We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“try the cold mint teas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
Ranked #32 of 760 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“try the cold mint teas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We escaped the souk here a couple of times. It is the perfect place for a refreshing break. Free wifi, nice roof terrace. Clean bathroom. The iced mint tea was refreshing and very minty. Great place to get your strength back before heading out for more shopping or site seeing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tavia14999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    318
    75
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A charm, worth every Dirham. Go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I found this place thanks to the scored of positive reviews about it from other intrepid travelers who found themselves dodging the souks to arrive at this cafe's unassuming entrance. Once you ascend the steps to the terrace, you are worlds apart from the chaos below. We settled into a nice sofa-like thing with a nice view, and based on reviews I went straight for the 100 Dhr menu.

Simply awesome.

Moroccan soup came and was pretty tasty, but the real treat was the chicken tajine. Yes, yes, you've probably had 10,000 tajines by now, but this one is great. The sauce was quite thickly reduced and therefore very flavorful, the chicken moist and very tasty. This was served with some bread if I remember correctly, some dates, and followed by a fruit salad of oranges with cinnamon and finally a coffee (or mint tea). Suffice to say I was full and very satisfied - I kept looking at the bill in disbelief that that whole meal cost me around 11 Euros (with my large water and orange juice).

My friend got the 160 Dhr menu, which had a different, more exotic sampler of Moroccan mezes as a starter (mostly veg I believe, all very good) , and finished with a large bowl of quite good ice cream. Might be worth a shot if soup isn't your thing.

All in all, good setting, and attentive service with a smile. Just go there. Quit thinking about it, quit analyzing the map, just go. Now.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank milehighdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Relaxed place with live music. Pives with bread nice starter. We both had our first tagines which were great. Sit up the top if you can

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb food and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Come here for a break from the souks, with two floors of terraces complete with water vapour sprays to cool you as you eat. The Moroccan mezze starter is enough for 3, and the delicious couscous dishes will defeat anyone. Price was well under 100dh each for more food than we could eat, plus drinks and tip.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jonnyr86
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not the best food unlike other reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

After reading all the great reviews I was happy to try this place, but perhaps from the last posts the cook has changed.

I ordered the Kefta kebab which was to have a flavor of cumin and parsley ... But it was a total fail. I asked for more cumin but it couldn't get better. Kefta kebab should have some chopped onion, parsley or cilantro and spice .....this only had salt and a lot of it.

My sister ordered, chicken tangine and there was lots of salt as well.

Before you order ask clearly if the Kefta meat is marinated and to put less salt.

Happy trials!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aishamoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing