currency as they pick up the costs and add it to your bill. Well done Sonia, Simo, Saida, Nadia and Mohamed for making our visit to Marrakech so memorable.

Room Tip: For more privacy stay on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDoovde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

I have been there with my girlfriend and a couple of friends in April 2014. It is a wonderful place; the rooms are big andreally confortable, particularly the suite on the first floor, which gives you the sensation to live in a real typical moroccan setting. Simon is the responsable of the riad and is really kind, always available to help us for every need we had, a lovely person. Breakfast is good, with typical morroccan specialties, and there is the opportunity to have it also outside, in the terrace of the riad, which makes it really characteristic. Stay in the riad Bamboo is an optimal choice to live in the best way the beauty of Marrakech

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank docferdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucs
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Lovely hotel, friendly helpful staff.
Nothing was too much trouble, great Moroccan breakfast & freshly squeezed orange juice every morning!
Rooms are lovely, everything is very clean & couldn't ask for better hosts.
On arrival we were served with mint tea & little Moroccan pastries whilst checking in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BevGloucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We have stayed in Riad Bamboo for 3 nights in March and couldn't have wished for better hospitality: Simon was super helpful with all our questions (first time in Marrakech) with excellent recommendations for places to see and dine in! Riad has also organised our pick up from the airport, which was great and meant we didn't have to worry about getting lost on the way and the driver was very helpful with the bags (and didn't ask for payment! unheard of! :)) The riad is located right next to the soukh, so very easy to get around the town by foot.
The hotel is beautifully decorated and is indeed very clean. We stayed in two rooms, one more basic which had intriguing open bath in the middle of the room (i have heard it's quite common in Morocco). However there was a damp in the wall of the toilet and Simon has kindly moved us to a better room which was amazing: comfortable bed, lovely shower!
We also had hammam experience and my partner and I both loved it!
Thank you Simon and Sonia for your hospitality, we will definitely come back next time we are in Marrakech!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

yes, as all reviews say, this place is just a perfect hideaway in the busy buzzing medina area. The rooms are in style and make you feel like you are in another world. The rooms are large and well kept, clean and tidy. They are not equipped with a TV which is great!
You can book this Riad with peace of mind and know that you are taking good care off.

One special word of thanks to the great help of Simon in many different ways. He makes you feel very welcome and ask him a question and he comes back with a treasure of restaurants, areas to visit in the city, etc etc. Simon is a great asset to the Riad as is btw the masseuse.
In all, all reviews (except the bad ones) are right.
You can stay in Riad Bamboo and really enjoy and relax within the buzzing medina area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Her02013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Lovely little riad right in the heart of the Medina, just a five minute walk to the Jemaa El Fna and around the corner from the souks. Very nice staff - Simon in particular was an excellent host. We stayed in the cheapest room, which is situated on the ground floor of the riad - it was very comfortable but if we stayed again we'd choose a room upstairs to allow us more privacy. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jen_n_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Oasissime
Riad Oasissime
#222 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#67 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#88 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#122 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#64 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Reve d'Or
Riad Reve d'Or
#227 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bamboo

Property: Riad Bamboo
Address: Rue Dabachi Derb Hejra No46 | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#122 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Bamboo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the detour of the derb Hejra , Riad Bamboo is ideally located into the heart of the medina, street Dabachi really nearby of the famous place Djema El Fna.Sonia & Frédéric as well as their team will be very pleased to welcome you for a deserved moment of zen attitude after the turmoil of the souks.Bamboo gets 5 lovely rooms with charming and traditional decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Bamboo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bamboo Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing