We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Charlott'

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Charlott'
Ranked #181 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good but not amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Not having the best start at this Riad didn't really help! Very difficult to find this place; would highly recommend the organised airport transfer (though a bit of a rip off), as it really is not worth the stress of trying to find the place yourself! We weren't given the best welcome by the man who let us in, but thankfully this was improved upon by Therry, who spoke some decent English. The roof top terrace is certain one of the major pluses of this Riad, it was beautiful, with amazing views of the Atlas mountains. The breakfast was pretty disappointing, just lots of diffident starchy bread products with different types of jams; some eggs would have been nice! So...wouldn't highly recommend this place, but also wouldn't recommend against it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandBethWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    32
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
205
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had four great days at this stunning Riad. Perfect in every way - fantastic service, excellent food, tastefully decorated and confortable rooms, a rooftop terrace with great views, and, above all, a wonderful laid-back atmosphere into which one can relax and unwind after the noise and crowds of the medina.
One feature that we especially appreciated was the roaring fire Ahmed prepared in our room each evening - in late November it gets quite cool in the evenings.
Be sure to arrange an airport pick-up since the Riad is difficult to find in the labarynth of alleys and passages that make up the medina. However, once there, you will be guided to the central square and, with their helpful sketchmap, will have no difficulty getting back. In fact, getting a little lost can be part of the fun of exploring the medina.
The high ratings given by others are highly deserved!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingjrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Riad Charlott' is an absolute gem and a relaxing, tranquil environment to come back to after time in the busy markets and Jemaa El Fna. When we first arrived and went down the winding passageways, we weren't sure we'd ever find our way back to the hotel but, armed with the invaluable hand-drawn map Ahmed had given us, we found it far easier than expected and could find our way easily after one trip to the main square (around a 15 minute walk away, through the wonderful Place des Epices and market stalls).

Our room, the Mathieu suite, was beautifully decorated and had traditional Moroccan features with a modern twist, including a lovely lounge area. Within the riad, there is also a roof terrace, which was perfect for a drink in the sun, and downstairs there is a comfortbale sofa area for when the weather was a little wetter.

The staff at the Riad were absolutely fantastic. They were so helpful in organising our transfer from the airport, and even sorted out getting our clothes cleaned after we got soaked during a dune buggying trip. Ahmad was particularly great - always around to give us directions and keep us topped up with mint tea! Breakfast was also great - Moroccan pancakes and different breads with an assortment of preserves and fresh orange juice and coffee/tea and all served by two friendly, smiley ladies.

While we were staying, we chose to have the hammam and massage package that the riad offers. This is a little more expensive than going to one outside of the hotel but well worth it for the convenience and wonderful service. The gommage was amazing and took place in a small hot room (hammam) next door to our bedroom. The massage was very relaxing although they should invest in a new table as the current one is a little creaky!

We would thoroughly recommend the Riad Charlott' and hope to go back one day.

Room Tip: The Matthieu suite is beautiful but all of the rooms we saw looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharChar20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hoathly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Fabulous place in the centre of the medina, but it was so tranquil in the riad, particularly on the terrace - a perfect place for a book and a duty free purchased baccardi(you can't buy it there!) and coke.How can it be so quiet when the city is all noise and bustle? The new owner seems to be continuing the ethos of his predecessor and the staff are lovely. Fish tagine on day of arrival was the best meal we had, although the experience of the night market is not to be missed. We had four nights and still had things left to see. Collection from the airport worked very well and the map provided ensured we were always able to find our way back without any problem. They also booked a "grand taxi" for us as we left to stay in Essaouira on the coast - nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

As someone who works in the travel industry I know exactly what I want from a holiday and this Riad ticked every single box! Fantastic location, beautifully decorated and excellent value for money! This Riad retains all of the traditional Morrocon features yet is brought tastefully up to date with all the modern features. The staff were wonderful and catered for every need. The Riad now under new management but in safe hands having had a conversation with the new manager he seemed keen to retain the Riad as it is. Breakfast was delicious with a choice of wonderful breads and jams. The map provided by the Riad was perfect too. The rooftop terrace was spectacular with 360 degrees views as far as the Atlas mountains! Our Riad manager also arranged our tour to the Mountains too with an English speaking driver so that was convenient. I stayed here 4 nights which was perfect.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Suite Mattheiu which was simply stunning with it's high celing and dark wood dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We arrived in Marrakech in the early evening and were met at the airport and whisked into the craziness of the medina where we were met by Jean-Pierre. We thought we would never find our way around as Jean-Pierre led us through a maze of streets and alleyways, however, that evening we were given a map and instructions of how to get to the main square and we never had a problem, not even needing the map after the first day. We tried losing ourselves in the souks but always ended up somewhere we recognised, and never had to ask for directions once. People will try to show you but just say a polite 'no' and usually they will leave you alone.
The riad itself is absolutely stunning, and a haven of peace and tranquility. We spent every afternoon of our 4 day trip to Marrakech lazing on the roof terrace and having a refreshing dip in the pool, the silence only being interrupted by the calls to prayer from the surrounding mosques. We stayed in the Pierre suite which was beautifully decorated, and had all the facilities we needed and an amazing chandelier.
The food was delicious. We had dinner in the riad on the first night, and then breakfast every day after with freshly squeezed orange juice, yoghurt and pancakes and bread rolls. We also took Jean-Pierre's recommendation on Moroccan wine and enjoyed a couple of bottles during our stay!
During our stay we were the only guests in the riad which was wonderful for us as we had the pick of the bedrooms, and the staff all to ourselves and the whole riad all to ourselves at night when the staff had gone home, it was like coming home to our own palace in the evenings! I just can't understand why Riad Charlott is not full all of the time! It should be!
Jean-Pierre was a wonderful host- helpful, friendly and full of good tips of what to see and what not to see to make the most of your time in Marrakech. We loved our time in Marrakech and at Riad Charlott and would go back tomorrow if we could!
P.S book the hammam, it's fab!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grandlapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Riad Charlott is a beautiful property hidden away in the Medina. It was so relaxing compared to the craziness outside. It would have been very tricky to find had we been on our own, but we had arranged an airport transfer and after our taxi went as far as it could go within the winding, narrow streets, our driver took us past all the donkeys and mopeds and right to the front door. I highly recommend that you do this! It's a little overwhelming when you first arrive. We were greeted by Pierre and the property staff with mint tea and biscuits on arrival and given a helpful map of the area.

On our first evening we had dinner at the Riad and we were cooked a delicious tagine. Breakfast was included the next morning and consisted of breads, pastries and jams with more mint tea and orange juice. Pierre, Ahmed and all the other staff were so helpful during our stay. We were even accompaned to Jeema el Fna one evening to make sure we found it ok. Much appreciated!

My favourite feature of the Riad was the gorgeous roof terrace, ideal for sunbathing. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cfrancis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#86 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Zelda
Dar Zelda
#254 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Reve d'Or
Riad Reve d'Or
#227 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#102 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#50 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Eliane
Riad Dar Eliane
#320 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Charlott'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charlott'

Property: Riad Charlott'
Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed Bennacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#97 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#165 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A riad magnificent allying Moresque architecture and contemporary decoration, 5 vast rooms in the sophisticated decoration, one of the most beautiful brings down of the medina of Marrakesh offering a wonderfull view on the city and the Atlas. Swimming pool-Jacuzzi, hammam and massage room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Charlott' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Charlott` Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing