We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cocoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Cocoon
Ranked #29 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Lovely Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location for the Riad is ideal. It is 5 mins walk from the koranic school, 5 mins from the madness of the souks (which are great to wander through and try out some bartering) and 10-15 mins from Djemma el Fna. There are a number of restaurants within 5 mins as well (although the food is the Riad on arrival was great).

The Riad is tastefully decorated. We stayed in the Purple Haze room which was a nice size, well furnished and we were provided with some local fruits and bottled water.

The Breakfasts were a true feast - bread, crepes, cake, fruit, coffee, Orange juice.

The key attribute of the Riad were the staff. Corinne was extremely helpful prior to our arrival and organised a taxi from the airport and a guide on the first day. Whenever we wanted anything her team were very happy to provide recommendations, make bookings for us, connect us to the free wifi and lots more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheeksmogli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    32
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
214
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My mom and I had an amazing time in Marrakech mostly due to our experience at Cocoon! Corinne planned everything for us, and she and her staff were extremely helpful. Great location, beautiful riad, super friendly staff... everything was just great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank algard123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I'd never been to Marrakech before and this Riad is int he perfect location in the north of the Medina. The room was really comfy and clean and the food was delicious. The staff were super helpful - giving us loads of dinner recommendations and advise on what to do - and they were very accommodating with any questions, requests we had. We really felt there was a thoughtful, personal touch that is often missing in other hotels - and the treatments were great. We had a traditional hamman and a back massage which was as good as any I've had in London. I would definitely go back and would highly recommend to other travellers.

Room Tip: the top room has it's own roof terrace which is gorgeous, we had the green room which was very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveller808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful Riad in March and it was a true sanctuary for us. From the wonderful welcome when we arrived at the airport, escorting us to the Riad and greeting us with the mint tea on arrival. We stayed in the Nirvana Suite beautifully decorated with rose petals on the bed and in the bathroom and had our own rooftop terrace which was very private. The evening we arrived dinner was arranged for us in the dining room with the room to ourselves and very romantically set up with rose petals and a log fire burning. Corinne was so welcoming and thoughtful, nothing was too much trouble for her or her amazing staff. The food and service at the Riad was outstanding with breakfast served on the terrace in the morning. Dinner reservations were made for us in advance and we were escorted to our taxi or walked to the restaurants and collected at the end of the evening.

We had the best Hammam and Spa Treatments with Fatima which left us feeling very relaxed.

We would certainly recommend this Riad to anyone looking for a peaceful sanctuary, with first class facilities and staff.

Room Tip: We would recommend the Nirvana Suite it has its own private roof terace with sunbeds, table and umbr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McNamara_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A little haven of peace amidst the chaos of Marrakech - so close to the centre, yet once you are inside it was so chilled and relaxed. Corinne and every single one of her team were so welcoming and the service was simply perfect. The entire riad was decorated beautifully, and the room I stayed in (Simply Red) was a lovely size. The food in the riad was delicious, and the hammam, spa and massage from Fatima simply amazing! There is no question, if I were to return to Marrakech, I would stay at this riad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mini_adventure_caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Friendly hostess and staff, the riad is well situated in the souks (but impossible to find in the evening), lovely music and decoration. On the downside, my room (green) was small - nearly all the space taken up by the bed. It was cold, too, and the small electric heater that was provided to me, cut short the electricity supply in the whole road, so was not possible to use. The breakfast consisted mostly of toasted white bread so that 2 hours later I was hungry. Information on things to do was provided, but mostly there were recommendation on restaurants. Call the tourism office and book a group guide to souks! I came across the groups, and the guides seemed to be very well educated and informed. Generally, 4 full days are more than enough to see the place. Avoid the Square for food, try Cafe des Epices for fresh european-style sandwiches.

Room Tip: Take the one on the top with the terasse: the room is still small but you will have the same size sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EkaterinaVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lummen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We (my husband and I) arrived late on Friday evening at the airport and had a quick transfer to the Riad, where someone of the staff was waiting for us in the street.. He guided us toward the Riad (which we couldn't have found without his help). On arrival, Corinne welcomed us with mint tea, while our bags were brought to our room.. Afterwards, Corinne showed us our room (the Nirvana suite), which was nicely decorated with rose leaves on the bed and in the bath room.. The nice thing about the Nirvana suite is that you have a private terrass on top of the house.
That evening, we had dinner at the Riad, which was splendid. Because it was so late, we were all alone in the small dining room . The room has a small fireplace, which was very cosy and made our dinner very relaxing.
Corinne gave us a small program of things we could do on Saturday..
The staff is very friendly and helpful and with questions on what to do, you can always ask Corinne. Breakfast was good and served on the terrass. On Sunday evening we had again dinner at the Riad, which was as good as on Friday.
We also had a spa treatment with hamman, scrub and massage. I have to say that we both had the best massage, we ever had abroad.
If you'd ask us to go again, we would say absolutely 'yes"!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inez003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#17 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#24 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#41 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#31 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#63 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#18 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Cocoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cocoon

Property: Riad Cocoon
Address: 10 bis Derb Cherif, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Cocoon 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Cocoon is hidden away in the heart of the Marrakech Medina in the historical quarter of Diour Saboune. This 5 room luxury Riad is an oasis of calm focusing on peace and relaxation ensuring guests come away feeling pampered and rested. Nothing has been left to chance at Riad Cocoon, the lighting, the ambience, the fabrics and furnishings have all be carefully chosen to take the guest on a journey beyond the norm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Riad Cocoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing