We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a weekend break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Cocoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Cocoon
Ranked #24 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I'd never been to Marrakech before and this Riad is int he perfect location in the north of the Medina. The room was really comfy and clean and the food was delicious. The staff were super helpful - giving us loads of dinner recommendations and advise on what to do - and they were very accommodating with any questions, requests we had. We really felt there was a thoughtful, personal touch that is often missing in other hotels - and the treatments were great. We had a traditional hamman and a back massage which was as good as any I've had in London. I would definitely go back and would highly recommend to other travellers.

Room Tip: the top room has it's own roof terrace which is gorgeous, we had the green room which was very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveller808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    36
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
257
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful Riad in March and it was a true sanctuary for us. From the wonderful welcome when we arrived at the airport, escorting us to the Riad and greeting us with the mint tea on arrival. We stayed in the Nirvana Suite beautifully decorated with rose petals on the bed and in the bathroom and had our own rooftop terrace which was very private. The evening we arrived dinner was arranged for us in the dining room with the room to ourselves and very romantically set up with rose petals and a log fire burning. Corinne was so welcoming and thoughtful, nothing was too much trouble for her or her amazing staff. The food and service at the Riad was outstanding with breakfast served on the terrace in the morning. Dinner reservations were made for us in advance and we were escorted to our taxi or walked to the restaurants and collected at the end of the evening.

We had the best Hammam and Spa Treatments with Fatima which left us feeling very relaxed.

We would certainly recommend this Riad to anyone looking for a peaceful sanctuary, with first class facilities and staff.

Room Tip: We would recommend the Nirvana Suite it has its own private roof terace with sunbeds, table and umbr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McNamara_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

A little haven of peace amidst the chaos of Marrakech - so close to the centre, yet once you are inside it was so chilled and relaxed. Corinne and every single one of her team were so welcoming and the service was simply perfect. The entire riad was decorated beautifully, and the room I stayed in (Simply Red) was a lovely size. The food in the riad was delicious, and the hammam, spa and massage from Fatima simply amazing! There is no question, if I were to return to Marrakech, I would stay at this riad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mini_adventure_caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Friendly hostess and staff, the riad is well situated in the souks (but impossible to find in the evening), lovely music and decoration. On the downside, my room (green) was small - nearly all the space taken up by the bed. It was cold, too, and the small electric heater that was provided to me, cut short the electricity supply in the whole road, so was not possible to use. The breakfast consisted mostly of toasted white bread so that 2 hours later I was hungry. Information on things to do was provided, but mostly there were recommendation on restaurants. Call the tourism office and book a group guide to souks! I came across the groups, and the guides seemed to be very well educated and informed. Generally, 4 full days are more than enough to see the place. Avoid the Square for food, try Cafe des Epices for fresh european-style sandwiches.

Room Tip: Take the one on the top with the terasse: the room is still small but you will have the same size sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EkaterinaVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lummen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We (my husband and I) arrived late on Friday evening at the airport and had a quick transfer to the Riad, where someone of the staff was waiting for us in the street.. He guided us toward the Riad (which we couldn't have found without his help). On arrival, Corinne welcomed us with mint tea, while our bags were brought to our room.. Afterwards, Corinne showed us our room (the Nirvana suite), which was nicely decorated with rose leaves on the bed and in the bath room.. The nice thing about the Nirvana suite is that you have a private terrass on top of the house.
That evening, we had dinner at the Riad, which was splendid. Because it was so late, we were all alone in the small dining room . The room has a small fireplace, which was very cosy and made our dinner very relaxing.
Corinne gave us a small program of things we could do on Saturday..
The staff is very friendly and helpful and with questions on what to do, you can always ask Corinne. Breakfast was good and served on the terrass. On Sunday evening we had again dinner at the Riad, which was as good as on Friday.
We also had a spa treatment with hamman, scrub and massage. I have to say that we both had the best massage, we ever had abroad.
If you'd ask us to go again, we would say absolutely 'yes"!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inez003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

What a lovely experience!!!

We had a truly fantastic time in Marrakech mainly due to Corinne and her staff at Riad Cocoon.
Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome with a tour around the Riad, mint tea and we were also shown around the local area ( where the musee signs were, and the direction of where the souks were etc)
We also had dinner in the Riad on the first night and corrine sat down with us and recommended various museums, day trips, restaurants etc. This was extremely helpful as we hadn't brought a guide book with us!
The Riad itself is beautiful, we stayed in the Green Eyes room which was adequate for our needs and a lot bigger than the pictures on the website, really happy with our choice. If We had more money to spend then I would upgrade to the purple haze or Nirvana room as they looked lovely and that bit bigger.

Breakfast was relaxed and they served it until 11am which suited us perfectly, after all we were on holiday!

We stayed for 5 days and spent a lot of our time relaxing, but I personally think you could do Marrakech in 3/5 days.

The only thing negative I have to say about Marrakech is that you get a lot of the locals offering to take you to places, then you start walking and they demand money off you which can be pretty intimidating. Just keep your wits about you and say no thank you.

Anyway I can't reiterate enough how great Corinne, Tariq, Simo and the rest of the team were, I believe they made our trip to Marrakech that bit special, I would recommend Riad Cocoon to everyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, if you can afford to upgrade I would stay in the Nirvana, but we stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcollins1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I really believe we found the perfect riad in Marrakech, we have nothing bad to say.

Even before we left home the great service started as they emailed to arrange our airport transfers and offer us dinner on our first night. At the airport we were greeted by the friendly hotel driver who gave us a quick tour of Marrakech on the way back to the riad.
Arriving at the riad, we were offered mint tea and Morrocan pastries. We stayed in the Nirvana suite which comes with its own private terrace. Well worth it. The ipod dock and DVD player are lovely touches as are the ipod mixes to suit your mood/time of day etc.
The riad is spotlessly clean and finished to a high standard with beautiful decor. Food at the restaurant comes in generous portions and is bursting with flavour. We took the opportunity to have a hammam and massage at the riad itself, which was relaxing and invigorating, with reasonable prices and packages on offer.
In terms of location, this riad does not falter here either. A short walk from the main square, "La Place" and an even shorter walk from the Northern part of the souks. The riad staff will even walk with you and make sure you head in the right direction! Taxis are not a problem as they order them for you, walk you to the taxi and make sure you get a good price. The main museum and Ben Youssef mosque are close by as well. We felt safe in this area, even walking around late at night.
The riad staff are a great source of knowledge about things to do in the area and will make an extra effort to make your trip worthwhile. They created an itinerary and organised everything for us to go camel trekking just outside of Marrakech.

Essentially, the perfect place to stay. Everything has been well thought out. Reasonably priced, great location and relaxing, luxurious atmosphere. But most of all, what makes this place special is the staff. They made us feel truly special by going above and beyond, without ever seeming interfering. Just perfect.

Room Tip: Highly recommend paying a little extra for the Nirvana suite. The private terrace is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NIghtfish2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#7 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#20 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#10 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#26 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#35 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#43 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Cocoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cocoon

Property: Riad Cocoon
Address: 10 bis Derb Cherif, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Cocoon 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Cocoon is hidden away in the heart of the Marrakech Medina in the historical quarter of Diour Saboune. This 5 room luxury riad is an oasis of calm focusing on peace and relaxation ensuring guests come away feeling pampered and rested. Nothing has been left to chance at Riad Cocoon; the lighting, the ambience, the fabrics and furnishings have all been carefully chosen to take the guest on a journey beyond the norm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad Cocoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing