We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No spa yet but otherwise wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Ranked #455 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed November 25, 2011

At this point in time, the name Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa is misleading as the hotel seems to have been opened before being completed and there is NO SPA or any related services. If you take out the '...and spa' part of the name and base this review on the hotel, it is exceptional. Definitely the most upscale of the hotels included on our tour of Morocco. You are wowed from the moment you enter the lobby with its airy open spaces and beautiful decor. We instantly breathed a sigh of relief that we did not have to stay in another Ibis style hotel. Our rooms were spacious with beautiful decor, a generous bathroom and a balcony overlooking the pool area complete with a small table and two chairs. The front desk staff are typically reserved - after several night's stay in different Moroccan hotels, I'm led to believe that they are trained to never smile and to work efficiently without a lot of interpersonal communication. They get their job done and that's it. As in most Moroccan hotels, you get one key card. This was a big problem as my roommate decided to spend hours shopping in the souk while I went back to the hotel to relax. Guess who had the key card? When I inquired about an additional key card, I was briskly told that due to several tourist families who obtained multiple key cards for each member and then pocketed them as they headed home, the hotel did not have any additional key cards. Quite the lecture for a simple inquiry. However, an atypically smiling bellboy escorted me to my room with a master key card. This seemed a simple solution until he opened my door and the room was pitch black. I asked how I was going to turn on the lights without a card and he held up a finger and trotted down the hall and returned a few moments later with a folded piece of cardstock which he slipped into the card slot on the wall. Voila! There was light. I learned something new - you don't need a key card to activate the lights. I thought that was a terrific solution until I realized I was stuck in my room until my roommate returned. Thankfully, it wasn't a bad place to be stuck. I sat on my balcony, watched the activity at the pool and read a book. Lovely! Of all the hotels we stayed at, this one had the most exceptional food offerings. We were thankful that it was toward the end of our trip because had it been at the beginning, we would've been even more disappointed with the other hotel restaurants. They had a huge selection of fresh salads and main dishes and lovely breads and desserts. Breakfast had fresh grilled msammen (flat bread) with thick delicious honey. And some poor kitchen worker must've stayed up all night picking apart pomegranates to create the huge bowl full of fruit that we greedily dished out in the morning. Clementines, fresh tomatoes and cucumbers. All wonderful. After an evening out, a group of us relaxed in the bar with a delicious house red and Flag beers. Internet access was quick and easily accessed anywhere in the lobby and bar area though there is a special area with filmy curtains and a view of the pool with comfortable couches and chairs to sit as well. The gift shop was the best we've seen on this trip and actually had prices fairly competitive with what you manage to bargain down to in the souk. There is also a gentleman there who makes lovely pendants that he will personalize for you at a very reasonable price. The hotel is a bit on the outskirts of Morocco with an incredibly beautiful view of the snow-capped High Atlas Mountains. Getting into town is easy. The hotel has a shuttle but it does not run often and holds only 9 people. When we wanted to go to town at 5pm we were told a shuttle had already left at 4:30 and the next would not leave until 7pm. Bummer. And the following day, our tour bus dropped us in town and directed us to where the shuttle would pick up at 4pm and 5pm only. At 4pm, there were 25 people waiting for the shuttle!!! They took the first load and promised to return in 14 minutes for another load but that was it meaning there were several people who would need to take a taxi back. If you don't want to be restricted to the shuttle, walk 10 minutes toward town to the Carrefour shopping mall where there is a huge taxi stand. Beware - the taxi drivers all stand in a bunch and include the legal and the not so legal drivers. If you are directed toward a vehicle without a taxi sign - DO NOT ENTER. Petit taxis which hold 2-3 people have meters - make sure they use them or negotiate a fee prior to getting in. Grand taxis have no meters and hold as many people as the driver is allowed to take. Some may only take three. Others will cram entire families including aunts, uncles, grandparents and the occasional chicken in. We got five people into ours for 25 (about 63 cents each USD) Dirham for a trip to Jemaa El Fna. The return trip was double that due to the hour and we asked to be taken all the way to the hotel. Prices increase in the evenings but it still amounted to about $1.20 each which is rather amazing. Most of the drivers do not speak English so bone up on enough French or Arabic to negotiate your taxi fee. Take a business card from the hotel to show the driver and tell him it's near the BIG Carrefour or you will end up on the opposite side of town near the little Carrefour as some of our friends did. When the spa finally opens, this will be more than an exceptional hotel for your trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jewelsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (818)
There are newer reviews for Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 818 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

I have just returned from six days at the Zalagh Kasbah and it was exactly as I had envisaged when I booked.
Beautiful pool area that always had plenty of loungers available and a snack bar which I used at lunchtime , which served club sandwiches, spaghetti etc.
The rooms are spacious and the beds super comfortable. The bedding was changed daily and was always pristine, so I don't understand the reviews that said otherwise. Hairdryer available in bathroom and stocked with soaps and shower gels. Laundry service available but I didnt use it.
Breakfast consisted of a buffet including fruits, salads, meats and cheeses. Plenty of different types of croissant and breads. There was also a lady frying the local pancakes in the corner which were delicious drizzled with honey.
The hotel provides a shuttle service into the old city several times a day but I also walked in myself several times and it took about 45 minutes to walk to the main square. There is a shopping mall and cinema nearby ( 10 minute walk towards the city) where I also ate. I can recommend the 'Virgin Cafe' and 'Little Italy' restaurants there but they also have a TGI Fridays and various others.
The nearest ATM is outside the cinema mentioned above, but there are lots of others near the main square.
The staff were always friendly, especially the lovely man in charge at breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing pool area
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Concatenation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Lovely reception.....but don't get too excited!
There is NO Spa or Gym but the pool is great if you want to lane swim. It is very cold though because it is deep throughout so not ideal for kids eventhough there is a small shallow children's pool. There are Gyms in nearby hotels but you have to pay.
Internet is hang-yourself-slow and there is only one machine and not in qwerty.
Food is very average (mostly buffet which rarely varies). You can ask the chef to do omelettes if you are bored of the buffet. You can chose to take lunch or dinner at the hotel which is great - you MUST eat out in town as it is more authentic. Breakfasts fine at hotel and recommend the waffle/crepe-type msammen with honey.
Staff may seem a little off-hand (especially the 'managers') but they do 'warm-up' especially if you greet them in their own language! DO learn some basic arabic (hello, thankyou, no thank you...useful in the Souks! - good morning/evening etc) it really endears you to the natives.
Very useful free shuttle into town.
Rooms are tired but adequate. Insist on a pool view. Rooms have a fridge (but not for ice). You can get 'supplies' from a very large Carrefour supermarket in the shopping centre about 10 mins walk up the road (on the road heading TOWARDS the medina). Other shopping to be had there too.
All in all, we were not too disappointed with this hotel because we paid very little. I would have been upset if I had paid anything other than a bargain price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We spent two relaxing nights here. It is located in a nice quiet area outside the city with a large mall nearby where you can buy necessary items like water at reasonable prices. It's expensive at the hotel. The spacious public areas are brightly decorated in Moroccan style with lots of comfortable furniture. The corriders though are rather dark with their system of motion activated lights. our room was large with a spacious balcony that afforded us a fantastic view of the whole pool area. It was a beautiful view both day and night. The staff are friendly and helpful. We spent a wonderful afternoon, following a tiring tour of the city, relaxing poolside. The pool attendant was very attentive to us and provided us with what we needed. We sipped Flag Special beer and wine from the hotel bar. Expensive but enjoyable. While our room was well furnished with comfortable bed and pillows, we were not satisfied with the cleaning staff. The bedspread had dirt and blood stains. There was a lot of dust and hair in both the room and bathroom. There was only one drinking glass in the room. There were two of us. The A/C wasn't cool enough. That been said we really enjoyed the decor, ambience, and service.

Room Tip: Front room for pool view (our favourite). Back room for mountain view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newfcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed for a week and we enjoyed a lot our hollidays, everything is great, the services, the all hotel(big swiming pool, great lobby, and good rooms), restaurante is very good, they have a mini- bus to centre of city too and finally 99% of employers are wonderfull, always availeble to our needs and wonderfull people.... if i go there again i will stay there for sure... only thing that was not so good was the spa, not working yet...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed for one night, - a flying visit, following a late night flight to Marrakech. We didn't arrive until gone midnight, but still received a warm welcome from the very helpful receptionist, who had anticipated our arrival and had all the paperwork ready, so we were into our room in minutes. He even switched the TV so we could catch some of the US Open tennis. The room itself was large enough to accommodate us as a family of four, without feeling squashed. The room was pretty well specified, but was let down a little as some of the paint finishes looked as thought they had been done in a real rush. That said, the overall quality more than matched the rate charged.

Room Tip: Opt for a room facing the pool as the area outside the hotel is rather uninspiring (for Marrakech)
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chicaw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

we enjoyed a idealic week in the wonderful zalagh kasbah on a hallf board basis,breakfast with the choice of dinner or evening meal depending on your plans of the day,super flexibility,breakfast was varied and of good quality and we found dinner and evening meal to be top quality and well presented,steak.and fish dishes etc all delicious.our room on the 2nd floor overlooked the spectacular pool was spacious with twin beds,air con,tv, fridge,black out curtains,bathroom with super shower and comp toiletries,linen changed daily and room spotlessly clean.marrakech el fna square is 10 minutes drive away using the complimentary mini bus which we found to be 100% reliable both to and from the from the hotel.staff and service are faultless,and on more than one occassion members of staff went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one,from reception to pool attendant,waiters,driver,maid we thank you all.we look forward to our next visit to marrakech and the zalagh kasbah hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hotels75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#213 of 502 in Marrakech
647 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#445 of 502 in Marrakech
1,088 reviews
4.5 mi away
Imperial Plaza Hotel
Imperial Plaza Hotel
#473 of 502 in Marrakech
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#200 of 502 in Marrakech
767 reviews
3.9 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#142 of 502 in Marrakech
1,029 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#448 of 502 in Marrakech
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa

Address: Avenue Mohammed VI | Zone Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#202 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#228 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $46 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zalagh Kasbah Hotel & Spa is conveniently situated near the Agdal gardens, only 10 minutes from the famous square Jemaa-el-Fna and the international Airport Menara. All 344 rooms, comprising 17 suites and 7 duplex, are spacious with balcony or terrace. Amenities include 2 swimming pools (one reserved for children), the Spa with heated pool, the international Restaurant Agdal, the Moroccan Restaurant "Berbere Cafe", the Snack Le Patio by the pool, the LobbyBar, a Moroccan lounge and for the evenings the cosy KasBar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing