We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee in the souk”
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
Ranked #41 of 886 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Moroccan, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Benenden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Coffee in the souk”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Roof top cafe with little pastries. In the midst of the souk you can look down on the hagglers, sunbathe and hook up to wifi if you want.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    357
    86
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Tasty, good value food and pleasant service”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We ate here twice during our stay in Marrakech. The service was very welcoming and we were quickly seated both times and given menus. We asked whether it would be okay to bring our own wine and we were told it would be fine, glasses and a corkscrew were brought and the wine was opened for us. During our two visits we tried the mixed mezze, pastilla, and soup for starters which were all flavoursome. For main courses we tried the tanjia, beef brochette and chicken tajine. The beef brochette was well seasoned, although a little dry, but came with very good french fries. The chicken tajine was tasty. The tanjia was the best dish, very tender and deliciously flavoured. For dessert we tried the ice cream and morrocan pastries which were both excellent. During our meal there were musicians playing which was nice. Overall we felt that the food was very good value and it was a bonus to be able to take along a bottle of local wine. Recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for drinks or food whilst visiting the souks”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were visiting the souks, beginning to think about finding somewhere for lunch when suddenly one of our small children had a desperate need for the toilet and we were glad to chance upon a cafe, especially one which had certificates of its great TA rating displayed at the entrance. We entered, climbed the first set of stairs and found it looked nice, we climbed the further (steeper) set of stairs to the roof terrace where we enjoyed a leisurely lunch. It was a fairly chilly February day, so we did get a little cold, but it felt very comfortable and relaxing up on the roof terrace. The other customers were all European tourists as far as I could tell.

We ordered two set menus at 180 Dh, which was the most expensive of the two set menus offered. We added some extras, too, to feed four hungry people. For this, we first enjoyed some nice, fresh bread and homemade (homely) dips. Then we had mixed pastries for one starter and mixed salads for the other - all fresh, tasty and enjoyable. The pastries had been fried, so they were crispy and hot but a little greasy. The salads were interesting and varied, mostly / all cooked vegetables and pulses and we really enjoyed them. The mains we chose were Tangier tagine (beef) and lamb (with pruneaux, which turned out to be dried apricots), both served with 'semolina'. Both were very tasty - I would guess both were slow cooked cheap cuts of meat (I think the lamb was neck of lamb, which meant it was quite fatty meat and an oily/greasy dish) - but I am not complaining, we really enjoyed them. As extras we ordered chicken kebabs (tasty, a little spicy) and chips, which were good. Afterwards, our set menu included dessert and we had two different fruit salads - both nice. Then tea or coffee with pastries - again, all very nice. The dishes all came in well used Morrocan bowls, plates, tagines and pots with chips and cracks evident. The place had the feel of a backpacker's cafe in some ways, which made me think the prices were quite high, perhaps? However, our total bill was 475 Dh (not including service), which seemed fine to me.

The restaurant says it is open 7 days per week and from 11.00 to 23.00.

I should add that the restaurant seemed happy to welcome children and happily for us it had a clean, Western style toilet.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SlapstickBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorel-tracy
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a quiet break in the souks”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is a wonderful small cafe in the heart of the souks in Marrakech medina. Like all other small places in the souk, it's hard to find, but once you do, you go back again. Wonderful roof terrace. Fresh food. Perfect for a real breakfast of quick lunch.
The service is impeccable and the atmosphere is great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sophieSorel_tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better food / value to be had elsewhere.”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I went with my wife to the Souk Kafe this evening and was unimpressed.
I had the cous cous with three different meats and seven different vegetables, very unimpressive at 105dh.
I have eaten in many places in Marrakech and have had better at half the price.
Also although the place was very empty our food took and age and service was very poor.

Also retrace your steps home to avoid walking into the closed and locked Souk! However I was assisted by a man with a key who opened a huge set of gates and set us free.
Much better value at 5dh.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JonJames71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing