We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appearances are deceiving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Ranked #460 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We encountered the same unsanitary conditions as the hotel in Fez - turns out it is part of the same chain. There is no air conditioning in the lobby, dining area or other common areas. There is only minimal air conditioning in your room. It's a good thing the sleeping area is attractive because, unaccustomed to the 45-48c weather, I didn't leave the room unless I was going out to the motorcoach for the tour. The bathtubs were lined with mould, weak water pressure, very little hot water, grey towels again! This time I had a visit from an orange and red cockroach which disappeared under the mirror when I screamed. Staff are unwelcoming. The attractive exterior of the hotel does not make up for the inner lack of consideration for its guests. I would never return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skywalkerjedimaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 835 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

We are a family with 3 children and are very disappointed with everything the hotel offers.

The staff at the reception are unprofessional they will answer phone at the same time you are talking to them. They do not have a log to record complain, no handover or communication between staff. Staff are very slow to respond and to take action about complain.

Air conditioning not working for 3 nights (out of 5), we only managed to change room after reporting it to the director.

Refrigerator not working they had to change 3 refrigerator, the first one is filthy and dirty, the second one is apparently a new one but it did not work at all.

Breakfast is a catastrophe, you have to wake up early to get breakfast. If you are a bit late even with the time of serving breakfast there is no clean table, no plate or spoon not even tea, milk or water. Sometimes you have to wait for as long as (15-30 mins) in the queue for omelette and chapati.

Dinner is a disaster and not hygienic at all, cockroaches crawling everywhere in the restaurant. We had fly in the dessert and we stopped eating there even we already paid for half board. Having reporting it to the management they refused to reimburse us because we have booked through an agent(travel republic).

The shuttle bus was broken and the replacement one has only 8 seated and is not punctual. Once we waited for 1 hr and 15 mins for the shuttle to turn up.

The name and pictures of the hotel on the website are very deceptive: SPA, Jacuzzi and other facilities are not included when booking the hotel even though the pictures are included and the name is ZALAGH KASBAH HOTEL AND 'SPA'. Additional charges for the SPA facilities should have been specified properly.

The hotel use sensor light in the corridor and toilets. You will be walking in a pitch black corridor for 1 min before the light came on or you'll be hunting for your toilet roll before the light turn on.

Make sure you bring enough of your own toiletries, as you'll be provided with only 2 miniature bath gels for a family of 5 to share.

Top tip if you don't want the stinky room aroma bring your air freshener and use your own towels as they are smelly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roshan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Hi!
We arrived back home last night. Stayed at this dreadful hotel for 6 LONG nights!

1. Absolutely NO a/c at the main foyer of the hotel!
2. Waited 2 hours for our rooms!
3. NO fridge in one of the rooms, the fridge that we did have in one room, did not work!
4. A/C in bedrooms was NOT adequate for 45c heat. Did request a fan/transfer but neither was available! Wrote a letter of complaint to the manager (mr Pungi) of the hotel, but he did not bother to reply!
5. Breakfast was terrible! VERY slow service for :food/cups/glasses.
Wasps were in all the sweet condiments.
The tea tasted of rust!
The breakfast hall was in the basement of the hotel, it was hot and horrible.
The uniforms of the staff who were making the eggs and pancakes were absolutely flthy! The ceiling fans were NOT working!
6. The first aid box behind the reception desk was empty!
7. No concept of public safety. Although a public notice outlining the opening/closing times of the outdoor pools was cleary displayed, despite this, childen/adults were using the pool at night. The hotel should have provided a security person to ensure that the pool was empty after the closing times. Without a lifeguard present, this is an accident waiting to happen!
8. The hotel shuttle bus is only big enough for 9 people. it was on a first come first service, but as you can imagine, in the heat, every body claimed to have arrived first! This cenario repeated at the hotel/Jma Fna Square.

On a nice note, we did meet a really helpful member of staff. Mr Said, "thank you"!

We have forwarded our review to PurpleTravel.co.uk

We hope this true account helps you in your choice of choosing the right hotel in Morocco!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a swimming pool view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Deensmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had four nights here as part of a longer trip to Morocco, sadly not an experience to remember. Staff were poorly trained, not motivated and lazy, everything was an effort from checking-in to the room, booking a restaurant, organising a transfer, I could go on....... They seemed reluctant to do anything and certainly wouldn't without asking the man in the room behind reception. Our room was large and clean, though the air conditioning inadequate and it made no difference to the room temperature. Wifi only worked in the reception area and then was very slow. Had dinner there one night, was inedible. Breakfast only slightly better. Pool a good size though impossible to get a sunbed unless you're there with a towel at 7am and also very busy. On top of all that wasn't even cheap! My advice is stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewburyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived at the hotel late at night on the 8th of August and the man at the desk was quite welcoming. Throughout our stay we did not encounter any rudeness or bad customer service. I believe most of us are educated and should treat everyone we meet with some level of respect. You all need to be polite to everyone right from the door man, cleaners, pool man and even the owner of the hotel. A little hello and thank you goes a long way.
Anyway we stayed in room 3018 for a week, yes breakfast can be repetitive and the shuttle bus packed but this shouldn’t spoil your holiday. The trip to the Jemaa el-Fnaa and back to the hotel is only between 50-60 Dirhams but be prepared to haggle and ignore the ‘night rate’ nonsense.
We were on halfboard and so Carrefour supermarket was the occasional lunch destination. Taxi should cost 20 Dirhams if you can’t work in the heat!! You can also bring back some beverages the hotel staff won’t search your bag.
The pool side entertainment was lovely; I took part in the daily aqua gym and other pool side activities. My 4 yr old said ‘This is the best holiday ever’!!

I will be back Mrs Khadijah!!

Advice to Management:
Please enable wi-fi in all rooms
Please give the cleaners hand gloves
Please stop people from over reserving Parasols for the pool area

Room Tip: with the top room, you can get wi-fi connection, especially at night!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zan015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just got back from a week long stay at Zalagh Kasbah hotel and spa.
We arrived at Marrakech on the 31st July and was transferred to the wrong hotel, the other hotel checked us in without even looking at the information for us. We was there for an hour and I was sure it was not write (the name of the hotel was Kasbah hotel and spa) missing one word! (ZALAGH) Thank goodness i realised the hotel was not the right one after spending time looking at the website before hand and had a photographic memory! So just bear in mind you don't go to the wrong one.
The hotel staff were OKAY... the service was not great.
The drinks at the hotel are expensive! Carrefour is only down the road but whens it hot its too hot to walk with bottles and bottles!
The food is not good. You get two choices for starter and 2 for main and 2 for pudding.
There is a buffet area also.
The waiter at lunch and dinner did eventually warm up to us. Reception also were okay but rude to the other two girls on holiday with me.
Tried charging us AGAIN on the holiday tax even though we had already paid. You need to be stubborn with them!!
Would not go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had to wait long to get our room and the receptionist was rather rude declining to correct a misunderstanding at our reservation and charging us undue extra-costs.
The hotel is far from the medina and the shuttle-service is overfilled, so we had to take taxis most of the time. You live in a seclude world at the hotel.
The rooms are standard with no thrills. It makes an awful noise when the furniture is moved around at the floor upstairs.
The dinner-buffet gets very humdrum after a few days.

Room Tip: Rooms at the lowest floor have easy access to the pool - if travelling with children that may be a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus_Aarhus_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#214 of 502 in Marrakech
665 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#450 of 502 in Marrakech
1,094 reviews
4.5 mi away
Imperial Plaza Hotel
Imperial Plaza Hotel
#475 of 502 in Marrakech
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rawabi Marrakech & Spa
Hotel Rawabi Marrakech & Spa
#283 of 502 in Marrakech
372 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#204 of 502 in Marrakech
775 reviews
3.9 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#138 of 502 in Marrakech
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa

Address: Avenue Mohammed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#202 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#229 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $47 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zalagh Kasbah Hotel & Spa is conveniently situated near the Agdal gardens, only 10 minutes from the famous square Jemaa-el-Fna and the international Airport Menara. All 344 rooms, comprising 17 suites and 7 duplex, are spacious with balcony or terrace. Amenities include 2 swimming pools (one reserved for children), the Spa with heated pool, the international Restaurant Agdal, the Moroccan Restaurant "Berbere Cafe", the Snack Le Patio by the pool, the LobbyBar, a Moroccan lounge and for the evenings the cosy KasBar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing