We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Adventure in the heart of colorful Marrakesh” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Palais des Princesses

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Palais des Princesses
Ranked #162 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Adventure in the heart of colorful Marrakesh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile


Felt like being one of the scenes of 'Tales of 1001 nights'.
we really liked this place! beautiful enterieur, colorful and stylish! it was great to be there!
True, that it is difficult to find it first time, so my advice:
1. transfer from the airport is highly recommended!
2. When you leave the hotel first time, use the same door that you entered before!
3. And better to ask the crew which door can be opened with the key you got from them :)
Because this beautiful riad has 3 entrance! believe me, I am good in navigation and can use maps. but there was useless and me too and we lost always! Therefore did freestyling :)
After knowing these 3 entrances, especially one of them from a different road, it was easy to find.
Breakfast is French influenced.
Lovely place, looking fwd to return ASAP! :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miklos_Ildiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    105
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
66
163
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

The riad is very nice and well furnished in naturally a Moroccan theme, very close to the Djemaa-el-Fna place, however, it is very difficult to find in the labyrinth of the Medina without a guide, sure you can ask the way to the locals, but they would steadily beg for money to help you. You can book the riad shuttle to and from the airport, however, it is really overpriced (15 € each way for 3 kilometers!) and stops five minutes walk from the riad so as a result we had to pull our luggage on the cobblestones for a few hundreds of meters,
The local souks and large market square were bustling and interesting, but we didn't feel comfortable travelling the dark and narrow lane leading back to the riad, particularly when everytime you leave and come back to the riad you are being harassed by the carpet sellers trying to sell you their stuff just next to the riad, and you can't avoid them since they are on the way to the riad.
Our room was on the first floor, overlooking the lovely central patio and its fountain, the problem is that we could hear all the people hanging out and talking downstairs, making the riad noisy. The room was nice but small, it was almost impossible to open the suit case, and our bathroom was separated from the bedroom, so we had to get dressed just to go to the toilets or have a shower. It is also a pity that the staff at the breakfast room barely replied in the morning when we said "good morning"...
There is a swimming pool but don't expect to swim in a quiet area as it is located right in the middle of the guest rooms and it is small and smells chlorine very strongly.
Fitness equipment was out of order and Wi-Fi very inconsistent.
Lastly, when checking-out, I pointed out that they had billed 5 nights out of the 6 of our stay, the receptionist replied that there was no mistake, it's okay and we didn't insist despite our honesty, the problem is that one week after coming back from Morocco we received an e-mail from the riad saying that we didn't pay enough (yes, can you believe that, they didn't make a mistake themselves, we just didn't pay enough instead!!) and one night was missing, so as result they would charge us an additional night from our credit card...what a nerve!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have just arrived back after a brilliant 4 nights at the Riad Palais des Princesses, and cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff are all extremely knowledgeable, welcoming and polite, and are available for assistance at anytime, night or day. Their recommendations of places to eat and places to visit were always brilliant and really helped make a wonderful week.

I would certainly suggest arranging the airport shuttle service they offer on arrival into Marrakech, as if you haven't been before (like us) you would get lost in seconds down the myriad of alleyways going in every direction, especially in the dark!

Once you have arrived you are straight away taken aback by the Riad, it's beautiful open-air courtyard (and a very friendly kitten!) as well as the large central fountain. The room itself was just perfect. Rose petals were laid out everywhere for our arrival and the interior was immaculate - complete with large chandeliers and romantic lighting - and absolutely perfect for a couple on holiday.

After some advice from the staff we booked trips to both The Palmery (for camel riding) and the Atlas Mountains, and both are well worth doing. The trips are superbly well organised and very cheap (300dh/£20 each for a return trip inc the camel riding, and 350dh/£25 each for a 8 hour stunning trip to the mountains) which are absolutely worth a visit. Climbing up to the waterfall really is a once in a lifetime experience.

There is also an on-site Hammam at the Riad which offers a full body massage, exfoliation and cleanse for around 350dh/£25 for half an hour, and I would do it again in a heartbeat. Well worth the money and you feel completely relieved of all stress and tension you may have arrived with, especially after a day trekking the mountains!

The buffet breakfast offered each morning was also excellent, offering cereal, croissants/danishes, scrambled eggs/sausages, bread/jam, watermelon and tea, coffee and fresh orange juice. A good range and all very fresh and tasty.

Location-wise, the Riad is also no more than 2 minute walk to the main Jemaa el Fna square (once you are familiar with navigating the alleyways) so whilst it is perfectly quiet and peaceful at the Riad, you are so close to the centre of the Medina.

Seeing Marrakech for the first time can be somewhat intimidating (the pure hustle and bustle of the souks and constant harrassment of tourists by locals in the market), but this was in complete contrast to the incredibly warm welcome you receive at the Riad, and the general tips and advice on how to get by.

I would highly recommend Riad Palais des Princesses to anyone who is looking to have a holiday/getaway in Marrakech, especially for couples, but it would be ideal for families too.

Thanks to Wafaa, Rachid and everyone else for a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richardcufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

The reception and all services in this Riad are top!! Bravo to the management. The location is great , very close to the main plaza. The service and the rooms are impeccable.The people working are making sure that your stay in the hotel and in the city will be unforgettable. Yes we recommand and yes we will be back.We are thanking them for their efforts.

Room Tip: Yasmina was a good room. Clean and quite.Don't miss the breakfast. Very good service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didier d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. It is truly a lovely and beautiful Riad. I love that the Riad puts fresh red roses into their fountain and in the rooms everyday. We stayed in the Neval room (or something like it), the bed mattress was a bit uncomfortable (our backs were sore in the mornings) and very very squeaky!! Thank goodness I was with my sister....cause this bed would not work for romantic couples:). The location is GREAT! 5min walk to the famous square...and it is totally safe to walk to and from the square late at night. The only thing where I think the Riad was lacking a bit is the breakfast. Service during breakfast was not too great....asking for cutlery, to fill up the orange juice and empty pots etc... omelets and bacon would be a great addition.. for 6 Euro pp I could have eaten a better breakfast at a café near the square.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Micha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here with a group of girls in June. The location of the hotel is between the palaces and the the square so very handy for sightseeing.Very easy to navigate; you cannot get lost and this can be an issue in Media. The interior of the hotel is very nice; rooms are nicely appointed and cleaned every day. Breakfast had a nice variety of choices both western and Moroccan. We had plenty of lovely Moroccan tea in the riad and we all agreed it was the best we had (and we had plenty in different places). The only disappointment was the hamman. While we all enjoyed the treatment we felt that the price was way to high for what was offered. I would recommend the hamman treatment for the experience but if you already know it that it is nothing special. We also booked airport pick up and two trips via Riad and we couldn't bee happier. Our driver Rashid was great; very patient and flexible following all our request.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed recently at this Riad for the first time my 5th visit in Marrakech, was not too impressed with 1st room but Manager changed with no problem the next day, beds a little firm, bedding/comfortable/clean and a peaceful end to a mad day, so much appreciated the quiet at night time. Location was good 5 mins to the main square. Breakfast good although an omelette would have been welcomed (dont like warm scrambled egg). Most importantl was as a solo disabled traveller the help and support I received from Abdel and his team was excellent and so much appreciated. Would definately stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#54 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#100 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#36 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#53 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#58 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Hasna Espi
Riad Hasna Espi
#335 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Palais des Princesses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Palais des Princesses

Property: Riad Palais des Princesses
Address: 41 Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#90 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#120 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#128 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Palais des Princesses 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais Des Princesses is located in the heart of Marrakech's medina, a 2-minute walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna Square. It features an indoor swimming pool, Spa & Wellness Centre, where there is a hammam, hot tub and massages available upon request. The guest rooms are located around a central courtyard with flowers and trees. The bright, spacious rooms have air conditioning, a private bathroom and free Wi-Fi internet access. Some rooms have a 4-poster bed. Riad Palais Des Princesses provides a daily buffet breakfast that is served on the terrace. The hotel restaurant serves traditional Moroccan cuisine. Set within the Riad Zitoune El Keddim district, the residence has easy access to the city's many sites. Public parking is available nearby for guests arriving by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Palais des Princesses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Et Palais Des Princesses Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing