We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stunning!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Zen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Zen House
Ranked #218 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay in the Zen House last month... What an amazing property... We had an easy transfer from the airport to the Riad, truly top notch accomadations, clean, beautifully decorated room, with great ambiance.... We were able to stay in several different rooms, due to the lack of occupancy, which I know had to do with the uphevel within N. Africa (NOT Morocco). However, throughout our time in Marrakech, I never felt any threat of danger or violence or political turmoil... We are Americans and felt EXTREMELY safe and secure within Marrakech and especially the Riad Zen House... They spoke excellent English and were great hosts during our visit.. Breakfast was wonderful and beatifully laid out each morning... My fondest memory was of listening to the call to prayer and the children laughing in the Medina outside our Riad while watching the colors fade at sunset, all the while sipping wine on top of the roof top patio... A perfect moment in time, truly poetry in motion...

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HaitiTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    19
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
42
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

My fiance and I had a great time staying at this riad near the wall of the medina. Carla (owner) and Mourad were very accommodating, helpful and welcoming. We don't speak French or Arabic, and they helped us with spa appointments, dinner reservations, and a tour to the mountains. We'd recommend this riad!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindseyAnne23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

The riad was beautiful with great attention to detail. The rooms were comfortable with huge bathrooms. The rooftop dining was wonderful and we had a great dinner served to us. The riad also arranged our driver throughout Morocco who was absolutely lovely. And they recommended a great spa in Marrakech. The outstanding cook gave us a cooking lesson. Our experinece was memorable.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddbelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed at Zen House for 5 days in October and found it to be a lovely oasis in the Medina in Marrakech. While it was too long to walk to the Square (unless you could decipher the route), it was a short taxi ride to the center. The Riad treated you like family, the rooms were lovely and the common rooms allowed you as much spae as you needed. I particularly liked the personal attention by the staff, including tea in the afternoon. Carla and Meloud were wonderful hosts, as were the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

Riad Zen is a beautifully furnished 3 story house in the old part of Marrakech. The bedrooms are comfortable with private baths. The food was excellent. Carla and Milhoud are wonderful hosts. They gave us many suggestions and helped us make arrangements. They both went out of their way to provide for their guests.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxwor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

Carla Milhoud Mohamed and Saida went above and beyong to make us feel comfortable, welcome and they worked as a team to make us fall in love with Marrakech. The food was optional but just awesome. I liked that there was no TV and no Intrenet, it felt like pure escape in the middle of the city. The house is furnished with tates and full of Morrocan furniture.
Mohammed the driver was very professional, knowledgeable, has great work ethics and helped us fall in love with Morroco.
Carla has incredible hospitality skills and her kindness will make you want to come back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuella008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

Quiet hidden gem in the medina. Three story house with lovely sun deck. Great breakfasts and beautifully decorated rooms. Owner Carla made the experience extra special with her attention to details and service.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousBee96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Sadaka
Riad Sadaka
#197 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Anyssates
Riad Anyssates
#157 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad La Rose D'Orient
Riad La Rose D'Orient
#336 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#145 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Charai
Riad Charai
#219 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa des Trois Golfs
Villa des Trois Golfs
#323 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zen House

Property: Riad Zen House
Address: 320, Arset Ben Brahim, Arset Ihiri | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Home Away from Home, Riad Zen House is ideally located in the center of Marrakech, inside the fortified walls tucked away in a quiet neighborhood between the Jemma el Fna Square and the Majorelle Gardens in the new city. It is a haven of peace. Carla, Miloud and their team will accompany you throughout your trip making it a memorable one, including organizing the outings you wish to take with our private minibus. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing