We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Nice rooms, but Wouldn't Return”
Review of Riad Sesame

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Sesame
Ranked #346 of 1,153 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean, Nice rooms, but Wouldn't Return”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place was difficult to find. Once you do find though, you will be pleased that it is very close to the Les Bains Hammam where I was pampered with spa treatments all day long for only about $85 USD. I’d highly recommend this hammam for sure. Anyhow, upon arrival to the riad, it was nice that the lady invited me in by name as though she was prepared for my arrival. The owner did seem a little odd during my stay though. She speaks pretty much no English which made many things difficult. There is a weird key policy where when you leave, you have to leave your room key behind in a little dish along with everyone else’s key. I didn’t feel very secure about this as there was nothing stopping another guest from taking my key out of the bowl and going into my room. The room itself was nice, but only okay. Wifi was unreliable. Satellite TV was unreliable. Bathroom had a broken showerhead with just a hose to wash with. Breakfast was served on the hot roof and wasn’t anything to get excited over. The common areas in the place don’t feel inviting. It almost felt like I was staying as a guest as a stranger’s house and wanted to just isolate in my room rather than breathe the whole place in and comfortably explore and settle into my environment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsjitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The rooms are really clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast is good but especially the woman who runs the place is very sweet and helpfull. We stayed three nights here and only payed 830dirham with two persons. This place is highly recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauleau89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights with our family and found Malika to be very welcoming. Breakfast was different every day, always delicious and nothing was too much trouble. We requested an evening meal and Malika made a choice of wonderful dishes, including a vegetarian option for my daughter. The rooms were authentically Moroccan and spotlessly clean.
The Riad is near the main square, yet very peaceful. I would highly recommend Riad Sesame for your stay in Marrakesh. Thank you Malika!

Room Tip: We had 3 of the 5 rooms available and they were all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeaverFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falun, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We spent four great days in Riad Sesame with excellent service from Madame et mademoiselle. The Riad lies in a quiet place wich gives you a good nights sleep. The place is clean and neat. We can higly recommend this Riad for a stay in magic Marrakech. It helps with the school french to communicate with Mme.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torsten p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Bab Tilila
Riad Bab Tilila
#169 of 500 in Marrakech
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#240 of 500 in Marrakech
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#74 of 1,153 in Marrakech
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sesame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sesame

Property: Riad Sesame
Address: Bab doukkala derb zaouia No5, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 1,153 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Sesame 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely and quiet traditional riad near the parking your private little paradise in this wonderful city within just 10 mn walk from the famous jemaa el fna2 mn from souksnear all major sites of interest with a number of world famous restaurants at our doorsteps(maison arabe ...). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Riad Sesame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing