We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Beyond all our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Nesma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Nesma
Ranked #147 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beyond all our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We are still staying at this truly special riad which is a traditional Moroccan hotel loatated in the medina (market where21 century, meets medieval and kitch in an atmosphere of anarchic chaos) but the hotel provides an oasis of calm. It's small rooms are decorated in traditional style and are well maintained and spotlessly clean, as are all public areas. The Moroccan breakfast is served on a roof terrace overlooking the city and mountains and the staff will cook a very special meal for the evening on request. The staff are all great and smile all the time

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwb2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    61
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
77
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Nice location a few minutes walking from square jemaa el fna.Allows You to walk all over the Medina.We used the transfer service of the Riad to/ from airport And we recommend it because Its easier And fast.The Staff was very helpful And always available for us.If we return to Marrakech in the future we will for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carochas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at this Riad for four nights. Location was brilliant about five to ten minutes to the main square. Our triple room was spacious. The beds were clean. Bathroom was adequate too. Breakfast was various fresh pastries with coffee or mint tea and fresh orange juice. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We also asked the riad to organise our airport transfers so everything went smoothly. To sum it all up: friendly staff, beautiful Riad, lovely roof terrace, great location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Hi, we stayed in this hotel for 5 nights, guys working there are just amazing, friendly, helpful and very kind. First experience with Marocco wasn't the best one, as soon as apt transfer left us on the small square ( 1 min of walk from Riad) our bags were taken by random person with "rikscha" the small cart with two wheels, without asking for any help from him, after arriving to the Riad front door, as I said only 1 min of walk, he was demanding a money for transfer( as new to Marocco, unknown this kind of people) we payed, actually was a receptionist who gave him 40 DH. Other than that, our stay was pleasant, satisfied by the guys which were at the reception, housekeeper... Regards to the day trips, which every hotel has, I would not recommend "African Hollywood" trip, it's a place in desert, 4 hours drive from Marrakech, you have a time to visit the old Berber village, lunch and than back 4 hours in uncomfortable mini bus, with crazy driver:( , we ve been on other trips too, highly recommended!!!
As Riad is only 7 min of walk from Jemma al Fna, night small street I saw a bit rough, a bit strange people, a bit scary, but nothing like a danger I cannot report. After that time, after like 3 days I was having enough of the odour from the streets and I had to cover my nose by the scarf, very strong one! I would highly recommend, before traveling there, or upon the arrival to change at least 100 DH to have a change , coz everyone will ask for some small change from you. Do not let yourself to ask a random person for help, it ll cost ya, don't believe to anyone if you ll hear " it's for free" at the end it ll cost you:(
At the end I would like to really recommend this Riad Nesma, I am sure if I ll be bk in Marocco one day, I will not hesitate and will choose this hotel again, as we heard the Riad is growing, a new rooms ll be added, and on the beautiful sunroofs terrace will be added a big Juacuzzi:)
We re looking forward to go back again
Greetings from UK

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jaro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Fantastic place, super friendly, clean, great breakfast, and a close and pleasant walk from all the action as well as easy to find - really a pleasure. They were remodeling the upstairs outdoor area this summer when we were there, so should be even more beautiful up there now! Abdul, the front desk attendant is fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LYGUSHKAPUTESHESTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, it was a great value, clean and nicely decorated. Dinner at this hotel was excellent. We had dinner at the roof, nicely set up and very peaceful. The staff was great, helpful and nice. I would definitely recommend this place however you have to be aware that it is close to the grand place so depending on the room it can be noisy and if open the window, there might be odor which the hotel cannot help.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bri416231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I first came to Marrakech 3 years ago and stayed at Riad Nesma. We loved it so much that we decided it was the best place to return to when we decided to get married in the desert of Marrakech.
I don't know where to start: the staff is welcoming you with big open arms, they are always going the extra mile to make sure you have everything you need, always smiling and making you laugh. I really don't have any words that can describe how marvelous our stay at Riad Nesma was.
The Riad in itself is extremely well located, it is about a 7 mins walk from the main square Jemaa el Fna and all along the alley way, they are plenty of stalls which makes it very alive. Saying that though, it's noisy outside but so calm, quiet and relaxing inside. There is air conditioning in every room, a beautiful rooftop for breakfast in the morning and a very nice courtyard/lounge in the middle of the Riad.
Our 5 night stay was one of the best we ever had, anywhere we have ever stayed. It was even better than what I wanted it to be and I would definitely come back and recommend it to anyone who wishes to visit Marrakech.
Thank you from the bottom of my heart to all the beautiful staff of Riad Nesma.

Melanie & Nick

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, clean and comfortable but recommend Alaouites or Almohades
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Choulita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#56 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Amin
Riad Amin
#141 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#63 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#215 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#57 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#86 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Nesma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nesma

Property: Riad Nesma
Address: 128 Riad Zitoune Lakdim | Medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#132 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Nesma 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the famous Jemaa El Fna and two minutes of both Bahia and Badii Palace, a former hotel formerly named the Workers (1939) has been restored by the appeal to knowledge internationally known craftsmen of Marrakech.More than a typical hotel, Riad NESMA opens its doors on an exceptional place with its beautiful patio and 7 rooms that have been planned and studied with great care to offer quality services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Nesma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Nesma Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing