We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous terrace ... especially at night”

La Terrasse des Epices
Ranked #50 of 887 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: European, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous terrace ... especially at night”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stopped here for a light lunch, the sardine tart is a must try and were so much taken by it that we returned on another evening for a drink. It is even more lovely at night ...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Farah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,208
    1,106
    320
    116
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If only we had found this place sooner ...”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We went to the Terrasse for lunch on our penultimate day in Marrakech and loved it so much, we returned for lunch again the following day before heading for the airport. It is actually quite hard to find, even if you know where it is, being hidden 2 flights up on a staircase hidden in the corner of a souk. But well worth the effort of seeking it out. The rooftop terrace is spacious, calm, and attended by friendly staff who wear straw hats which give the place a relaxed atmosphere. Food and drinks are delicious but no alcohol is served. Monkfish Tagine, Seafood Pastilla and the Sardine Tart were particularly good. Well worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Boring_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A nice taste of Morocco...”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Do not get confused with the café des Epices as there is no comparison! this restaurant has lots of nice rooftop seating areas for you to enjoy amazing fruit juices and wonderful authentic food at a reasonable price. Tucked away on the edge of the Souks its worth looking for!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pottypolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niterói, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good maroccan food!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

great spot, open air, relaxed and chic. the tajine was awesome, but no alcoholic drinks on the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolMont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Nice rooftop ambience and good Moroccan cuisine”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

La Terrasse is what you would expect of a tourist restaurant. Good service and local cuisine. It is among the souks of the medina.

We started with the salads, western style. Moroccan salad is normally served in many dishes (similar to Korea) but for La Terasse they did not have this service. Instead individual salads can be had and vegetables were fresh and the dressing was good.

Then we had the requisite tanginess, all well-prepared but not really out of the ordinary. The menu is extensive, mind you. And I am sure if we tried the other dishes we might have been impressed as well.

If you are in the area of the Marrakech medina, La Terasse is a good pit stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GranDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrasse des Epices also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Terrasse des Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing