We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Absolute Haven of Serenity” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Atlas Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Atlas Guest House
Ranked #637 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolute Haven of Serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have just spent 4 nights in this charming, beautiful Riad. My first trip to Morocco and Marrakech in particular. After being led down mysterious, but completely safe alleyways, having been met by Zaki (loveliest person) we arrived at a typical Moroccan doorway and within seconds into a beautiful courtyard central to the building. We were welcomed by the owner and again within seconds given welcoming mint tea, while we filled in our forms. Our room was the Lalla Keltoum and was the most comfortable and cosy place to spend the nights. The Riad is 2 minutes from the mayhem of the Fna and on your first trip out you think you'll never find it again, but it's dead easy, just give yourself a couple of landmarks and within an hour you'll know exactly where you are. After the incredible sensory knockout of The Fna and Souks you will return to your alleyway with ease and it will appear someone has unplugged the sound, it's quite unbelievable. The comfort of your bed and the wonderful breakfasts, which change daily will make your stay the most memorable ever!

Room Tip: Only five rooms and any one of them will be an absolute treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhardy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    17
    5
    3
    11
See reviews for
12
43
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the most beautiful hotels you can possibly stay in. It is very tastefully decorated and has a lot of charater to it. We booked the hotel transfer (they will email you once you have made the booking) and it is definitely a must as it might be a little hard to find by yourself.
I cannot comment on the staff's service and hospitality enough. They were nothing less than accommodating and Taoufik (night guy) even helped us to haggle down an excursion when he didn't have to.
Very clean, very bright, very well located (central but it is masked from the noise). You are literally less than a minute walk to the Square and about 7 minutes taxi to the new city.
The roof is beautiful and we had many a great nights sitting up there filled with laughter and conversation.
The rooms are tastefully decorated, although be warned, there is no air conditioning, but this is the only one slight negative in this riad (there is a fan).
Breakfast is lovely, fresh juice with fresh fruit and lovely variation of Moroccan treats and eats.
The night guy is one of the best things about this place, he is always there to lend a helping hand and always offered us lots of laughter.
I will definitely be staying here again, cannot recommend it enough.
Someone commented on the pool being in open view (what about in a resort in full view of everyone??!) there is only six rooms here and it is very quiet!!! It's like you have the whole place to yourself.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sehrish_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The riad is a two minute walk from the square and it is beautifully decorated. The attention to detail in the rooms is really lovely.

They were most helpful, we had to leave for our tour before breakfast is usually served so they did one early just for us.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This Riad is well located for the main square, is clean and the wi fi worked well.

However, the minuses

1. We were asked to pay up for the nights we stayed in advance, and as soon as we arrived. No pleasantries at all. No tea or cold drink while we sorted this out
2. Breakfasts were poor. While they may have been typical, they were virtually the same every day and very basic and cheap - dry tasteless bread, pastries/pancakes fried in butter, jam made from fennel and carrot (sweet and tasteless) coffee and orange juice
3. The plunge pool is on the lower courtyard and in full view of everyone, close to the front door. While secure, it did not provide an ambience that would be conducive to anyone using it and therefore was next to useless
4. There is no-one really in charge - there is the girl who cleans (very well) and the night porter who serves breakfast (charming) but there is no-one in charge apart from when they want to take payment

I have never had to post a review like this but I don't think the earlier reviews really reflect some of the things that made this place rather disappointing and average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssjs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you want perfection maybe it's not perfect for you. But if you want a quite, comfortable,pretty place near the Djemaa El Fna with wonderful people taking great care of you then it's the place for you. They have a nice breakfast each morning on the roof, it's included. They help you find services like cars with drivers when you need them for very fair prices. If you want the true feel of Marrakesh I would definitely stay in a Riad over a hotel. Also they offer a car from the airport at a good price and I would recommend taking it, because to find the place the first time would be very difficult. Very centrally located. I will be blogging about Marrakech teawithlavera.com

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teawithlavera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed 7 nights. Very central location near to the big square. We booked airport transfers. A hotel employee met us and helped us with our luggage the last part of the way where the car could not drive. It is almost impossible to find the way in the narrow streets alone for the first time.
Not all the staff speak English, but they always got hold of others that could. The room was clean and with nice interior, and we had breakfast on the terrace.
The staff gave ut advice on bargaining, because we wanted to buy a carpet, that we ended up buying on a day excursion to Essaouira, which the staff arranged for us. The staff was very helpful, and we can confidently recommend the hotel/guesthouse to others.

Room Tip: We stayed at Lalla Jamila, nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laila_R_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballerup, Denmark
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in this Riad. Although a bit difficult to find the first time, it was easy the rest of the time. Very close to the big square, yet there was very quiet inside the Riad. Room was clean and nice, and wifi worked without any problems. It was winter so it was a bit cold, and there was a radiator to heat up the sleeping area.

Staff was very friendly all the time, and understood and spoke english and french.

Only minus was that the water was pretty cold when showering, but that is something that could be expected I suppose. Would recommend this to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dia
Riad Dia
#147 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Radya
Riad Dar Radya
#247 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Layla Rouge
Riad Layla Rouge
#181 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Jennah Rouge
Riad Jennah Rouge
#150 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad des Etoiles
Riad des Etoiles
#31 of 266 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ryad Atlas IV
Ryad Atlas IV
#133 of 266 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Atlas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Atlas Guest House

Property: Riad Atlas Guest House
Address: 19 Derb Sidi Boulfdail | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #637 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Atlas Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Riad Atlas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing