We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Souk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Souk Kafe

Souk Kafe
11 Derb Souk Jeldid | Sidi Abdelaziz -medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
212662610229
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 759 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Souk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We only found this Restaurant by word of mouth of folk staying in our Riad (the best way to find hidden gems). The small multi-floored restaurant cooks superb local food with just a twist of originality. The price is reasonable and they (on the two occasions we were there) had a local folk music duo, who were excellent. I really recommend you give it a try, if they are full - which they were on a wet evening in March 13, the excellent Le Jardin is just across the way.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveCPFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    315
    72
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Definatly worth finding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This restaurant is great value for money! we found the food was excellent and good value. The starter platter was especially enjoyable- offering 6 starters which were tasty but not filing. I would strongly recommend going for an ice cream for dessert- full of flavour and best desert I had in Morrocco!
The band played very pleasent joyfull music which added a lovely touch to the evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Moroccan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Excellent Moroccan food, live traditional Moroccan music and good value for money. Bit crowded if it rains as the roof covering the terrace leaks other than that good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hidden deep into the Souks this restaurant serves good value and quality dishes. The beef tangia is amazing!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickywhiffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We ate here 3 or 4 nights - it's that good.. The service was fabulous and the food delicious - really!!!!!

The musicians seemed "real""- professional - enjoyed listening to them. We did notice though that they played the same songs each night we were there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenwood14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souk Kafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Souk Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing