We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magie D'Orient

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Magie D'Orient to your Saves list
Riad Magie D'Orient
16 Derb Jdid | Bab Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Beautiful Riad, very friendly and helpful staff. I agree that it is a little tough to find so print out a map before you go! However, once you find your way around it really is only 5-10 minutes walk from the main square and buses.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    32
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
37
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brighton,uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Riad Magie D'Orient was everything it promised. Calm, quiet, close to the souk and beautiful! A lovely place to spend time.The only problem was finding the Riad on our 1st day but after that everything was great. Also, breakfast was entirely sweet- something savoury would be welcome. However, it was a wonderfully relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cairodeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great little place, a little tough to find originally. It's down an alley, then another, then another once you walk into the medina, so make sure you know where you're going or find someone that does. Besides that, the location was a 10 minute walk from the markets, and we learned to appreciate the out of the way place where it is.

The staff are great - one guy really helped us figure out Marrakech, went beyond the call, so to speak.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

A really lovely experience and great hospitality.

We got the bus from the airport to the main square (30DHs) and arrived at the Riad after a slightly confusing 20 mins trying to find it. If you don't pay for the transfer package make sure you have some idea about how to navigate through the streets before you arrive, as tourists are very easily spotted and targeted for 'help/money'.

When you enter through the door you find yourself in a beautiful courtyard, full of light and filled with birds singing. After we were given mint tea with Moroccan cookies and were taken to our room (Amara, which was lovely, very spacious), we were taken on a little tour of the medina by the French owner( a very kind offer), he pointed out restaurant recommendations, cash points and places to visit. This made massively impressed us as it made us feel very safe and allowed us to ask many questions about the area.

Both the French owners and the Moroccan staff made us feel very welcome - although our basic French left a lot to be desired, make sure you take a French phrase book with you!

The breakfast each morning was a lovely start to the day and in the evenings a member of staff stayed up to make sure you came back to the Riad. This made us feel very safe.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LathamAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This riad is perfectly situated close to the chaos of the souk, medinas and Djem el Fnaa, although located in a maze of winding streets once you have walked to and from the riad once it is easy to find your way back.
We opted for the transfer package, collected at the airport, taken to the edge of the medina by taxi and then transferred by hand cart through the streets to the riad.
Arriving at the riad we entered a peaceful courtyard full of light and filled with birds singing. As we sipped mint tea we were given a map, details on how to find our way to and from the riad and a brief oveview of the city's high-lights. After this we were taken to our room (Nahema) which was lovely, and left to settle in.
Both the French owners and the Morrocan staff ( especially Najib ) made us feel very welcome - it's just a shame my tiny spattering of French and 5 words of arabic made communication past the basics impossible. I need to brush up on my french for my next visit !!

All of the 6 rooms in this riad have a different theme, and various layouts - ours was a lovely double, with mosaic inlays, lighting and traditional furniture. The toilet and wash basin facilities were open plan, separated from the rest of the room by a small wall, which was fine for us and which we were aware of before booking (although if you were not a couple / not close it could be a bit embarrassing ). The room was very clean and tidy, and was checked and cleaned daily by the staff to a high standard.
The riad was peaceful, quiet, light and beautifully furnished, it had a "real" morrocan feel to it and we felt it was very authentic. Overall it was perfectly placed for a few days in Marrakech, close to the main sights and within easy walking distance ( less than 10 mins ) of Djem el Fnaa.

We visited at the end of November so although the days were warm ( 16 to 25 degrees ) the evenings were cold. Although a duvet was provided and we slept very well it was chilly in the riad in the evening and there was no heating in the room - but bear in mind though that your riad is a base and you will spend most of your time out and about exploring this addictive city.
We would certainly consider staying at the Riad Magie D'Orient again next time we visit Marrakech - due to it's location, friendly staff and peaceful nature.

Marrakech from a personal personal perspective:

- First and formost the reason we chose a riad was so we could lose ourselves in the souks and medinas, wander through the streets and soak up the ambience.
- DO wander around in the medina, allow yourself to get lost and enjoy the experience ! It is a safe place, with very little crime and a welcoming nature.
- Look at the local cafes and restaurants, if there are locals eating there then the food will be good ( and cheap ). We found the cafe Bab Agneau to be excellent, especially the berber beef tagine ( at 48 dirham = around £3.70 !! )
- Explore both the old medina and the new city of Gullez - to see both sides of the culture.
- The mix of short flight time from the Uk ( 3hrs 15mins ) and the exotic nature of the city and it's mix of cultures make for an exciting short break that will stay with you. Give it a go and see for yourself : )

Room Tip: First floor rooms are more peaceful and away from the main reception area and entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthiePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

It was in a great position, once you had been taken to it, it was easy to get back to. Everywhere was in walking distance. The Riad was lovely, small, very clean and beautiful. The staff were most helpful and answered all our questions. One of the guys happily escorted us to where we wanted to eat, as we did not know where the place was. They organised a trip to the Atlas mountains and to the hamman. We ate in one night and that was very good to. In all a really great place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Riad Magie D'Orient for 4 nights in mid October and both of us were so pleased that we chose it as our base for our trip to Marrakech. We arranged for an airport transfer which was the best decision we made, as we never would have found it on our own. Despite fearing we'd never find the riad again if we left (the alleys all looked the same!), we were so grateful that it was in a peaceful area, only minutes from the main square. You couldn't fault the location!

All of the riad staff was fantastic, although I wish my French was stronger, as it would have been nice to communicate more with the owner and another of the workers. The real gem of this riad was Najib, who spoke brilliant English and helped us organise an amazing excursion to Cascade d'Ouzoud - which I would definitely recommend!

The breakfast was excellent, the terrace and room were beautiful and on our last night we were treated to the tastiest tajine we had during our stay. I can't say enough about this riad and if I'm ever lucky enough to make it back to Marrakech, I would be silly not to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elabela82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Dar Silsila
Dar Silsila
#195 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Alamir
Riad Alamir
#184 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#163 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Alena
Riad Alena
#105 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Bel Haj
Riad Bel Haj
#396 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Sheba
Riad Dar Sheba
#123 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Magie D'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magie D'Orient

Property: Riad Magie D'Orient
Address: 16 Derb Jdid | Bab Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Magie D'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magie d`Orient Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing