We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Photography Museum of Marrakech

Photography Museum of Marrakech
Book In Advance
$50.20*
and up
Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum
Ranked #8 of 154 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Photography Museum has opened its doors in the heart of Marrakesh since May 2009.A private collection of 8000 photographs was gathered, this collection is only about Morocco and covers the period 1870 to 1950.The exposition contains hundreds of old photographs and shows the first film recorded in the High-Atlas in color, in 1957 by Daniel Chicault « Landscapes and Faces of the High-Atlas ».
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

They have a nice shop where you can buy prints.
Small rooftop cafe
Nice staff
Wonderful photos
Based in a beatyful Riad

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,956
    1,175
    231
    32
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing photos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spent a couple of hours here - fantastic photographs and artwork. There is also a nice rooftop cafe with great views over the city.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Woozle111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very good museum full of excellent photographs picturing the berber culture. And a little cafe on the rooftop is a must if only for a moroccan mint tea.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AgnieszkaTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Go there and support their private gallery and their organization. They are privately collecting old, historic (beautiful) photographs without government support. The rooftop view is worth some time as well, great views.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bear F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Find it and love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I'll admit it was hard to find, but that's what travelling is for, wandering and discovering!

My husband and I really enjoyed it here, such a quiet escape from the bustling city of Marrakech. I felt like we walked out with a better understanding of Moroccan life. The owner and the people that work at the Maison de la Photographie are great and really care about what they do.

Afterwards we had a delicious lunch and mint tea on the rooftop patio. It was such a lovely way to spend an afternoon in Marrakech.

Oh and we bought a beautiful print that's proudly hanging in our home :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Photography Museum of Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Photography Museum of Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing