We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Riad Bahia Salam,Marrakech” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Bahia Salam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Bahia Salam
Ranked #157 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Riad Bahia Salam,Marrakech”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I thought this Riad was great. I stayed here on my first night in Morocco and was very happy. It was in a great position - about a 5 minute walk to the main square. The staff were friendly, my room was clean and best of all it had a roof top terrace (with pool). After a day out in the heat, it was great to be able to come back and sit up on the terrace and have a cold drink and watch the world go by. I would definitely stay there again. My room also had a TV with English channels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleblackgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    129
    37
    5
    5
See reviews for
49
165
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This riad was in a great location in the Old Town. The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated, and the air conditioning functioned well to ensure a good night's sleep. The peace and quiet of the riad makes it feel a world away from the hagglers and chaos of the city- yet it is right in the middle of it.

Upstairs there is a lovely terrace with views of the Old Town where breakfast is served. Breakfast itself is available until 11am (great for the jetlagged!) and is Moroccan style, so mainly pancake/bread items (ie no eggs). There is also a small plunge pool up on the terrace with a number of pool/lounge chairs to relax on.

Note for those interested:
(1) The riad does not serve any alcohol, but does have a restaurant that serves meals and non-alcoholic drinks.
(2) Transportation: We needed a one-way transfer from Marrakech up to Mazagon Resort (near El Jajida, on the coast approx 100 kms from Casablanca) and used the following company:

http://www.taximarrakchi.com
contact@taximarrakchi.com

We negotiated a rate of 850 dirhams - this was for an air conditioned van and a safe/prudent driver, private transfer (I think the same price would apply even if the van were full, and it seated about 6 passengers comfortably).

I understand the same company may do airport transfers for 10 euros (cheaper than the 15 euros charged by the riad).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nothing_beats_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This Riad is one of the best in the Medina. It is very peacefully, even being in a rushy location. Once you are inside, it is very quite and confortable. Rooms are clean, the atendees are very helpfull, restaurant is very good and common places are fantastic. The Hommane Avenue is not very convidative and a little cahotic, like most streets of the Medina. however, consider that most Riads of the Medina are in the small streets and very difficult to find. This does not happen here.

Room Tip: If you are able to pay in Euros, it should be better for you. Their tax conversion is not very favor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EstebanClua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went as two couples and had the most amazing time. The hospitality from the staff is out of this world, one even took my dress home to clean himself because all the cleaning staff had gone home and I needed to wear it that evening. Would strongly recommend a massage downstairs in the spa, out of this world! Great night life and resturants near by too. If your after a nice day our Nikki beach isn't too far and a really nice day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chyna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have been there in May. Looking from the street, it doesn't look attractive, and I was starting to blame myself for the choice I did online, when I entered and the initial impression changed. The staff is friendly, the riad is very clean with air conditioning, new beds, working and clean bathroom. The rooftop is also nice, and there is a small swimming pool that really makes the difference during hot days. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Lovely Riad close to all sights in Marrakech. Excellent rooms with working bathrooms, comfortable new beds with lots of pillows, and built around courtyards with a great roof garden and spa (going in when we were there) and restaurant. Same bland 7 tajines and 3 x couscous offerings (is there a reason for this???). Breakfast over slow if you are in a hurry to be elsewhere. Staff very obliging and helpful. Do not be put off by the outside and the mattress shops- Marrakech's main square and surrounding souks are just a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pittosporum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

A discounted mini break with Easyjet flights and transfers encouraged our group of four to try this exotic location. It is located among mattress manufacturers and interior decor shops on a busy street. The entrance is typical, a stout, non-descript black door leads onto a lobby and small hallway of calm and quiet. The central space has a small fountain under the dome three floors up, lounges are available here where the internet is accessible. Our basement level rooms were accessed via a tiled corridor that linked an adjoining building. The room was adequate with a firm double bed, dressing table and chair; with two double wardrobes, one housing a free standing safe, beyond the arch. The shower room (plenty of warm water), basin and toilet are adjacent the arch, closed off by a pair of louvered doors. Ventilation is by opening the casement windows near the bed, which viewed the basement inner courtyard.. There is little natural light and no air conditioning at this level, though I believe the larger, top suite rooms are so provided. A welcoming tea was offered on the roof terrace, three floors up, consisting of mint tea and some small biscuits. There is a new plunge pool here too and an area for loungers.The staff, mostly male, were all polite and courteous, some speaking more english than others, but all helpful. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace; inside if the weather is poor, or outside if good. An option of a glass of fresh orange, mint tea or coffee; three types of pancake; sliced french stick; croissants and cake, or some of each is offered. The orange is cold; the tea warm and the coffee in between. We did not try other meals here. We did try coffee in the afternoon, but it too was never more than warm. The views from the terrace were of the surrounding housing and low level businesses, most interesting was to watch the traffic on the street.
The ladies in the group ventured to try the ham-mam and spa treatment, located in the basement near reception. The 500 dinar, 70 minute treatment stretched into almost two and a half hours, but was 'most relaxing and enjoyable, a very feminine time'.
The hotel is a quiet place; the main building a little gloomy, the tiled balconies of the adjoining building airy and light. All the rooms look out onto the central space, which is a problem if there is a group of visitors who enjoy talking across this open space as everyone in the building will hear them too. Most noticeable after going to bed to sleep.
The basic rooms and comfortable lounges were always well cleaned and all functioned as designed. I suggest this a great base for a long weekend visit, but I would choose one of the deluxe hotels beyond the medina for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Opt for an air conditioned suite during the hotter season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatherof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#256 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Terra Bahia
Riad Terra Bahia
#212 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#74 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Jona
Riad Jona
#42 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Nafis
Riad Nafis
#96 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#6 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bahia Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bahia Salam

Property: Riad Bahia Salam
Address: 61 Avenue Hommane El Fatouaki | Arest Lamaach, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bahia Salam 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Bahia Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bahia Salam Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing