We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”

Photography Museum of Marrakech
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.93*
and up
Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Bahia Palace and the Photography Museum
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Private Tour: Half-Day Guided Tour of Marrakech
Ranked #10 of 163 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Photography Museum has opened its doors in the heart of Marrakesh since May 2009.A private collection of 8000 photographs was gathered, this collection is only about Morocco and covers the period 1870 to 1950.The exposition contains hundreds of old photographs and shows the first film recorded in the High-Atlas in color, in 1957 by Daniel Chicault « Landscapes and Faces of the High-Atlas ».
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I guess you have to be into photography to enjoy this place. There is no English guide whatsoever as to what your're looking at so basically you're just looking at a bunch of old black and white pictures which is really not worth the price of admission. The rooftop terrace cafe offers a great view though.

It is not bad but not very deserving to be the top attraction of Marrakech.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank insipide528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,338
    1,390
    293
    39
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballerup, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“So many great pictures”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This place wasn't that hard to find after I visited Ali Ben Youssof Medersa, and I'm glad I did. I'm really enjoy looking at photos and there were many here. Some of them were old, showing how Marrakech used to look like (and other places of course), and gives one an insight in to the city and country's history.

You can book a tour with an English speaking guide, who will tell you more detailed about the photos. I like to just look at the pictures and wonder what the story behind is, so I opted to say no to this offer.

Also, I highly recommend the cafe at the top. Stunning views and great food, and a nice place to relax and recharge your batteries.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AllanBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“calm and interesting”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I really liked this gallery and found the photos fascinating. It is a very pleasant exhibition space and the people working in the gallery were extremely knowledgeable and helpful. I would definitely recommend a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil and interesting”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Leaving behind the bustle of the medina to step into the cool calm of great photos and my favourite terrace so far. Strawberries and mint tea on the roof was fantastic

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ROMJOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Best roofterrace in Marrakech and it serves exquisite Egyptian karkaday tea. Great exhibits too and cheap prints

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Talus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Photography Museum of Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Photography Museum of Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing