We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Traditional & Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karim

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Karim to your Saves list
Riad Karim
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   No 26 Derb Sarij Gnaoua, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Traditional & Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights from 16/9/13. Beautiful building, friendly helpful staff, a haven in the centre of the manic Kasbah, you couldn't be more in the heart of the old town and feel & live traditional Morocco. It's a 10 min walk to the main square, via various routes.
The Riad has a roof terrace which was a welcome place to relax or view the city skyline from.
Breakfast was basic, bread,a pancake type thing! Jam & honey + coffee, juice & mint tea. Evening meals could be booked in the morning. If you are a vegetarian MAKE SURE the message is passed to the maid/cook.
It is ok to find in the Riad in day light IF you pay attention and get your bearings from landmarks ( ask for the Kasbah pharmacy if lost) as near by. It's hard to find at night & be warned, people will take you to your destination at a price! As 2 women, we felt a bit uncomfortable at night in the Kasbah the time we got lost.
So if you want tradition, value for money, the Riad Karim is the place :O)

Room Tip: There are 3 upstairs and 1 downstairs room, upstairs is probably a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    25
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and it was an amazing experience I felt right at home, welcomed by Hamza and looked aftered by Samra whom prepared the meals and kept the riad nice and tidy. I must say the location is perfect, it's a 10min walk to the main square, everything is local and near by, you can't ask for anything better. The riad itself is very homely, the rooms are spacious and the bathroom us amazing, I loved the decor all around the riad :) I highly recommend this place for couples families Its perfect! :) great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharmz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We wanted an authentic Riad in the heart of Marrakesh and boy this establishment did not disappoint guys..........it was a truly remarkable stay................

The location is in the heart of the Kasbah in amongst a myriad of alleyways and courtyards but it is quite easy to find if you have a good sense of direction. The place/photos is as described t on the website albeit like all of us have worn over the years but that takes nothing away from the riad. The room on the upper floor courtyard was quite big and functional with an amazing enclosed sold stone shower cubicle...WOW! A large bed and double wardrobe and keeping with the authentic feel of the place. As Hamza explained it was like being at home with a large dining area downstairs and rest room with TV etc etc.
The breakfast was superb with coffee, tea. daily fresh bread/honey marmalade and panckes making the breakfast a superb start for the day.The place was very secure and you will find the neighbours are all very friendly and welcoming(night & day) appreciating you are tourists but always ready with beamimg smiles and a helpful nod if you loose your way. The route out of the kasbah is dotted with many street stalls selling a variety of fresh market produce plus the usual homewares and diy products we all have to buy at home so all in all....YOU KNOW YOU ARE IN THE HEART OF AN AUTHENTIC AREA . which has oudles of ambience thrtoughout.
We were looked after by Samra who was one of the best hosts you can ever come across. She speaks french and arabic but understands english...she was truly wonderful and sweet attending to all our requests in a friendly professional and courteous manner....a diamond really.....(GUYS SHE IS ALSO A WONDERFUL COOK SO DONT BE AFRAID TO SAMPLE HER OFFERS OF DINNER WHICH IS ALL FRESHLY COOKED AND CHEAP AS CHIPS!)
What struck us upon our immediate arrival in marrakesh was the friendly nature of the people(it is sincere and not put on for the tourists).
BOOK THIS RIAD GUYS I RECOMMEND IT 1000 %!!! TRUST ME....
PS. Do not accept any advice from young kids telling you the road ahead is closed.....they are harmless little tykes trying to earn of few dirhams by a bit of mis direction. Always be on your guard in the crowed souks as pickpockets prevail.....just mention the word police if you feel itimidated by anyone and they will melt back into the shadows
PPS.HAGGLE when you buy, they expect it and start low and work up and when you reach your price walk away...if they want to do the deal they will stop you and deal!!
PPPS. You must clarify what you are paying for like taxi fares before you jump in them/food prices/excursion trips/goods etc. etc

BOOK IT NOW!!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank venicefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

In the heart of the Kasbah, this is a lovely little Riad. Through a few windy little streets in the Kasbah and you're well on the way to Jma el Fna. It's about a 15-25 minute walk, depending on how fast you walk; and its a very easy route to remember so you shouldn't need to worry about possibly getting lost! And there are a few sights en route to Jma El Fna. Worth making use of the local shops in the vicinity of Riad Karim for bottled water and other such essentials, as the prices are "local" prices rather than "tourist" prices (which tend to get more and more inflated the closer you get to Jma El Fna!).

The staff at Riad Karim were very welcoming, friendly, and helpful throughout our stay. The bedrooms were spacious, well decorated, and clean (as was the en suite bathroom). From the terrace you can see the Kasbah around you, and various points of reference (such as a number of mosques) in the distance. The breakfast lacked a bit of variety / choice; and you pretty much had to eat out at other times as there are no meals served after breakfast (as you would expect of any Riad). However, that said, our stay at Riad Karim was very good, and we would definitely go back without hesitation. Very good value for money; would certainly recommend staying at Riad Karim.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmRi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My friends and I took three rooms at Riad Karim over a long weekend. I booked the place not on cost, but because I had hoped for an authentic Marrakesh experience, and my expectations were well exceeded. The property is cool, in a quiet place (yet an easy walk to everywhere we wanted to see) and really nice place to spend time at the price. If you've read any other reviews you'll know the highlight is the warmth and kindness of the hosts - which is absolutely correct. However nobody else seems to have mentioned that Samara is the smiliest lady in north Africa!

When I return to Marrakesh I'll stay here again without hesitation... if you've never been before get them to collect you at the airport as finding the place for the first time can be a little daunting - especially after dark... but once you're in the know other locations will seem rather dull!

Their easy to find website has the correct contact details unlike Expedia. Use the mobile number if your French isnt so good

Room Tip: take an upstairs room. No3 has a bath and twin beds... but there are only four to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank russellkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coyoacán, Distrito Federal, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It was an excellent experience to be at the Riad Karim, specially for all the attentions and to the host HAMZA.
I enjoyed a lot my stayed because is a very comfortable place.
It was an excellent experience to be at the Riad Karim, specially for all the attentions and to the host HAMZA.

Room Tip: All of the 4 rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivansaenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Nestled between the bustling streets of the kasbah this cosy riad is a welcomed sight for the mind, body and soul. If your looking for an authentic experience of Marrakech life then look no further. Outside the riad the locals go about their daily business and you really feel a sense of time travel. All major tourist sights are only a cab ride away and easily accessable, and its a joy to come back to the riad after all the busy hustle bustle of the tourist trail. The staff at the riad are very accomodating and always at hand to assist and advise. This was my second trip to Marrakech and a complete different experiance from the chain of hotels I stayed at the first time. Riad karim is definitely a little gem in this oasis.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siouxsie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#113 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#387 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#318 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad La Perle de Marrakech
Riad La Perle de Marrakech
#641 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Les Lauriers Blancs
Riad Les Lauriers Blancs
#89 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Marrakiss
Riad Marrakiss
#320 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karim

Property: Riad Karim
Address: No 26 Derb Sarij Gnaoua, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Karim 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Karim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karim Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing