We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet well located Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Atlas Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Atlas Guest House
Ranked #583 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ballerup, Denmark
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quiet well located Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in this Riad. Although a bit difficult to find the first time, it was easy the rest of the time. Very close to the big square, yet there was very quiet inside the Riad. Room was clean and nice, and wifi worked without any problems. It was winter so it was a bit cold, and there was a radiator to heat up the sleeping area.

Staff was very friendly all the time, and understood and spoke english and french.

Only minus was that the water was pretty cold when showering, but that is something that could be expected I suppose. Would recommend this to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    17
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
12
43
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

When I got to Riad Atlas I was welcomed with a drink and lots of smiles. The Riad is located 4 minutes away from the main square and although I was a little scared at the beginning (it can be a bit difficult to find at first and after 11 the city starts to get very quiet) it was very safe.
I didn't want a cab from or to the airport as I found that it's cheaper to just hop in a cab when you arrive at the city. I paid 80 dirhams and when I got to the main square I just asked for directions. The only annoying thing was that I had to call the guy to open the door if I was out after 11pm as I just don't like bothering people but they were completely fine with it though.
Breakfast was alright, room was really nice and clean and the staff was really friendly. I would definitely go back.
Oh and at 6am everyday you will hear the prayers for around 10/15 minutes, but then that's not their fault if you stay really central you'll see speakers everywhere in the medina and you can hear the prayers all over the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank van_garcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This riad was beautifully clean, situated right next to the main square. It's totally true what others have said too...you make the two minute walk from the chaos & mayhem of Jemaa El Fna sqaure to the calm tranquillity of the riad- a total haven. Staff were lovely and friendly. Breakfast was a traditional form of pancake/crumpet/pastry style offering with a host of different jams. I was slightly disappointed that our 'double bed' was actually two single's pushed together, but that was a small negative compared to the overall great experience we had. Would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank India A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Riad Atlas is in a really great location just a couple of minutes walk from the main square (although not so easy to find on arrival). However, we were amazed that once you come off the main road the noise and rush of Marrakech completely disappears. The courtyard is beautiful and calm - perfect place to relax after a mad day in the souks. Our room was on the ground floor - tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean (like the rest of the Riad). Staff were polite and attentive, breakfast was lovely on the terrace and we were even served very early in the morning on our last day when we had to leave early. Sheets/towels were changed every day and staff were always available. Overall fantastic value for money and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajo203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

As a starting point, this is an EXCELLENT and beautiful place to stay. We were picked up from the airport and taken to the Riad which was wonderful, especially arriving at night. The Riad is amazingly central in the Medina, literally just a couple of minutes from Place Jeema El-Fna down a road (which might be hard to find first time alone) which made it an oasis of calm. The Riad throughout was wonderfully decorated. The room we had was Lalla Liakout on the ground floor which opened up onto a beautiful little courtyard with a fountain and the room was VERY clean (I've worked as a chamber maid for four years, high standards...) and always cleaned with care and thoughtfulness, not to mention being arranged in a nice manner with the bedding etc. The staff and owner were very polite, kind and always helpful, better French than English but both worked. Breakfast was fantastic - four different types of Moroccan pancakes over our stay, honey, wonderful unusual jams, like carrot, aubergine, and then the more normal fig or cherry, bread, coffee etc - all on the top floor terrace - heaven. We did one of the several excursions for the day which they offer, we chose cascades d'Ouzoud which I would recommend for 100 euros- the prices they offer are per car and that was all good. It is true that the driver can put you onto a guide but that is part of the way of things and you can say no. Wifi worked well, always felt secure, there is a safe available and always someone there to let you in, which increases the security and allows you to spend lazy afternoons in the cool of the courtyard or on the sunny terrace. Truely excellent value for money.
All in all it was a wonderful stay, would definitely recommend it and we would like to thank everyone at Riad Atlas for all their hospitality and kindness, hopefully we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare9010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This Is a nice Riad very close to the main square (literally a couple of minutes walking distance). The Riad arranged a transfer from the airport for us so getting there was no hassle. The Riad itself looks very nice and is kept very clean as the staff spend hours cleaning it daily. The breakfast included is good too as they made us fresh pancakes each morning with OJ and spreads.
The only thing which stopped me giving this a 5 star rating was that there was no air conditioning in the room, but just a small floor fan which didn't do a great job at keeping us cool. As it was 41 degrees in Marrakech at the time, this did make it somewhat uncomfortable

Room Tip: We were on the top floor. As there is no air con, you probably want to be lower down
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich007a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We chose this riad for it's great location just around the corner form the 'big square'. We were not dissappointed. We arranged airport transfers and were met by one of the staff who ensured a smoothe taxi ride to our accommodation. Staff were all very friendly and informative, drawing us a map with suggested tours on offer. Our room on the ground floor was tastefully decorated in moroccan style. The breakfast on the top terrace was simple, breads, jams, cakes etc, but delicious. We were a bit surprised at having no bathroom door in the room but decided to accept it as 'interesting and quirky!' There were a couple of occasions when the noise from our fellow guests bothered us some as the building is very open internally. The staff even apologised on their behalf.
Overall this was a very pleasant riad and we would definitely recommend a stay here to be near to the local attractions. One recommendation would be to definitely visit the majorelle gardens. You'll be amazed!

Room Tip: If you want more privacy request a room on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#296 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#322 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dia
Riad Dia
#124 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Light of Sun
Riad Light of Sun
#608 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Radya
Riad Dar Radya
#243 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ryad Atlas IV
Ryad Atlas IV
#139 of 257 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Atlas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Atlas Guest House

Property: Riad Atlas Guest House
Address: 19 Derb Sidi Boulfdail | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #583 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Atlas Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Riad Atlas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing