We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining Heaven!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mansour Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Mansour Marrakech to your Saves list
Royal Mansour Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Abou Abbas El Sebti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dining Heaven!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Pure heaven!!!! Without doubt the best meal I have every had ANYWHERE in the world.

After being seated in a w beautifully decorated room, and sipping on a champagne, I had the
sharing menu:

The starter was salads bot 3 or 4 but 7 salads. Heaven #1 - a toss up between the spinach with orange blossom foam, and the beetroot orange - beetroot jelly and marinated orange, all red and rich yet fresh and light!! The spinach was fresh salad spinach, served in orange foam and tiny chunks of orange. Eggplant cannelloni! The tiniest, most tender baby Artichoke caramelised in carrot! Pumpkin and dates with nuts crunch, and then super smoky and delicious peppers and eggplant; and a not so humble tomato, cucumber and green pepper salad, each time 3x3 mm cube exactly the same size!

I've been travelling all around Morocco for the last 7 weeks in search of the perfect Pastillia, and I just found it!!!! The Royal Pastillia. The fluffiest filo I have EVER eaten anywhere in the world (and I get around), succulent and rich pigeon (at least 3-4 pigeons I expect due to the amount of meat) and nuts / almond meal. With just the right amount of sweetness, although I do admit to removing some of the icing sugar....

Next came the tagines: the piece de resistance: lamb shoulder Mechoui style - lamb shoulder - cooked for 26 hours!!! Steamed and then crisped up in the oven, and you sprinkle salt and cumin on it to your taste!!! Seriously melt in the mouth! I eat lamb all the time, and this was the most delicious lamb I have ever eaten!!! chicken with olives / lemon tagine was not the standard fare, but a very refined, smoothe version, with the onions, olives and lemon cooked till a soft almost purée sauce. And to top it off vegetable couscous with gentle tomato dripping sauce that comes with all good couscous.

Dessert - often goes wrong in different countries. Not this time. Royal Mansiur Orange Pearls - multiple tiny Orange exploding balls of juice and flavour, sitting on a soft orange jelly/ puree, topped with a slither of date and a tiny mint leaf in a delicate orange foam. Topped with a sprinkle of cinnamon.

Next amulu ice cream and a delicate Afgan oil chocolate crunchy gateaux with a ganache of Afgan oil and preserved lemon.

And of course, tiny, thumb nail size moroccan pastries - dates, pistatio and white chocolate, and a crunch tiny drop of a pastry with the odd sesame seed and a touch of Annis.

All washed down with a lovely glass of champagne and a coffee!

Not cheap, but the Hammam was about the same price!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    18
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
45
122
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

what an amazing place rooms were fab
food incredible and the cigar bar was a sensation
Ashraf knew everything there was to know about cigars and his bar is the best
decor is magnificent
a must just have save up for another trip but it was amazing

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We ate at the French restaurant at Royal Mansour on our recent trip to Marrakech. I can't find a separate listing for the restaurant so I am posting this here. I had read lots about this hotel but nothing could prepare me for how beautiful this place really is.

Right – let’s get the easy (but painful) bit out of the way. This place is expensive. Very expensive.

Now that I have cleared that up, I must say the experience, food, ambience, decor and service meant that our bill was worth every last Dirham.

Upon arrival through grand entrance gates, you are greeted by doormen who were very friendly and helpful. Then another person greets you to take you through to the restaurant or if preferred, a bar to have a pre-dinner cocktail. The way to the bar is through the lobby – and it is gorgeous. The staff member was very knowledgeable about the building, its contents etc.

We were shown two bars – both beautifully and facing each other. The piano bar has a pianist playing and was beautiful but we opted for the other bar as we could still hear the piano. There were about 4 other couples in there and it had a lovely atmosphere.

A couple of excellent cocktails later, we were taken seamlessly through to the restaurant. We were surprised we were the only ones in there but it didn’t matter at all. We just had the most amazing restaurant to ourselves.

We opted for the a la carte menu and I had prawns followed by the lobster with a light ginger broth. Absolutely amazing. My partner had guinea fowl which he declared one of the best emails he had ever eaten. They provided lots of little things to eat in between courses. The food, the wine and service were all beyond doubt, the best I have ever experienced.

We told the waiters how wonderful the evening was and they invited us back the next day to have a look around the hotel and gardens. We took them up on the invitation and were shown around by guest services manager, Badr. Badr was the friendliest, most knowledgeable member of hotel staff I have ever met – and we weren’t even staying there! He showed us around, let us see a couple of guest rooms (all individual riads and extremely well appointed) and firmly implanted in my brain the idea that I need (must) to return as a guest. Our sincere thanks to Badr and the amazing restaurant team.

If you really enjoy fine dining and can afford the splurge, then I would honestly say, just do so. To have eaent here really is one of the great treats of my life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brum74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Imagine entering your own Moroccan Palace surrounded by only elegance and luxury. That is the only way to describe the ambience of this amazingly breathtaking, truly unique experience. Every detail is the epitome of regal elegance. The magnificent grounds, super attentive staff, and fine luxurious "palace" living quaters, combine to make this hotel in a class of its own. It sets the standard for excellence, definitely amongst the world's finest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ihbalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Could not figure out how to access the rating/review of the hotel's french restaurant.
So here it is: amazing, unforgettable, expensive!
Worth every cent of it.
So, either you have it, or start saving - you'll need something like Euro 200-300+/head, depending on your wines selection. It could get much worse than this.
Crazy? Well, our modest rating would rank them in between 2-3 Michelin stars. They are on their way to acquiring them, no doubt.
If you want to set up something exquisite, special, memorable.....you'll never forget it!
Just do it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SlowhandW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Unforgettable stay at this unique hotel. Very private and the staff were incredibly helpful. The spa is also highly recommended nothing is to much for them and they will do all they can to customize your stay to your preference (ie rose petal turndown).

Room Tip: Ask for a riad with a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yousef M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Royal Mansour is definitely more than a palace; it is the embodiment of Moroccan living as an art form. We stepped inside the adobe walls and its awesome bronze gates to discover a palace blessed by the talents of Michelin-starred chef, Yannick Alléno. More than 100 highly trained chefs are located at Royal Mansour’s restaurants. We relaxed for afternoon brunch in La Table, a french restaurant that serves Mediterranean dishes throughout the day under the shade of ancient olive trees with our friends and were hosted by Royal Mansour's own Otmane Mekouar.

We loved our afternoon there and will definitely visit again when next we are in Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeesaSoulodre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#52 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,532 reviews
8.1 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#55 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#30 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 938 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#25 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mansour Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mansour Marrakech

Property: Royal Mansour Marrakech
Address: Rue Abou Abbas El Sebti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#54 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#68 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Mansour Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Royal Mansour Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mansour Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing