We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Home away from home - a quiet Oasis in Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Ida Ou Balou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Ida Ou Balou
Ranked #562 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home away from home - a quiet Oasis in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Initially, we were only booked to stay here for 3 nights, but after enjoying the Riad so much we extend our stay. The location is excellent and the rooms are comfortable and clean.

The staff went above and beyond, even taking us on an orientation walk through to the main square via the Souks. No request was too much and the staff were always friendly and attentive. We felt like we were at home.

This place is a must stay for those wanting an authentic taste of Marrakech with a quiet haven to come home to!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    6
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nijeveen, Drenthe, Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Very nicely furnished, small hotel, with extremely helpful owner and staff, french and english speaking. Good breakfast, great dinner (to be ordered in the morning). Very nice location in non-touristic area, with very friendly inhabitants (also for women), great to enjoy the real Marrakshi daily life! Very quiet in the night, though. Main touristic sights are on walking distance, but there's a very good public bus-connection or cheap taxis. There's enough to be seen in Marrakesh and surroundings to stay at least one week!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

We are just back from our holliday and stayed for 10 days in this nice small riad. The service coudn't be better. We ate our breakfast there every day which was OK. The dinner we had for several times was very good. Hafida, was the woman who cooked the delicious traditional dinners in this riad for a low price( €10 to €15 pp). Sophiane was the host of this riad and helped us with all kinds of things like arranging excursions, serving the breakfast and dinner etc. All things we asked were possible. He always tried to help us out. We stayed in the Sahara room with a double bed, TV and shower and airco. The room was big enough and looked very romantic. The room was cleaned every day and if you needed a clean towel you only had to ask. The bathroom wich looked very nice was small but OK.
Before showering you had to turn a red switch to get hot water. The riad has a nice roofterrace with sunbeds but during the day it was too hot to stay there. It has no swimmingpool which was no problem for us. Because of Ramadan it was noisy on the street at night till 4 o'clock in the morning. But this is only during Ramadan. The riad is located in the Medina about 15 minutes walk to the Djema el Fna square. But it took us a week to find the way because you easily get lost. You can always take a taxi for about 20 to 25 Dirhams.

Room Tip: The Sahara room has a TV and a window and a good bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulandCarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemnitz, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Our stay at this little riad was so relaxing. It is situated in a typical moroccan
residential area, but nobody took notice from us. We were like at home there. Jean-Pierre,
the owner of the riad is a very nice and humble and uncomplicated man, very friendly and helpful.It was a feeling like being a guest of a good old friend. When we left our room for going to the city we left the doors widely open and did not care about our laptpos or cellphones or passports-no problem.the rooms and bathrooms were clean, also the towels were fresh and white, wich is not always natural in every guest house. Breakfast was tasty with fresh squeezed orange juice. Wi fi is available for free. The room maid is a diligent and friendly woman and and the house assistant is a very tactful person. I can recommend this riad without any doubt.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elvira544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

The Riad was serene and quiet, rooms were spotless, comfortable beds, Roof garden was a haven of beauty and tranquility and then there was the breakfasts...freshly squeezed orange juice and a selection of morrocan breads and spreads. The owner of the Riad was french and he spoke really good English. He and his colleague made us totally welcoming without being invasive. They gave us tips on how to get to the square, lessons in haggling and even bought us mint for our teapot.! I would definately go back a real hidden gem. 15 minutes away from the square and getting lost was part of the adventure. When you get too tired a cab is always on hand. Perfect!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Othmane
Riad Dar Othmane
#368 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Kennaria
Hotel El Kennaria
#362 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Zouar
Dar Zouar
#470 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Minorisa
Riad Minorisa
#400 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Zemrane
Dar Zemrane
#588 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
riad bianca
riad bianca
#371 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ida Ou Balou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ida Ou Balou

Property: Riad Ida Ou Balou
Address: 127, rue Bab Taghzout | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #562 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Ida Ou Balou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing