We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Zalagh Kasbah Hotel & Spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Ranked #302 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Zalagh Kasbah Hotel & Spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day trip which my wife booked via secret escapes (travel agent: Fleetway Travel). As some people do, I researched this hotel and Marrakech in the weeks leading to the trip through TA and other sites & was somewhat concerned over some of the reviews. But we had already booked so had no choice but to hope for the best. To be honest, the hotel was not bad at all. The staff were really friendly and helpful in general. Ask for a pool facing room.
We did however have a free hamman as part of our deal, but the steam room was not very 'steamy' and the balck soap was just some oil with no exfoliating bits, the jacuzzi was cold so I would recommend having a spa experience somewhere else. The Spa staff were not very attentative.
Food is very average, but we ate out most of the time (one night we went to Comptoir Darna Restaurant (avearge food but made u witht he fantastic belly dancing show), and a couple of times we ate at Al Mazaar).
There is free WiFi which only seems to work in the foyer, but there is a complimentary PC in the foyer connected to Internet which you can use at your leisure. Make sure the keyboard is set to Francais as the qwerty set up is different to UK.
Check out is at 12, but you can leave you baggage at the hotel if your transfer is later.
There is a complimentary hotel shuttle to the Medina around 6 times a day and it stops off outside Hotel Tazi, which is the same location for the return shuttle.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandman485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    211
    172
    70
    64
See reviews for
127
243
25
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Spent four nights at the Zalagh Kasbah Hotel as part of a deal which was too good to turn down. The reception area is impressive as is the view through to the pool area. Unfortunately, the rooms that we had didn't match that standard. Yes, they were clean and everything worked, but they are somewhat spartan, even if the twin beds were very comfortable. We were on a half board basis and the food was tasty, even if the presentation and coordination was a little lacking. We found the staff in reception and in the dining areas to be friendly and helpful. Nothing really to complain about, especially considering what we paid for our stay, but I'd say that calling this a 4* hotel is stretching it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myfanwy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have just arrived back from this 4 star hotel, sorry at best lower end of 3 star, room's clean but need a make over, broken toilet, sink, when reporting staff at desk cannotunderstand english and look at you blankly, so you give up. Staff in general were unhelpful and rude, if your unlucky enough to be on half board basis you are in trouble, food absolutely awful, we gave up eating dinner at the hotel after 2 nights, it was tastleless and to compound matters it was luke warm, other people at the hotel with us were getting staff to reheat in the microwave, it was genually horrible food. We made the decission to eat out every night, the new city as great restaurants to eat at, but cost around £60 ahead. I knew it was off season but expected a bit more then a very expensive bar, Buy your wine at the local supermarket ( off license shuts at 8pm) as the charge you 5 times as much for the same wine at the hotel. Pool looked lovely but it was so cold you could only stay in it for 2 minutes max and if you wanted to use the spa facilities it was 60 dirhams for 30 minutes. Marrakech itself is a lovely place to visit and the other couples and people we met while on holiday made the trip, but if possible avoid this hotel at all costs!

Room Tip: If using the hotel have a ground floor facing room, easy access in to your room for cold drinks etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I travelled to Marrakech with my five girlfriends for a pre Christmas break. The Hotel had mixed reviews on Trip Advisor. We found the Hotel reception staff very helpful and accomodating, however the same cannot be said of the Spa staff who were very abrupt and unfriendly. The rooms were very cold, we asked four times before we finally got a heater. The meals are not of high quality and are left to stand to get cold, warmed only with candle heaters. Myself and a friend became ill on holiday with gastroenteritis. I would not hurry back to this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms over the reception are rather noisy. Try and choose a room at the end of the hotel to ensu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieCathcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Zalagh Kasbah from 27th Nov to 4th Dec 2012. For the little we paid we really couldn't complain. The room was a good size with the balcony overlooking the pool. The lobby areas are a good size and the mint tea was lovely. The food available on the half board deal was not great but fine if you are not interested in exploring the area. We ate out most nights and the places I would suggest you try are The Red Sun, 5 minutes walk away, a japanese inspired place, really lovely. Jana, next door to Red Sun, it is traditional Morroccan restaurant designed like a riad, lovely setting and delicious food. The hotel Ceaser next to our hotel is modern, clean and serves tasty traditional meals. We also ate in a small Riad near the Medina called Riad Oman, its difficult to find but does a really good set meal for 180 dirhams, starter, mains and dessert with drinks and mint tea. Go out and do the day trips on offer, Ouzoud Waterfalls were great, even the monkeys stealing our food! Essaiuria is a must do trip, seafood lunch at Fanatic was brilliant and so unexpected. We also did a camel ride including scrfs and afternoon tea at a berber house, great experience all round!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jomakepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This Hotel exceeded our expectations from some of the other reviews I have read about it on here. We booked a 4 night Half board experience at the Zalagh Kasbah Hotel & Spa 4* in November. The hotel staff were so helpful they could not do enough, they have a great shop their which has great gifts from Kaftans, to leather shoes and they have a wonderful man who handcrafts beautiful silver and brass items, who will also personalise them for you.
The hotel offers a bus from the hotel to La Medina and it runs at set times and will pick you back up when you want to return. The hotel can taylor trips to suit if you wish to explore Marrakech further, otherwise just relax and enjoy the beautiful pool side settings. The helpful friendly staff in this hotel make the stay worth while as they can not do enough to help. Perfect place to stay for families, couples and single travellers as there are alwasy people around to talk which was nice.
The Spa is relaxing and offers a wide range of treatments. The Food is good and there is a wide variety of things that kids and adults will enjoy. The decor and setting of the hotel is beautiful and I would return to this hotel for a luxurious relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Fleetway might have warned us that the hotel would be freezing cold with no heating and that the food was not only cold it was disgraceful. The staff in the foyer wore coats all the time.
I have been a chef over 20 years and have never seen such disgusting food - in containers with 2 candles underneath to keep it "warm". Bland ,stale and very poor - everyone was complaining. The outside cafe did not open until the Thursday we were there.
Eating food in your coat because it was so cold in not very enjoyable nor is not very nice to eat with birds flying around in the "restaurant".
Had to spend our evenings in our room as the hotel was freezing.
Certainly will not recommend Fleetway to anyone as travel agents.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patnancy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Rawabi Marrakech
Golden Tulip Rawabi Marrakech
#287 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#165 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#204 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#136 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ryad Mogador Agdal
Ryad Mogador Agdal
#281 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
3.9 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#156 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa

Property: Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Address: Avenue Mohammed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#207 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#226 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zalagh Kasbah Hotel & Spa is conveniently situated near the Agdal gardens, only 10 minutes from the famous square Jemaa-el-Fna and the international Airport Menara. All 344 rooms, comprising 17 suites and 7 duplex, are spacious with balcony or terrace. Amenities include 2 swimming pools (one reserved for children), the Spa with heated pool, the international Restaurant Agdal, the Moroccan Restaurant "Berbere Cafe", the Snack Le Patio by the pool, the LobbyBar, a Moroccan lounge and for the evenings the cosy KasBar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing