We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourist trap with disdain for customers”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Omar

Riad Omar
Ranked #330 of 860 Restaurants in Marrakech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tourist trap with disdain for customers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

The restaurant has lots of very pushy touts outside trying to get you in with promises of 'the best food in Marrakech'. High expectations were soon dashed with bland food, poor service and an open disdain when we complained. Never again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    97
    55
    33
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An abomination”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

All the signs were there, a man (who turned out to be a liar) touting for business outside ,laminated menus, tables of uneaten food. The guy from the street conned us into having 3 menus de jour that he assured would cover the 9 of us for salad, water, tea and patisseries. We ordered 3 'de jour' and 6 al la carte. The salad arrived and barely fed the 3 of us who ordered, let alone 9, we were given 2 bottles of water for the table. 8 mains arrived, half lukewarm or cold, all bland. One was going to be 3/4 minutes. After 10 mins the wrong dish arrived without an apology. No-one finished their meals, the tea and cakes arrived for 3 not 9, cakes were stale, like a mix of sand and chalk. When our tout returned to the table and asked how the food was, upon hearing 's**t', he smiled and offered to shake our hand! On the plus side the mint tea was nice though for 3 not 9! Avoid at all costs

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salopian72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you like poor food at a high price with terrible service you will enjoy Riad Omar!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Avoid at all costs, do not get drawn In by street staff, terrible experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dietician69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“DON`T EAT HERE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

We were approached outside this restaurant by a young male tout who was insistent that we eat there.When we politely refused his offer he became very rude and aggressive and called me a -- . We are a middle aged couple and were quite shocked at his exceptionally rude use of the English vocabulary with potential customers.Please think twice if you consider eating here as the etiquette of the staff leaves a lot to be desired!!!!!!!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank 919lindap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

We were offered this restaurant when our choice of eaterie wasn't available, and were pleasantly surprised.

Arriving just after the call to prayer sounded, we expected that service would be a little slow, but no, this was not the case.

We were offered the 180 Dh set menu, but knew neither of us could do it justice for lunch, so asked for the al a carte. This was duely brought, along with an explanation of each dish. We selected a Marrakech lamb with lemon tagine, and a Lamb and Veg with olives tagine. We planned on sharing these, and this was not a problem. Plentiful bread, olives and water was brought while we waited, and we enjoyed the terrace, and views, and befriended the cats (who we found to be quite stand offish - not begging).

The food was delicious, lamb tender and plentiful, full of flavour, and I wish I had their recipe for the lemon one as it is a flavour that shall stay with me.

There were diners of multiple nationalities while we were there, and all appeared to be very happy with their meals. This also applied to the larger party (?Family group) of Moroccan ladies who were eating in the covered area of the riad, they appeared to have a lovely time as well, and nobody appeared to have any issues with any other guests.

All staff i came across were friendly and pleasant, as were the staff of the riad downstairs which shared an entrance. Not only is this a restaurant we want to return to, it is a riad that we would consider using if we wanted a short stay location within the Old Town.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaycine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Omar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Omar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing