We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique style in the Medina”
Review of Riad Cinnamon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Cinnamon
Ranked #376 of 1,183 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were greeted in the small square just by the gates of the Medina by the House Manager and staff member who would show us to the Riad and help us with our bags. We soon disappeared into a maze of alleyways on the outer edge of the souks. Quickly we came across the impressive looking door to our Riad.

Inside the quality of the decoration continued - Buddhism clearly played a part when brainstorming and the subtle colours used where very relaxing. Sitting in the courtyard Hosin handed us Mint Tea and talked us through the main sights in Marrakech and how to navigate the alleyways.

We stayed in the Casablanca Suite, which had its own staircase. Inside the room was huge, a very large bed took up the back wall and there was plenty of storage space and a fridge to keep drinks cold. The unique feature of this room is the mezzanine floor, three walls of comfortable seating, a large TV, sky and DVD player. It was a very sureal moment when turning on the TV to see Emmerdale pop up...so if you want to catch up on your soaps whilst away from home you have the ability here. Personally there was so much to see we didn't spend much time here but it was nice to be able to relax in for an hour or so whilst getting ready to head off out again in the evenings. There was a library just off of the courtyard should you wish to borrow any books or DVDs.

The terrace was of a reasonable size and did have a rooftop dipping pool - although whilst we were there it didn't contain any water (there is a second one down in the courtyard as well).

We had dinner on the terrace our first night there - a mixture of vegetables and bread to start, a tagine to follow and finally pancakes with banana and chocolate. Great meal and a wonderful location to eat in - I would definitely recommend the terrace as you also get to hear the last call to prayer over dinner whilst the sun is setting which was an experience.

Breakfast was also very substantial - fruit and yoghurt, breads with jams, crepes and eggs. One morning we even had what appeared to be a whole cake added to the table! The eggs are cooked to your liking as well and you will be asked each morning how you would like them. The coffee and orange juice here were very good and set you up for the day ahead well.

With only five rooms the staff are always on hand to provide great service. This riad is definitely a boutique gem!

Room Tip: There are two suites available and three rooms - all area of good quality and noise is not really a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellingbookjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 193 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

Like a previous reviewer, I don't usually post reviews but the staff here really do provide a 5-star service. They simply could not be more helpful or pleasant. I have just returned from four nights at Riad Cinnamon with a friend, the first trip to Marrakech for both of us. I sure one of the reasons our trip was more enjoyable than other friends' was because we stayed at Cinnamon. We had a wonderful meal one night at Maison Arabe, not very close, and one of the staff walked us there and then came to collect us after dinner, so we didn't have to negotiate the dark and winding streets on our own. Another night we couldn't find out way back from the souk we just rang and were collected.

Like other reviews say, if you are arriving late, book dinner at the riad -- it is beautifully served, quite delicious and very good value for money -- and your visit will be off to a good start. We also booked hotel transfers in advance with the riad and all that worked perfectly, and the guide they organized to take us for a day-trip to the Ourika Valley was very good helpful.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid the ground floor suite, because the sitting and eating area is outside the window and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londontraveller588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Riad Cinnamon exceeded our expectations from the beautiful courtyard to the staff. We arrived late at night and they had a delicious lamb tagine prepared for us. We had to leave very early on the last day and they had a breakfast for us, before sun rise! Well done you all, and thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a fabulous stay in this great little Riad. Set in a quiet side street very close to the Souks, it was a perfect base from which to explore the city. It was comfortable, clean and quiet and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, right down to the thoughtful touches like providing guests with a mobile phone to use in case of getting lost (a sensible precaution in the maze of streets, even for hardened travellers). The dinner on the first night was delicious, too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dock541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed at the Riad Cinnamon and it was simply amazing. Wonderful service from all the staff, they really treat you as guests right down the little details such as talking you through the map, places to visit, trips and giving you a phone to call them if you get lost. Fantastic place to stay with great attention to detail. The riad is really beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Previously enjoyed a stay at sister riad papillon, so decided to try the suites at cinnamon to end our 2 week Moroccan trip this time.

The staff are very helpful and friendly, and kindly stopped burning the fragrant oils during my stay (at my request as I have allergies to them). The food was delicious, both breakfast and dinner, and plenty of it.

The suites are stylish, a modern take on traditional values with hints of Buddhism and spirituality thrown in, and it works to provide a very calming space in which to relax.

I have to say that I'm not sure Cinnamon is as good value as the cheaper Papillon (with much smaller rooms), apart from the extra space in the suites, the communal riad spaces are pretty similar. It was also disappointing to find the dipping pool on the terrace was empty, as the pool on the patio although lovely wasn't very private, and we didn't feel we would be comfortable using it.

Having said that, I would recommend Riad Cinnamon for a bit of a splurge, the extra space in the suites is really welcome in a country where a lot of riad rooms are tiny and dark, and it was a pleasure spending some time just chilling in the suite.

Staff were also kind in letting us use one of the rooms after we'd checked out since we had a late flight that day, so we were able to shower and freshen up before departing in the afternoon, really appreciated.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Meknes Suite - probably the best as it is beautifully and colourfully decorated, wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rena77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This Riad is in the middle of the Souk, We were apprehensive when the taxi driver told is we would have to put our luggage on a barrow and walk the last 10 minutes to the hotel as the taxi cannot negotiate the narrow alleys. Then, directly from the airport, you find yourself walking through the sights, noise and smells of a Marrakech souk.

The reception at the Riad is fantastic, mint tea awaits you in this island of calm amid the bustle of the streets around. It must once have been a wealthy merchant's home, beautifully renovated with ornate ceilings and distinctive rooms. The staff, especially Abdellatif, are attentive and reassuring; they patiently answered all our questions, helped when necessary and made our stay most pleasurable and interesting.

Okay the water could have run stronger in the shower and some things didn't always work perfectly, but this is not a western style five star hotel (thanks goodness). What it lacked in amenities it more than made up for in character. The rooftop terrace and breakfast were a joy.

We would recommend the experience.

B&C

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank cb541London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#29 of 499 in Marrakech
479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 499 in Marrakech
1,400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#88 of 499 in Marrakech
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 499 in Marrakech
1,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#9 of 499 in Marrakech
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cinnamon

Address: 9 Derb el Hajra | El Baroudiyine District, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #376 of 1,183 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $113 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding 5* service from a true boutique hotel located in the heart of the Marrakech Medina near to the Marrakech Museum and Ben Youssef Mosque. Unparallelled panoramic views from the stunning roof top garden. Clean and uncluttered it has a contemporary feel whilst maintaining authentic moroccan sarchitecture and some eco friendly touches.Riad Cinnamon opened at Easter 2010 after three years of refurbishment involving a host of traditional Moroccan craftsmen. Stunning roof terrace with views over Marrakech, generous ground floor patio with dipping pool. All Suites are air conditioned with minibar, satellite tv, ipod docking. Free Wifi. Substantial and delicious Moroccan breakfast served at the time of the clients choosing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cinnamon Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing