We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zen House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Zen House
Ranked #189 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely guest house!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

My fiance and I had a great time staying at this riad near the wall of the medina. Carla (owner) and Mourad were very accommodating, helpful and welcoming. We don't speak French or Arabic, and they helped us with spa appointments, dinner reservations, and a tour to the mountains. We'd recommend this riad!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindseyAnne23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    19
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
41
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

The riad was beautiful with great attention to detail. The rooms were comfortable with huge bathrooms. The rooftop dining was wonderful and we had a great dinner served to us. The riad also arranged our driver throughout Morocco who was absolutely lovely. And they recommended a great spa in Marrakech. The outstanding cook gave us a cooking lesson. Our experinece was memorable.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddbelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed at Zen House for 5 days in October and found it to be a lovely oasis in the Medina in Marrakech. While it was too long to walk to the Square (unless you could decipher the route), it was a short taxi ride to the center. The Riad treated you like family, the rooms were lovely and the common rooms allowed you as much spae as you needed. I particularly liked the personal attention by the staff, including tea in the afternoon. Carla and Meloud were wonderful hosts, as were the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Riad Zen is a beautifully furnished 3 story house in the old part of Marrakech. The bedrooms are comfortable with private baths. The food was excellent. Carla and Milhoud are wonderful hosts. They gave us many suggestions and helped us make arrangements. They both went out of their way to provide for their guests.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxwor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Carla Milhoud Mohamed and Saida went above and beyong to make us feel comfortable, welcome and they worked as a team to make us fall in love with Marrakech. The food was optional but just awesome. I liked that there was no TV and no Intrenet, it felt like pure escape in the middle of the city. The house is furnished with tates and full of Morrocan furniture.
Mohammed the driver was very professional, knowledgeable, has great work ethics and helped us fall in love with Morroco.
Carla has incredible hospitality skills and her kindness will make you want to come back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuella008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Quiet hidden gem in the medina. Three story house with lovely sun deck. Great breakfasts and beautifully decorated rooms. Owner Carla made the experience extra special with her attention to details and service.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousBee96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

We had a fantastic time in Marrakech and it was mainly because Carla and the Zen House's staff went beyond the call of duty to make us feel comfortable. It started before we even landed with Carla providing tips and advice on what to bring and what to do once there. It continued with the warmth of the welcome and all the discoveries we were able to make in the souk and during our trip to the desert. Carla fell in love with Morocco and makes it contagious.
Saida's cooking helped up discover this country with our taste buds through her flavourful and sophisticated cuisine.
But the highlight of the trip was the spontaneity and sincerity of the relationships we were built at the Zen House.
We are longing to go back and enjoy all Morocco has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeGazou61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Les Ammonites
Riad Les Ammonites
#215 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#137 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Ajebel
Riad Ajebel
#325 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Alamir
Riad Alamir
#184 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Silsila
Dar Silsila
#195 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Awinati
Riad Awinati
#290 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zen House

Property: Riad Zen House
Address: 320, Arset Ben Brahim, Arset Ihiri | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Zen House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Home Away from Home, Riad Zen House is ideally located in the center of Marrakech, inside the fortified walls tucked away in a quiet neighborhood between the Jemma el Fna Square and the Majorelle Gardens in the new city. It is a haven of peace. Carla, Miloud and their team will accompany you throughout your trip making it a memorable one, including organizing the outings you wish to take with our private minibus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Zen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing