We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Central Riad”
Review of Riad Marrakiss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Marrakiss
Ranked #280 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
229 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Traditional Central Riad”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I arrived in Marrakech at just before midnight on a Friday night, which wasn't the best time to try to get bearings and find the Riad. You can't get a taxi into the old medina, and have to get the taxi driver to drop you off just outside Jemna El Fna, walk into the square and then locate the Riad which is just off the square up a small side street. I expected the Riad to be noisy due to its close proximity to the square, but it was surprisingly quiet, especially on the rooftop sun lounge area. You would never guess you were in the centre of the noisy and vibrant city of Marrakech. Josef, the owner is a lovely guy and is informative about the surrounding areas. Breakfast consisted of local bread with cheese and marmalade, a syrup pancake and fresh juice and tea/coffee, which was more than fine to start the day with. The room was traditionally decorated with ample plugs to charge everything (standard European 2 pin style plugs). I would choose to stay at the Riad again because of its location, value for money, free Wi-Fi, good size rooms and convenience of having the rooftop to laze in the sun after a hard days sightseeing. The only downside I can think of was the traditional morning call to prayer at around 6 am on Sunday morning, but I guess you'd hear this at any Riad in the centre as opposed to staying in a sound proofed room in a modern hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    66
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
31
75
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights in mid Jan. Its not for someone looking for a classy hotel but for me its the best place to experience the delights in Marrakesh. Located very conveniently to visit Jemna El Fna and bus stops and all the souks around but still on a very quiet street. We took the No 19 from air port which cost us 30 MAD per person. Bus stops at the square and from there its less than 10min walk but finding the Riad first time is not an easy task. Fortunately I had Tripadvisor offline city maps on my phone and could find it without asking from locals. The ally way looks deserted specially at night with some people sleeping rough on the side but we never had any issues even coming late. Room is what you can expect from a Riad i.e. small size and less light - possibly built to keep cool during summer. We had hot water and heating and breakfast was ok. There is a terrace overlooking the city with deck chairs. The kitchen is closed at night so if you like a morning or late night cuppa it will be good to take a travel kettle and tea/coffee. Ali who I think owns the riad is such a nice person and ready to help you with a smile. However he was not pushy to tell you about places to visit or excursions. After checking with him we went on a tour to Sagora over Atlas mountains and then a camel ride to a camp site in the desert. It proved to be such fun and although it was not in the heart of the desert with big sand dunes we enjoyed it very much - specially the music and singing around the fire by local people. Our stay in Marrakesh was one of the best and would definitely stay there again if we visited the city.

Room Tip: All rooms looks same but we stayed on the top floor and could access the terrace easily in the after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thunderera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherfield On Loddon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This delightful is a real gem within a few minutes of Jemna El Fna. Small, cosy and perfectly formed. Yusuf and his small team have created a wonderful Riad down a small avenue right in the heart of town.

My wife and I stayed 7 nights and other than hot water running out (because it is solar heated) a couple of times, this is all you need from a Riad, which is guest house in style, not hotel style.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thefunkygibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed 4 nights in riad marrakiss in may. We liked very much the location, 3 minutes walking from jamaa al fna and the value for money in the riad. Although simple, it provided a very calm place to rest in the middle of the confusion. Our room was good and delivered what it promissed. Good choice afterall.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carina G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gosforth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This Riad was a lovely peaceful refuge in the busy markets of Marrakech. It is difficult to find but we had a porter to take our cases and he pointed out the street names so we knew where we were going. The Riad is clean and has good air conditioning. The breakfast is basic, but all you need, and the coffee was lovely.
We thought we may struggle in Marrakech as we are vegetarians, but all the restaurants we visited catered for us, with a good choice in most.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

It's a not a fancy five star hotel but you will find all the rooms very clean and comfortable. The location is excellent.

Location - a few minutes walk from the Marrakech's main square, Jemaa el-Fnaa, it is a great location for getting to all the major attractions on foot. It is a little difficult to find at first but once you've found it you won't forget. People in the street can provide directions but often they expect to be paid (don't pay more than 10 DH).

Comfort - the rooms are a little on the small side but very clean with a pleasant furnishing. The mattresses on the bed are a little hard (I actually prefer this though). There is sometimes noise from neighbouring buildings but you are in the heart of the city so can't really expect otherwise.

Breakfast - pretty basic with just bread, cheese spread, orange juice and tea/coffee each morning but it does the job.

Internet access - wireless broadband is available on the ground floor but doesn't work in the rooms.

Staff - All the staff are friendly and helpful. The reception staff speak good English. They don't try to sell you extras or push for tips.

All in all, this place is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJRWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Like most of the Riads this is a small B&B style hotel. You will need a guide or luggage porter to find it the first time because like all the other Riads, sign posting is just about none existant, but then even street names are hard to come by in the old town! Situated down a quiet side street, the outside of the Riad is literally a heavy wooden decorative door. Inside it is decorated in simple Arabic style, lots of glazed tiles etc. The central courtyard is pleasantly cool and there is a small roof top sun deck with seating and about 6 sun loungers - the hotel has about 10-12 rooms so never feels busy. The staff were very helpful and all spoke good English. Our room had 2 comfy single beds, plently of wardobe space, a decent sized bathroom with walk in shower, and most crucially air conditioning that worked! It was late April and the city was baking at 45c for the 3 nights we were there. You are literally 1 minutes walk from the Souks (markets) and 3 minutes from the main square where everything happens! The Riad is down a quiet, and at night dark side alley but we never saw or heard any trouble here or anywhere else in the narrow city alleys which pass for streets. If I go back to Marrakech I would stop here again, it gives you a way better feel for the whole Marrakech experience than stopping in a European style hotel in the more remote new part of the city where you are 30-45 minutes walk from the old town, where all the attractions are located

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Shaden
Riad Shaden
#217 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Amiris
Riad Amiris
#318 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad du Petit Prince
Riad du Petit Prince
#265 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Ben Youssef
Riad Ben Youssef
#342 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Habib
Riad Habib
#47 of 278 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
Palais Riad Calipau Marrakech
#297 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Marrakiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Marrakiss

Property: Riad Marrakiss
Address: 103 Derb Moulay Abdelkader, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Marrakiss 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel-guest house has seven rooms with double bed or two/three singles beds. All rooms dispose of their own bathroom and are equipped with shower built with the original Moroccan techniques and materials: tadelakt and zilige of Fez. The air conditioning system affords you the maximum comfort in all seasons.The entirely renovated furniture, according to the Moroccan style, helps make the intriguing and enjoyable feeling of living in an ancient Moroccan riad in the Medina of Marrakech. The ryad is pleased to offer its guests a WiFi connection.L'albergo dispone di sette camere con letto matrimoniale o a due/tre letti. Tutte le camere sono con sala da bagno e doccia in tadelakt e zilige di Fès. L'impianto di climatizzazione permette il massimo confort in tutte le stagioni.L'arredamento interamente rinnovato, che però riproduce l'ambiente marocchino di un tempo, contribuisce a rendere intrigante e piacevole la sensazione di vivere in un antico riad marocchino all'interno della Medina di Marrakech. Il riad è dotato di collegamento WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Marrakiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing