We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Rooftop oasis with better then average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
Ranked #37 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: African, Moroccan, Grill, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Rooftop oasis with better then average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We'd ready about Souk Kafe and thought we'd give it a go. We headed straight for the rooftop terrace to enjoy the sunshine and it was really lovely. It's not a huge space so is quite intimate.
The service was prompt and friendly.
The food was fairly traditional moroccan and very tasty. There wasn't a huge amount of it so if you're hungry don't share a dish. The juices were also great.

it's a great little place if you've had enough of the hustle an bustle of the medina and need to escape for a little while.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    334
    79
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went here for lunch and it was lovely. I had the selection platter and it was all really tasty. Our waiter even helped us with directions. Very steep stairs to get on the roof terrace.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KatyH1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great, traditional lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Excellent food, perfect setting sat on a roof terrace above the Souks. Staff were friendly and helpful, assisting us with directions and supplying us with a map!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vickspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay - both times for an evening meal. The food is traditional Morrocan and everything we had was really tasty. Staff are friendly and restaurant itself has a cosy and traditional feel. It was best value place to eat we found with the best food too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kiri_235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

While in Marrakech my husband and I came to Souk Kafe twice. The first time was to take a break from the hot day and grab a cold mint tea. It was absolutely amazing! So much mint and a bit citrusy. Two nights later we came back for food, and it didn't disappoint at all....best meal we had in Marrakech! We got the Moroccan Salad and Beef tagine (recommended by our riad). The salad was good, but, you guys- the beef was so tender it practically melted in our mouths. It was amazing! I have thought about this meal multiple times since being home and wish I could have it again! Honestly, come here, it's cool, mellow and a good break from the souks. The atmosphere is really great and the space pretty. Also when we came for dinner there were musicians playing, and it was just perfect. A lot of people had a hard time finding this place, but we actually found it pretty quickly, on the first try. Have fun!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oldseptblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing