We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute cafe at the edge of the souks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
Ranked #37 of 848 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cute cafe at the edge of the souks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

A bit difficult to find, but worth the effort. I had some lovely Moroccan pastries and my partner had the lamb tagine. It wasn't too expensive and both dishes were excellent. The terrace is an oasis of calm, not far from the souks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    343
    83
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“try the cold mint teas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We escaped the souk here a couple of times. It is the perfect place for a refreshing break. Free wifi, nice roof terrace. Clean bathroom. The iced mint tea was refreshing and very minty. Great place to get your strength back before heading out for more shopping or site seeing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tavia14999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A charm, worth every Dirham. Go.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I found this place thanks to the scored of positive reviews about it from other intrepid travelers who found themselves dodging the souks to arrive at this cafe's unassuming entrance. Once you ascend the steps to the terrace, you are worlds apart from the chaos below. We settled into a nice sofa-like thing with a nice view, and based on reviews I went straight for the 100 Dhr menu.

Simply awesome.

Moroccan soup came and was pretty tasty, but the real treat was the chicken tajine. Yes, yes, you've probably had 10,000 tajines by now, but this one is great. The sauce was quite thickly reduced and therefore very flavorful, the chicken moist and very tasty. This was served with some bread if I remember correctly, some dates, and followed by a fruit salad of oranges with cinnamon and finally a coffee (or mint tea). Suffice to say I was full and very satisfied - I kept looking at the bill in disbelief that that whole meal cost me around 11 Euros (with my large water and orange juice).

My friend got the 160 Dhr menu, which had a different, more exotic sampler of Moroccan mezes as a starter (mostly veg I believe, all very good) , and finished with a large bowl of quite good ice cream. Might be worth a shot if soup isn't your thing.

All in all, good setting, and attentive service with a smile. Just go there. Quit thinking about it, quit analyzing the map, just go. Now.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank milehighdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Relaxed place with live music. Pives with bread nice starter. We both had our first tagines which were great. Sit up the top if you can

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb food and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Come here for a break from the souks, with two floors of terraces complete with water vapour sprays to cool you as you eat. The Moroccan mezze starter is enough for 3, and the delicious couscous dishes will defeat anyone. Price was well under 100dh each for more food than we could eat, plus drinks and tip.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jonnyr86
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing