We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$219
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Idra(Marrakech)
$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$398
$386
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$55
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$634
$442
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$416
$373
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$320
$311
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$359
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$456
$439
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (911)
Filter reviews
911 results
Traveler rating
144
273
228
123
143
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
273
228
123
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle buspool viewcarrefour supermarketpancakeslarge hotelbottled waterthe hotel offersminutes walk awaypool staffthe main squareorange juiceatlas mountainscabskasbahberberjams
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 911 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I went to Zalagh Kasbah in March this year for a 5 night break with my daughter. On first impression the hotel is lovely. The room was spacious with a comfortable King size bed and adequate storage. We had a balcony with mountain views, though it was noisy first thing in the morning and last at night.

The free shuttle bus was great, as it took us to the city centre and made trips regularly throughout the day. On a couple of occasions the driver made an extra trip because we could not all fit into the bus at once.

The food was OK. It did get a bit samey but there was a reasonable amount of choice on offer. There was always a choice of salads, hot foods, like meatballs, fish etc. At breakfast time there was eggs, salami, yogurt and pastries. There was a lounge bar too, But one eve we went into there and waited 20 minutes but no staff came to serve us. A couple of women came into the bar with a bottle of wine which they had bought with their meal. When a staff member did arrive he practically accused them of taking the bottle without payment and got the waiter from the restaurant to confirm they had bought it. This is fine, but their attitude was awful and if it had been me I would have felt embarrassed.

The chambermaids were really nice. There was an issue with the door card. It did not open the door on several occasions and we had to go to reception to get it sorted out. The reception staff are quite rude as was the restaurant manager. I found them to be arrogant and dismissive. I got the impression that some of them were not happy about my 'relationship'. I do not think that they had even thought that the young woman I was with is my daughter....it wasn't until we were at the airport that someone finally had the guts to ask - not that it was their business anyway!

The hotel has a policy of not allowing people to buy food to eat on the premises. But we got away with it ok, just buying some small bottles of drink, crisps etc from the shopping mall which is 10 mins walk down the road.

I didn't pay a lot for my holiday and I suppose it was value for money accommodation and food wise, but some of the staff could take some lessons in customer service. It would have made the experience much better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank briteeyes76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is big, but it's not clever. Really in desperate need of a face-lift and the staff didn't look much better. Hardly a smile between them the whole stay - apart from the aptly named Smiley in the lobby bar! We were there for 5 nights and didn't find the bar open once when we got back from dinner, no entertainment at all and room service is very limited. The pool is large but freezing. Rooms were reasonably spacious and clean also the bathrooms, but lots of TLC needed to rbing it up to scratch. Breakfast was fine but again very limited, we only ate in once and it was a disaster - only offered the tiny menu not the a la carte, everything except the chips was cold, didn't even ask for chips they just turned up. Kitchen staff/chef were having a major ding dong which we could all hear, with sparrows flying overhead inside the restaurant, alighting on backs of chairs and dong what birds do naturally. Not what you want to see when eating! Free shuttle bus was brilliant and bang on time, used it every single day. 5 minute walk to good shopping precinct with large Carrefour supermarket so you can put stuff in your fridge, thought there is a large sign saying no food or drink to be brought into the hotel, but why is there a fridge then?! Would not recommend it or stay there again, only booked as was a Groupon offer. Not terrible - but not great.

Room Tip: defo ask for pool side room, the outside is just a 360 degree building site.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCubester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Me and my husband travelled to Marrakech on the 10th May and stayed at the Zalagh Kasbah hotel for 5 nights. When we first arrived we had to wait about 10 mins for the room. We payed 100d extra per night to have a pool view room which was lovely and made our stay much more pleasant. The rooms are spacious and clean. Only fault would be that they don't have double beds we had two beds put together which was uncomfortable. The hotel is beautiful and they provide a free shuttle bus which does drop offs and pick ups to the medina. Theres also a shopping centre up the road about 5/10 min walk which has a super market there too. Also a cinema right next to it. The hotel provides a leaflet of activities they provide. You must try the Camel riding and quad biking so much fun :-). Also a little tip if you don't speak french keep a french dictionary with you. Ask for a safe and a fridge.

Room Tip: Third floor pool view room
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank naz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Your want to be impressed when you arrive, big lobby, nice decor, beautiful pool.
whats the problem? Maintenance! Staff is slow, Ac didn't work, took 4 calls to get someone to come resolve the prob.(though I cant say the AC ever really got cold).
The safe had no batteries, after numerous calls, they brought us a portable safe! yes one you could easily pick up with one hand?!?! The wi-fi barely ever worked unless you stood in specific areas of the hotel. And after ten PM they turn off all the light!! yes lobby and hallways are pitch dark unless you can find the switch which last about 20 seconds! The rooms were large and comfortable. The food was average, however the head waiter never stopped screaming at his staff in front of all the guest. Beware he curses too!

Room Tip: They have a shuttle to take you town. If you cant get it, there are taxis, make sure you haggle as the price started at 100 dirams and ended up being 50.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleL972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

my husband and i stayed at this hotel from the 22nd of april for 3 nights. We were ripped off at the airport for the taxi as it was 10minutes away so i would recommend the hotel to pick you up. We checked in around 8pm, it was fast and not much conversation from the front of desk.

We were helped with our baggage to the room. We had a lovely view of the swimming area. The room was clean however the bath tub was dirty and i felt the floor was dirty as well so i kept shoes on the whole time we were in the room. The bed has to be the most uncomfortable bed i have ever slept in. I am usually a heavy sleeper and fall asleep anywhere instantly. But this bed kept me and my husband up for the three nights we were there!!

Hotel staff don't speak any english,it was hard asking for toilet paper!! The housekeeping make a lot of noise in the mornings as well and it does wake you up, you can even hear footsteps from the corridor. The breakfast was really dissapointing, the restaurant area was really dark and dingey. Breakfast service finishes at 10.30am however the egg counters clear up before 10.20am. The only thing that was nice was the orange juice.

The hotel had a free shuttle service which was excellent. However you have to make sure you are there early as everybody doesn't fit in. Location is good as it isn't far from the main square (jemaa el fna square)
There was a supermarket 10mins walkaway(carrfoure) Which was inside a complex which had a few food places such as dominoes and pizza hut express.

Overall, i think this hotel was once a 4 star hotel and now it is a 3 star. The hotel grounds were lovely however the service and breakfast let it down. We didn't pay much for the hotel, i think if we paid anymore we would have been gutted, but for what we paid it was just about average.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fiza h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews