We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“linger on the top floor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Photography Museum

Photography Museum
46, Rue Souk Ahal Fassi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-85721
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$49*
and up
Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum
Ranked #8 of 153 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Photography Museum has opened its doors in the heart of Marrakesh since May 2009.A private collection of 8000 photographs was gathered, this collection is only about Morocco and covers the period 1870 to 1950.The exposition contains hundreds of old photographs and shows the first film recorded in the High-Atlas in color, in 1957 by Daniel Chicault « Landscapes and Faces of the High-Atlas ». It was a pioneer action in Morocco.
pomfret, vt
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“linger on the top floor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

One of the few things that I regularly enjoy in Marrakech. It's often not very crowded and very relaxing on the roof, where drinks are served. They've done a great job- a shame they don;t produce any books and don't rotate the exhibitions enough...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank wdd955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,906
    1,144
    226
    32
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is certainly worth the visit. The museum is interesting and very informative. The small fee for a ticket allowed you re-entry which was worth while as the food in the terrace was lovely.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KD1982traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little sanctuary in the city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went to look at the museum and though the building was lovely, the photographs did not really do it for me and overall I was not too enraptured by the place

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suff0lktyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great photography in a really cool space with fantastic views form the roof terrace. The ticket allows for repeat visits.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jessielilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Some great photos in a stunning building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We came here for lunch as well as to see the photos. It turned out we were a bit early for food but we waited with cool drinks on the lovely roof terrace and enjoyed the amazing views. The food was tasty and reasonably priced. Afterwards we walked around the museum - our favourite photos were of the souks in the 1930s because of the stunning diffused light. Possibly the best thing of all was the building, which we ended up photographing from every angle. We were glad we came.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Photography Museum also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Photography Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing