We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful cosy little place with super friendly people to host you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karim

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Karim
Ranked #64 of 251 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful cosy little place with super friendly people to host you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Riad Karim is brilliant and I would recommend it to any friend or family member traveling to Marrakech. 

You will read comments below complaining about difficulty finding the Riad, about being woken by the call to prayer, or about crowds of people hanging out on the streets near the front door. My honest opinion is that if these things are an issue for you, then you shouldn't be visiting Marrakech at all. For us, the busy winding streets are both a part of the excitement of the city where - if you want a real experience - hectic street markets and energetic people are a part of the charm. And you won't find two people more friendly and eager to please than the team at Riad Karim. Meeting them was a proper highlight of our stay. You could think about meeting them from the taxi when you arrive to make that first journey a little bit easier... 

Literally the only area for improvement would be the heat during the night. We visited in January when the temperatures drop pretty aggressively, but I'm hoping that this isn't a problem during summer. 

Other than this though, I really was happy with my time at Riad Karim. Happy memories, warmly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smills1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    25
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We had a great time staying at Riad Karim...Its right in the middle of the city, about ten minutes away from the main square. The host Halib was very kind and made us feel very welcome. He was able to offer advise and book us tours or taxis if we wanted them, but also left us to our own devices to explore the city. We were given a good breakfast everyday and were greeted my Mint tea at the end of each day exploring the city - excactly what we needed.
The rooms were traditionally decorated and the bathrooms were great - the baths were amazing! And there was a great view from the roof terrace across Marrakech.
I highly recommend staying here. We had a great time

Room Tip: 3 of the rooms have baths! But the one with the shower is also great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed here with my wife and two other couples for an extended weekend on a visit to Marrakech to run the marathon. Was made to feel really welcome by the staff, and was even introduced via Skype to our hosts wife in Spain. Immediately made to feel like the riad was our home, including lighting the fire and using tv and free wifi with the use of a laptop. Great fixtures and fittings, good choice at breakfast, helped arrange trips out etc, and made to feel like we would be welcome back. Location was slightly away from square, and was not easy to find, so would advise contacting riad in advance to arrange arrival. All in all, a fab trip, mainly down to fabulous company, including our new friends at the riad karim.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prof_hoolahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed during 7 nights in Riad Karim last week. I have been in other riads before but i really recomend this one, because of its rooms, decoration, atmosphere and the people who work there. It has a great terrace from where you can see nice views and relax after a hard day of tourism. The rooms are really nice decorated and the bathrooms are awsome. Its a really good place to go with your couple and spend some romantic days.
I also want to thank Zaky and Khalid for making our stay so special. They were always very helpfull, they explained us everything, and made great tea for us!!we will really miss you a lot.
I also recomend to have dinner at least one night in the riad, they offer great meal in a very nice atmosphere.
I really hope to see you soon, and to spend nice conversations again!!(they speak spanish, english, french, arabic and berber!!!)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuriatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The riad itself is hard to find and down a dirty alley. The road outside is too small for a car to come down, the taxi driver will dump you on the streets and you have to ask the street kids for directions as you will never find this Riad. There is always a crowd of drug dealing teenagers outside the Riad. You have to force your way through them everytime to head back to riad.
The service was good but you get the feeling that the manager wants to organise your 'tour' of the sights as this is mentioned several times within your first days stay. There is also the city tax which has to be paid when you arrive, this was unexpected as not advised.
Breakfast is not worth getting up for, this consists of bread, jam and cake with luke warm coffee every morning. The riad Karim was freezing cold, the atrium although covered with a plastic sheet, this stops the rain but as temps fall at night we were cold and found it hard to sleep. We ate breakfast wearing our coats as it was that cold. Security at this riad is something of a joke, you are given a padlock to lock your door, but i tried our key in the other padlock for another room and it opened their lock as well.. Do not leave anything out, although the staff here are trustworthy, other guests or visitors may not be so.
The facilities in the room were lacking, bed, wardrobe with a safe inside. Bathroom, the shower head was broken, the hot water lasted for a minute at most. However on the plus side the room was clean. The rooftop of the riad had a few sun beds, but these were dirty, and there were broken sunbeds and broken trellises thrown on the roof. They also use this area to dry all the sheets and towels.
We were woken up at 5.30am with the sound of people being called to pray. The riad has paper thin walls, we could hear the other guests talking clearing from our room, plus you can hear them use the toliet as its right behind your head when you lay on the bed. This riad is unmanned at night, therefore the phone rings and no one is there to answer it, plus people knock the door and ring the door bell when there is no one there.
My advise for anyone visiting would be avoid staying in the Medina area.... Stay in one of the 'luxury' hotels on the outskirts of the city and get a taxi into town to see the 'few' sights. Expect to be hassled all the time and if the street children say 'its closed down there', they are lying and continue on. They want you to go towards the souk/shop that they get money to lead you to there. If anyone helps you, they want money for it.
The location of this riad is not for the faint hearted, backbackers hostel would be standard i would rate this as..

Room Tip: Avoid staying in the Medina area.... Stay in one of the 'luxury' hotels on the outskirts of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welltravelled1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Me and my family had a great time in Marrakech and at Riad Karim! You might feel hesitate when coming to the riad for the first time due to the very unturistic location and the group of people hanging around outside, but you WILL leave feeling like its your second home!

The personal service and attention was great since there is only a few rooms. The manager, Khalid, insisted we thought of the road as our own house and he helped us with excursion and so on. He was one of the reasons we enjoyed staying at the riad so much!

In the morning we were served breakfast; pancakes, coffee and tea, which was great. The road was clean and in walking distance from the main square. you have to walk through the allies which i would not do if I was alone as a women, but the road itself is great!

If you want a real experience of Marrakech and the life there you should pic this place!

/ Ida, Sweden

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ida F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Riad Karim is a small riad situated in the heart of the old Kasbah . It is very difficult to find our taxi from the airport left us vaguely near it as the roads were too narrow for a car! We spent a while looking for it and then had a pay some local children to guide us to it. We would of never found it on our own. Not a good idea to arrive after dark.
The riad has four small rooms each with an ensuite 3 upstairs and the fourth on the ground floor next to the breakfast area and was clean and tidy. Breakfast consisted of juice, coffee, bread and jams. The person in charge leaves in the afternoon and returns in the morning .A pleasant young lady. You are there on your own during the night. It's daunting outside with the local community hanging around and we being two females on our own felt uncomfortable with this when returning in the evening after a days sightseeing. It's a 15 minute walk to the souks and main square. You are not staying in a tourist location but the local area of the kasbah inhabitants. To see the real Marrakech go there !

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlust195216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
4.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
4.5 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#108 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#135 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,394 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,574 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#51 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karim

Property: Riad Karim
Address: No 26 Derb Sarij Gnaoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 251 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Karim 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Karim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karim Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing