We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem An oasis of calm”
Review of Riad Smara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Smara
Ranked #17 of 312 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Riad Smara was a super find. It is hidden away just far enough from the centre of the choas. A five minute walk to the centre of the medina along interesting and narrow streets. A very beautiful and elegant place, the perfect hiding place. The rooms are simple and comfortable and the pool and roof terrace everything you could ask for. The staff were great and so helpful and welcoming. I travelled here alone and loved every minute of my stay. This place comes highly reccomended!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are lovely and more quiet than the ones on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 170 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Riad Smara, a beautiful, peaceful place to be in Marrakesh, only 10mn from djemma el fna walking distance, Brahim and the rest of the Riad Staff, were very professional, excellent service, and the best breakfast and dinner we had in Marrakesh, the breakfast vary everyday, one day we had crepes, another day we had Moroccan pancakes, bread, fruits, coffee, and dont forget to try the tea of mint, excellent.
We use 2 rooms, the pacha and andalous, very nice, clean, and big bathrooms. We had a wonderful stay.
We really enjoy the Riad.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandi1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It's a beautiful Riad and we were very satisfied on every aspect. The staff was great. Very helpful manager who is going out of his way to do anything for you. The location is good as far as walking distances to all the highlights. We even walked to the new city easily. Never a taxi needed what for us was a great plus. Guarded parking is close by. The manager even brought us there
It wasn't exactly the best (but probably more authentic than the "nicer" areas) neighborhood of the Medina. So our first impression of the Medina was bad (also we arrived at night). We never felt unsafe, but uncomfortable. When we started exploring later in the week we got more used to it and became more at ease loosing most of our reservations.

Room Tip: The manager showed us most of the rooms and they are all perfect. Very well done and comfortable. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed at this riad last week and it was great start to my holiday. The place is in a central location in the medina (but you will need good instructions as it is not easy to find). The manager Brahim was very friendly and really helped us to negotiate for taxi fares and even took us to a local restaurant for dinner.
Will definitely recommend this riad to others.
Florence.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florence_london2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Breakfast was delicious. The morning of an early excursion to the Sahara the owner was kind enough to have it served for us two hours earlier than usual!
The sun deck is lovely and the decor is beautiful.
A bit hard to find (like all riads in the medina) so pay close attention to the map on the riad's website before leaving (we didn't but a local boy who lives next door showed us the way).
The only downside was that the bath water ran very very slowly so we had to take showers instead.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mearymam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Du fait de notre expérience évoquée plus haut, nous ne reprendrions pas la chambre Majorelle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Krzycwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Villa El Arsa
Riad Villa El Arsa
#5 of 312 in Marrakech
303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Utopia Suites & Spa
Riad Utopia Suites & Spa
#1 of 312 in Marrakech
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
1 mi away
Riad Pachavana
Riad Pachavana
#4 of 312 in Marrakech
422 reviews
5.4 mi away
Manzil la Tortue
Manzil la Tortue
#2 of 312 in Marrakech
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Smara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Smara

Address: 2,derb Ferrane Arset Houta, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 312 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range: $51 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Smara 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Smara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing