We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful Oasis!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cherrata

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Cherrata
Ranked #62 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Oasis!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Excellent place to stay, would recommend for anyone who wants to be in the medina and close to everything but also enjoys a peaceful and relaxing place to sleep at night. Valerie is great - tells you everything you need to know right when you arrive, always giving you tea and water! Excellent and lavish breakfast spread! She gives you a cell phone to use and also called taxis for usand made dinner reservations for us at a few incredible restaurants! Gorgeous and clean rooms in true Moroccan style with a lovely rooftop terrace where we actually spent an afternoon laying out in the sun. Amazing place to stay - cant wait to go back to Riad Cherrata!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDF17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
184
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My daughter and I traveled to Marrakech in November 2012. We stayed at the Riad Cherrata for 4 nights. It was simply beautiful. Understated elegance. Our room had 2 single beds, was spotless, big, pleanty of storage area. The Bathroom was roomy and there was a Moroccan theme. The owner, Valerie, is a marval. She greeted us upon our arrival with tea and pastries and gave us a thorough understanding of Marrakech. She drew us a map and even gave us a cell phone. Of course, the first evening we got lost in the souks, Valerie came personally to get us. Every morning we were served a delicious breakfast of homemade jams, brioche breads, flatbreads, pancakes, pastries, fruits. More than enought to take us through our days. Valerie arranged a tour guide for us and a taxi driver, mohammed, who patiently drove us all around Marrakech, waiting for us to shop and just be amazed at the things we saw. Valerie never stopped spending time with us making sure that our stay was memorable. She even booked our train trip to Essaquira and got our tickets for us. This woman is awesome and truly special! Thank you Valerie. Thank you Mohammed. Linda and Adrienne

Room Tip: All the rooms were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21Linda21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My daughter and I spent 5 nights at Riad Cherrata and it was absolutely perfect! I had chosen Riad Cherrata based on TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed. I contacted Valerie by email when I booked and she arranged for a taxi to meet us at the airport (recommended).

Valerie was at the Riad to greet us and welcomed us with mint tea and lovely Morocaan pastries. She spent time telling us about the sights of Marrakech and recommended restaurants, and other activities which helped make our visit to Marrakech a memorable one. She drew a detailed map for us to ensure we didn't get lost. She even gave us a phone and a list of taxi drivers and their numbers!

Our room was lovely! Quiet. Excellent bed - extremely comfortable! Beautiful bathroom. The rooftop terrace, which offers excellent views of the city and the snowcapped mountains in the distance, is a lovely spot to relax (in warmer weather). There is also a lounge area with a fireplace which was quickly lit whenever we chose to sit and relax after our busy days.

And breakfast really is fantastic. From the homemade breads, jams, pancakes, yogurt and freshly squeezed orange juice to the delicious coffee, it was the BEST meal of the day! Kudos to Saadia who prepared and served it all.

Valerie couldn't do enough to ensure our visit was perfect. She booked and picked up our bus tickets to Essaouira. She booked our visit to the hamam (and drew another detailed map to ensure we found it). She organized taxis whenever one was needed. By the end of our visit, it felt like we were staying with family.

Riad Cherrata is perfectly located within a 10 minute walk from Jemaa el-Fnaa. The route is well lit so even when returning after dinner in the evening we always felt very safe.

I could go on and on but suffice to say, if you are planning a visit to Marrakech, Riad Cherrata is, without a doubt, THE place to stay. I can't wait to return myself!

Thank you Valerie, Saadia and the rest of the Riad Cherrata team.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WouldLoveToVisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Spent a wonderful 3 nights at the Riad Cherrata.
Valerie made our stay in Marrakesh effortless, drawing maps, booking taxi, hamman and recommending restaurants. The breakfast was delicious and filling, our room comfortable and the terraces a welcome change from the hustle and bustle of the Medina.
We've only been back a few days and have already recommended the Riad to a friend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadalrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at Riad Cherrata; Valerie is wonderful -- was there to welcome us with her handwritten maps and walked us to local restaurant to make sure we had our bearings. She also personally waved goodbye to us as we left in taxi. Staying in the Medina and at a Riad is not my typical experience-- but staying at this Riad with Valerie and her team made it magical. The medina is a wild place, but when you step inside the beautiful wooden door of Cherrata, you are transported to a spot of tranquility. Watching sunset on the roof is magical.

We were in the junior suite-- well equipped, comfortable bed. And the morning breakfast is excellent and educational-- trying all the different breads and jams.

Valerie goes out of her way to ensure that her guests have the best experience. She treats each guest as family.

We highly recommend this Riad. It is also well located-- in the Medina but also very close to edge of Medina too. Overall, a magnificient and magical experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sydNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Valerie is one of the best hosts I have ever had on a trip away! She bent over backwards to ensure I had a great stay in Marrakech. She offered great advice, maps and tour information and booked various activities and taxis. As the other guest have said an amazing breakfast (just remember not to over eat so you can enjoy some of the great restaurants! 0

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jezzamupps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just spent four wonderful days at Riad Cherrata, Valerie and her team are so dedicated to making sure you have the best holiday possible and have thought of everything you may need. The Riad is beautifully styled, comfortable, welcoming and you have the most delicious breakfast that negates the need for lunch.

I would highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#113 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#26 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Badi
Riad Badi
#11 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Ambre et Epices
Riad Ambre et Epices
#45 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#9 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Misria
Riad Misria
#126 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Cherrata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cherrata

Property: Riad Cherrata
Address: Arset Elhouta Derb Cherrata 25 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Cherrata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Cherrata is ideally located on the edge of the medina, at 10 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna Square and 8 minutes drive from Golf Amelkis, Golf Royal and Golf Al Maaden... Reachable by car, a car park is available nearby. The sober elegance and a discreet luxury appeal to this little Riad. Everything has been though to make your stay a true pleasant and refined experience : a meticulous decoration, a range of tasty Moroccan Cuisine (on request). You can also savour a traditional mint tea with Moroccan pastries by its refreshing small pool and fountain. THE PATIO This little house privileges intimacy where << Tailor-Made>> is a philosophy. We do wish to answer our guests' desires and make them enjoy the best of our wonderful mythic city of Marrakech. Riad Cherrata is the perfect alliance between the tradition of architecture, noble materials of Morocco and modernity, providing a serene and calm atmosphere. The lounge, the cosy elegant rooms and the three terraces (including one with panoramic view on the Atlas Mountains and Koutoubia Mosque) are such a haven of peace. THE ROOMS Every room is equipped with all modern comfort : Split Air conditioning & heat system, individual safety box, plasma screen TV (on request), and a particular attention was given to the quality of beds. SABRA Junior Suite : Is the largest double room, with a sitting area, located on the first floor (no lift) - Double bed (Baldachin) - Extra bed available - Split air conditioning & heat system - Individual safety box - Bathroom with shower - Hair dryer Decoration combines refinement, comfort and tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Cherrata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cherrata Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing