We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis Of Calm!”
Review of Riad Karim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Karim
Ranked #172 of 304 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Nestled between the bustling streets of the kasbah this cosy riad is a welcomed sight for the mind, body and soul. If your looking for an authentic experience of Marrakech life then look no further. Outside the riad the locals go about their daily business and you really feel a sense of time travel. All major tourist sights are only a cab ride away and easily accessable, and its a joy to come back to the riad after all the busy hustle bustle of the tourist trail. The staff at the riad are very accomodating and always at hand to assist and advise. This was my second trip to Marrakech and a complete different experiance from the chain of hotels I stayed at the first time. Riad karim is definitely a little gem in this oasis.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siouxsie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 85 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had a very nice time at Riad Karim, a warm thank you to Khalid, Zaki for advising us and making us feel so much welcome. They are all very friendly people & Samra prepares very nice breakfast! They suggested to take care of our daughter who would be arriving a few days after we left, and didnt want to take any money for the guided tour. Zaki picked up our daughter at the airport and brought her around too. Thank you!
This place is very close to the Medina and it feels safe to walk around.
We will come back again!

Be aware "faux guide' they are everywhere in Morocco and always pretend that they want to help you or are relatives of the Riad owner, but in the end they just want your money, Better trust the Riad staff.

We definitely recommend Riad Karim!
Karen & Jeroen

Room Tip: Better to choose a room on the upper floor, you would not be disturbed if you want to sleep a bit lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asthebirdflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank claudia m
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Riad Karim is brilliant and I would recommend it to any friend or family member traveling to Marrakech. 

You will read comments below complaining about difficulty finding the Riad, about being woken by the call to prayer, or about crowds of people hanging out on the streets near the front door. My honest opinion is that if these things are an issue for you, then you shouldn't be visiting Marrakech at all. For us, the busy winding streets are both a part of the excitement of the city where - if you want a real experience - hectic street markets and energetic people are a part of the charm. And you won't find two people more friendly and eager to please than the team at Riad Karim. Meeting them was a proper highlight of our stay. You could think about meeting them from the taxi when you arrive to make that first journey a little bit easier... 

Literally the only area for improvement would be the heat during the night. We visited in January when the temperatures drop pretty aggressively, but I'm hoping that this isn't a problem during summer. 

Other than this though, I really was happy with my time at Riad Karim. Happy memories, warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smills1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We had a great time staying at Riad Karim...Its right in the middle of the city, about ten minutes away from the main square. The host Halib was very kind and made us feel very welcome. He was able to offer advise and book us tours or taxis if we wanted them, but also left us to our own devices to explore the city. We were given a good breakfast everyday and were greeted my Mint tea at the end of each day exploring the city - excactly what we needed.
The rooms were traditionally decorated and the bathrooms were great - the baths were amazing! And there was a great view from the roof terrace across Marrakech.
I highly recommend staying here. We had a great time

Room Tip: 3 of the rooms have baths! But the one with the shower is also great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed here with my wife and two other couples for an extended weekend on a visit to Marrakech to run the marathon. Was made to feel really welcome by the staff, and was even introduced via Skype to our hosts wife in Spain. Immediately made to feel like the riad was our home, including lighting the fire and using tv and free wifi with the use of a laptop. Great fixtures and fittings, good choice at breakfast, helped arrange trips out etc, and made to feel like we would be welcome back. Location was slightly away from square, and was not easy to find, so would advise contacting riad in advance to arrange arrival. All in all, a fab trip, mainly down to fabulous company, including our new friends at the riad karim.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prof_hoolahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed during 7 nights in Riad Karim last week. I have been in other riads before but i really recomend this one, because of its rooms, decoration, atmosphere and the people who work there. It has a great terrace from where you can see nice views and relax after a hard day of tourism. The rooms are really nice decorated and the bathrooms are awsome. Its a really good place to go with your couple and spend some romantic days.
I also want to thank Zaky and Khalid for making our stay so special. They were always very helpfull, they explained us everything, and made great tea for us!!we will really miss you a lot.
I also recomend to have dinner at least one night in the riad, they offer great meal in a very nice atmosphere.
I really hope to see you soon, and to spend nice conversations again!!(they speak spanish, english, french, arabic and berber!!!)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuriatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
43.0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 501 in Marrakech
2,092 reviews
43.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 501 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
45.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
44.0 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#261 of 501 in Marrakech
189 reviews
46.2 mi away
Iberostar Club Palmeraie Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karim

Address: No 26 Derb Sarij Gnaoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 304 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range: $14 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Karim 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Karim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karim Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing