We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis Of Calm!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Karim
Ranked #68 of 257 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Oasis Of Calm!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Nestled between the bustling streets of the kasbah this cosy riad is a welcomed sight for the mind, body and soul. If your looking for an authentic experience of Marrakech life then look no further. Outside the riad the locals go about their daily business and you really feel a sense of time travel. All major tourist sights are only a cab ride away and easily accessable, and its a joy to come back to the riad after all the busy hustle bustle of the tourist trail. The staff at the riad are very accomodating and always at hand to assist and advise. This was my second trip to Marrakech and a complete different experiance from the chain of hotels I stayed at the first time. Riad karim is definitely a little gem in this oasis.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siouxsie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    25
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had a very nice time at Riad Karim, a warm thank you to Khalid, Zaki for advising us and making us feel so much welcome. They are all very friendly people & Samra prepares very nice breakfast! They suggested to take care of our daughter who would be arriving a few days after we left, and didnt want to take any money for the guided tour. Zaki picked up our daughter at the airport and brought her around too. Thank you!
This place is very close to the Medina and it feels safe to walk around.
We will come back again!

Be aware "faux guide' they are everywhere in Morocco and always pretend that they want to help you or are relatives of the Riad owner, but in the end they just want your money, Better trust the Riad staff.

We definitely recommend Riad Karim!
Karen & Jeroen

Room Tip: Better to choose a room on the upper floor, you would not be disturbed if you want to sleep a bit lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asthebirdflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Riad Karim and would highly recommend it for a short break. Located in the Kasbah, admittedly it is impossible to find without help from the locals (who expected a generous tip!) but once found, we were warmly welcomed by the staff and had no trouble finding our way to and from the Riad after that. Riad Karim is situated at the end of narrow streets in the Kasbah, filled with people getting on with their daily lives and there is a bustling atmosphere which is all part of the Marrakech experience. Inside the Riad, all was very clean, calm and peaceful. Sambra looked after us very well - always with a friendly smile. The manager is also very helpful and will arrange trips etc if you wish. As the Riad only has 4 rooms, it was a bit like staying with friends. The manager does recommend phoning him on arrival at the airport and he will arrange to meet you from your taxi (as taxis cannot enter the very narrow streets and have to drop you nearby). We tried to find the Riad by following our street map, but many of the streets are not named. The Riad is very cosy, clean and furnished in a traditional way. If there were any problems at all, the manager is on site and dealt with a couple of minor things immediately, so just ask! And there is hot water! We were able to keep our room right up until afternoon departure at no extra charge.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms, 3 of which are upstairs and one leading off the central courtyard downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenKent10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Riad Karim is brilliant and I would recommend it to any friend or family member traveling to Marrakech. 

You will read comments below complaining about difficulty finding the Riad, about being woken by the call to prayer, or about crowds of people hanging out on the streets near the front door. My honest opinion is that if these things are an issue for you, then you shouldn't be visiting Marrakech at all. For us, the busy winding streets are both a part of the excitement of the city where - if you want a real experience - hectic street markets and energetic people are a part of the charm. And you won't find two people more friendly and eager to please than the team at Riad Karim. Meeting them was a proper highlight of our stay. You could think about meeting them from the taxi when you arrive to make that first journey a little bit easier... 

Literally the only area for improvement would be the heat during the night. We visited in January when the temperatures drop pretty aggressively, but I'm hoping that this isn't a problem during summer. 

Other than this though, I really was happy with my time at Riad Karim. Happy memories, warmly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smills1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We had a great time staying at Riad Karim...Its right in the middle of the city, about ten minutes away from the main square. The host Halib was very kind and made us feel very welcome. He was able to offer advise and book us tours or taxis if we wanted them, but also left us to our own devices to explore the city. We were given a good breakfast everyday and were greeted my Mint tea at the end of each day exploring the city - excactly what we needed.
The rooms were traditionally decorated and the bathrooms were great - the baths were amazing! And there was a great view from the roof terrace across Marrakech.
I highly recommend staying here. We had a great time

Room Tip: 3 of the rooms have baths! But the one with the shower is also great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed here with my wife and two other couples for an extended weekend on a visit to Marrakech to run the marathon. Was made to feel really welcome by the staff, and was even introduced via Skype to our hosts wife in Spain. Immediately made to feel like the riad was our home, including lighting the fire and using tv and free wifi with the use of a laptop. Great fixtures and fittings, good choice at breakfast, helped arrange trips out etc, and made to feel like we would be welcome back. Location was slightly away from square, and was not easy to find, so would advise contacting riad in advance to arrange arrival. All in all, a fab trip, mainly down to fabulous company, including our new friends at the riad karim.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prof_hoolahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
4.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
4.5 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#107 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,605 reviews
10.9 mi away
Be Live Family Aqua Fun Marrakech
1.6 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#273 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karim

Property: Riad Karim
Address: No 26 Derb Sarij Gnaoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 257 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Karim 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Karim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karim Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing