We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A little bit of heaven and a fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Palais des Princesses

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Palais des Princesses
Ranked #148 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven and a fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Riad was was really beautiful, like something out of a book from the romantic poets. Nothing was too much trouble for the management and staff there.
The rooms were fantastic, the location perfect, the sun terrace peaceful and comfortable.
All in all it felt like authentic Marrakech. I would most certainly recommend this as the place to stay, whilst the big hotels looked fantastic, this was for me the essence of Morocco.

Room Tip: Each room was unique but the balcony rooms were really beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie_42-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    92
    34
    10
    5
See reviews for
62
140
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

As a female single traveller arriving in Marrakech for my first visit, i was anxious to make sure I could be collected from Marrakech airport and taken to this Riad. I emailed the manager my flight details and received a prompt reply that my airport pick up was booked
I arrived at 7.30 pm at Marrakech airport to find no one waiting for me and when I called the Riad only a recorded message greeted me.
Being a braveish sort I found a taxi to take me to the medina but of course the driver then couldn't walk me to the door as it is in the traffic free area so I had to rely on a street porter to show me the way.
Finally arriving at the Riad the manager told me my pick up had been sent at lunchtime as he had misread my email. I was not offered the famous mint tea or made to feel particularly welcome.
That said, it's a beautiful restored mansion house with fabulous decor right in the heart of the action. Just make sure you're prepared to find it yourself!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I booked a trip to Marrakech for my boyfriends birthday - I had no idea where to stay but I was told we must stay in a Riad (having been I certainly agree). Make sure that where ever you do choose to stay it is inside the Medina which is the walled city. There is much less of a Marrakech feel outside of the Medina, if you are going to Marrakech you need to be right in the thick of it all!!

When you arrive in the taxi he will take you as far as you can get into the small windy streets, then he will take you to your Riad by foot...I would definitely book a taxi with your hotel/riad on the way there, it will be about 150-160 dirhams but I would recommend getting a taxi back yourself. Once you know your way round and have got used to haggling you can get a taxi for 100 dirhams, maybe even less!

Walking down the windy street on arrival, all you can see are the small streets and bricked buildings with no windows and then you arrive at the Riad which is nothing to look at on the outside but once you walk through the door you are welcomeed with a wonderful sense of peacefulness and calm.

The beautiful fountain in the centre, the open roof as you look up and the smell of Mint Tea to Welcome you!

The Riad is in a perfect position, it is so close to the main square (Jemaa el-Fnaa) but it is so peaceful, you can not here a sound of the outside chaos.

The rooms are very pretty, there are even Rose petals in the toilet and the roof terrace is very nice, especially on a sunny morning.

Breakfast is a mix of cakes, bread, pancakes and omelette - I suggest filling yourself up on this and then go out exploring.

The main square is both weird and wonderful, you will see Snake charmers, men with Monkeys, acrobatics, beggars, children trying to sell you a pack of tissues and lots more crazy things.

Make sure you experience it all - the best bit about our trip was getting lost in the Souks. There are so many stalls in all different directions, but don't worry you will always make your way back to the main square.

Some people will just point in the direction of the square without you even asking, they just assume you are lost.

We did get caught out one time and followed a man saying he would take us back to the square but it turned out he was taking us to a Tannery (which turned out to be very interesting but smells terrible!!!!) so after we had been in the tannery, visited the guy who crafts the leathers into shoes, rugs, bags etc, brought some souvenirs and paid them for showing us round we were eventually sent in the direction of the square!

Never pay the asking price - always go for half the price, start low and work your way up - if you walk away they will shout prices lower and lower until you turn around and say OK!

There is a nice restaurant on the side of the square, it is called something like Glass house, they do a very nice hot chocolate. You can sit for hours just watching the goings on in the square - it is never ever silent!

Be prepared to be woken up at 5.30 am by prayer time, there is no getting away from it as it comes out of loud speakers from all the tall towers dotted around the City.

We went from Wednesday (arrived at 11am) and left on Saturday evening which was a perfect amount of time.

On Fridays and Sundays the king goes out and you can visit Agdal Gardens, you can walk through hundreds of Olive Trees and go to the large pool to see all the massive Carp - be careful of people just walking up to you and start talking to you about where you are, they just want your money, if you kindly give them a few dirhams they will even say I would like more!!

A tip for young ladies...even if it is hot wear trousers and a t-shirt. Don't go out with hot pants and a revealing top on, you need to remember you are in a Muslim country and need to dress accordingly!!

November is a great time to go, we had no rain, just lots of sunshine and about 23 degrees each day!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The riad is in a perfect location 2 minutes walk from D-Jeema El Fna, right in the heart of the Medina. Rooms are fantastic! Very nice room deco and touch. ( Rose petals spread on the bed and bathroom every day)
Staff are nice and helpful and not intrusive at all, just what you need when running away from the main square.
We had a room right in the courtyard which is not the best for privacy as there are always people hanging around outside your door. Try to avoid room 7 ;)
Breakfast is the only downfall as it is mainly a bread feast.
Overall it is a great place to stay in Marrakesh, excellent value highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Excellent location, 2 mins walk from Jamma el Fna and about 5 mins walk from souks. Hotel manager Speaks good English and has been very helpful in all aspects. Great rooms, loved the interior deco. Superb in cleanliness, every inch of the riad had been well looked after. The domestic staff don't speak English but they all trying to help as much as they can. We took the advice from other travellers of booking airport transfer via the hotel, its a bit more expensive but at least we didn't get lost and went straight to hotel after landed in Marrakech airport. Breakfast was the only downfall of the hotel as all they served was bread and bread and more bread!!! Could be better if they have more varieties in breakfast. Overall it's a wonderful hotel, and it actually made u feel like a princess!!! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gimme_the_cookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here - the room was lovely and clean and the staff were very helpful. There were some really thoughtful touches in our room - such as fresh rose petals scattered everywhere each day! The riad is located literally 2 minutes from the main square and souqs in a very lively and bustling area, but from inside the riad you'd never be able to tell! It really was an oasis of calm. The breakfast each morning was lovely, with fresh orange juice, homemade cake, bread etc. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imogencook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Got off to bad start when taxi from hotel did not pick us up from airport. Couldn't phone hotel because telephone number shown on booking.com reservation was a french tel no.
Approach to hotel was a bit off putting at first - down narrow alleyways, but once there the riad was lovely with ttraditional morrocan features. We could sit and relax drinking mint tea whilst we checked in. Our party had 3 rooms. One person complained about power of water in shower, but apart from that everything was very good.The main doors were locked at night, but we had keys to get in and once inside it was very quiet. The call to prayer woke us up early, but that is expected in a muslim country. The staff were very welcoming. The breakfasts were wonderful and the girls would talk to you if you tried a little french and sign language. We arranged a couple of trips with a guide through the manager and these were very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolElaineS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#101 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Ammonites
Riad Les Ammonites
#217 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#63 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#41 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#167 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Palais des Princesses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Palais des Princesses

Property: Riad Palais des Princesses
Address: 41 Derb Jamaa, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#95 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#120 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#129 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Palais des Princesses 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais Des Princesses is located in the heart of Marrakech's medina, a 2-minute walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna Square. It features an indoor swimming pool, Spa & Wellness Centre, where there is a hammam, hot tub and massages available upon request. The guest rooms are located around a central courtyard with flowers and trees. The bright, spacious rooms have air conditioning, a private bathroom and free Wi-Fi internet access. Some rooms have a 4-poster bed. Riad Palais Des Princesses provides a daily buffet breakfast that is served on the terrace. The hotel restaurant serves traditional Moroccan cuisine. Set within the Riad Zitoune El Keddim district, the residence has easy access to the city's many sites. Public parking is available nearby for guests arriving by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Palais des Princesses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Et Palais Des Princesses Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing