We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“excellent first Morrocan experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Smara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Smara
Ranked #24 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent first Morrocan experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Breakfast is pretty common; dinner is very good - traditional tajine; rooms (we have visited 4 out of 6 because we had a small problem with the reservation) are very nice traditional decorated; but the "cherry on top" is Ibrahim - the manager of the riad, if you have the time and curiosity to "discover" him you will get a lot of usefull information.
Very nice quiet place with a nice terrace and a small pool, ideal place to regain your peace after a few hours in the souks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad_B_RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    28
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
61
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our morocco adventure. A little hard to find but so worth it when you do. Beautiful room with air con and the bathroom was amazing! Enormous bath. Pool was perfect for a dip before and after the hustle bustle of marrakech. We had breakfast and lunch here and the tagine was by far the best we have tried so far. Run by a lovely and very helpful french couple who were very patient with our limited french.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Beautiful quiet hotel - riad in oriental style, in the center of the old city, with little pool and gorgeous terrace. Very nice bed&breakfast , with good service and great design. The owner is very polite guy who will suggest you places to see and restourants to eat out. They also offer hamam (banya) but it s quite small and doesn't worth it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 night in april2013, very relaxing with a small little splash pool to cool off after the madness that is marrakesh. The brekfast was good and though we didnt eat there the food looked good. Nice rooms and a nice bathroom. I would recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob1974_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Riad Smara was a super find. It is hidden away just far enough from the centre of the choas. A five minute walk to the centre of the medina along interesting and narrow streets. A very beautiful and elegant place, the perfect hiding place. The rooms are simple and comfortable and the pool and roof terrace everything you could ask for. The staff were great and so helpful and welcoming. I travelled here alone and loved every minute of my stay. This place comes highly reccomended!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are lovely and more quiet than the ones on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Riad Smara, a beautiful, peaceful place to be in Marrakesh, only 10mn from djemma el fna walking distance, Brahim and the rest of the Riad Staff, were very professional, excellent service, and the best breakfast and dinner we had in Marrakesh, the breakfast vary everyday, one day we had crepes, another day we had Moroccan pancakes, bread, fruits, coffee, and dont forget to try the tea of mint, excellent.
We use 2 rooms, the pacha and andalous, very nice, clean, and big bathrooms. We had a wonderful stay.
We really enjoy the Riad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pandi1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

It's a beautiful Riad and we were very satisfied on every aspect. The staff was great. Very helpful manager who is going out of his way to do anything for you. The location is good as far as walking distances to all the highlights. We even walked to the new city easily. Never a taxi needed what for us was a great plus. Guarded parking is close by. The manager even brought us there
It wasn't exactly the best (but probably more authentic than the "nicer" areas) neighborhood of the Medina. So our first impression of the Medina was bad (also we arrived at night). We never felt unsafe, but uncomfortable. When we started exploring later in the week we got more used to it and became more at ease loosing most of our reservations.

Room Tip: The manager showed us most of the rooms and they are all perfect. Very well done and comfortable. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#191 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#143 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Villa El Arsa
Riad Villa El Arsa
#2 of 266 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Berenssi
Riad Berenssi
#582 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Pachavana
Riad Pachavana
#4 of 266 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad El Kenz
Riad El Kenz
#49 of 266 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Smara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Smara

Property: Riad Smara
Address: 2,derb Ferrane Arset Houta, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Smara 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Smara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing