We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hidden Paradise”
Review of Riad Misria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Misria
Ranked #154 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect Hidden Paradise”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Riad Misria is a hidden paradise in Marrakech! It was my partners birthday the we arrived and once this was mentioned a party was organised by Michel for that evening for all the guests in the Riad! It was wonderful, delicious food made by Fatima (especially the aubergine dish!), plenty of wine and welcoming company!

Our room was beautifully decorated and was very clean! Everyone at Riad Misria was helpful with recommendations of where to visit and even organised our travel with the hotel taxi driver who was fantastic, and very reasonably priced.

We would strongly recommend having a massage and scrub at the Riad as well as visiting the Atlas Mountains!! (all organised by the Riad when you get there).

We would definitely stay here again - A perfect break! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    69
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
80
134
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Loved our stay from the very first moment! We were greeted to warm "home" feel, with beautiful, clean design. The staff went out of their way to make our time in Marrakech a good one. They did everything from walk us to great restaurants, to taking my friend the airport to pick up lost luggage- and all the little things between, that make a place special. The room was lovely and clean, roof top was a highlight, great location, and the staff made it a simply wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in November 2013. Amazing sanctuary in the middle of the Medina. Really helpful and friendly staff. Lovely, clean room. Amazing value. The best dinner we had in Marrakech too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadMisria17, Propriétaire at Riad Misria, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Fatima the coocker is really a pearl. I will transmit your nice words .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Firstly a big thank you to all the staff,especially Hamza, Khalid, and Fatima who were wonderful, knowledgeable, friendly and very welcoming. You really made our stay at Riad Misria enjoyable and would recommend others to go and stay there. They gave us space and were attentive when needed.
Fatima cooked us the best beef tagine with vermicelli (thin noodles) which was out of this world the flavours were delicious. We are so glad we booked dinner the first night as it rained and we did not go out. We ended up eating at the Riad twice more and we loved it. We used the taxi sevice to and from the airport through the Riad and would recommend this as the price is reasonable and you feel relaxed knowing the driver is taking you to the right place with no other passengers from other hotels.

We had the Apartment Misria booked and stayed there in comfort, we used the second room just to relax and get ready in as the main bedroom lacked a mirror. The courtyard was covered due to the season but can see that would be awesome in the summer. All the TV channels are French and there was no music channel either, but the wifi was ok and we had connection in the main bedroom and courtyard, (no connection in the upstairs / second room)

The location was perfect, and as with all Medina based riads you have to walk through alleys but we did not feel unsafe at all, we just got used to it and the locals recognised us after a day or two. Marrakech was hectic and the prices were high in the Medina so you do have to haggle or get ripped off.
The museum is worth visiting, its so close by 2-3 minutes walk. I would stay here again if I visited Marrakech and if the price does not go up.

Room Tip: Apartment Misria is spacious and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mymocakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed in the Apartment Misria, which is family accomodation with its own courtyard, but still within the main riad. We had 2 bedrooms, one of which was accessible through the bathroom, and a private courtyard with a wall fountain (that also served as a privacy screen for the window into the bathroom). There is a separate toilet adjacent to the bathroom.

We stayed for a week, and found it to be a pleasant place to explore Marrakech from. The views from the roof terrace over the medina were excellent. Wifi worked in the room, and our suite was nicely decorated. For use of guests was a pool, and hammam.

We were disappointed with the breakfast here, after having been in Morocco for 3 weeks already, and having stayed at 12 different riads during that time. We found it to be the most basic and having the least effort being put into it, of all riads. We were served warmed-up flatbread pancakes -- which usually had hard-crusty bits that were inedible. And, for portions, only 1/4 of a pancake each. Toast was served usually cold and dry. Admittedly, some mornings were better than others. The major problem was that there were no cooks there in the morning. The meal had been obviously prepared the night before, and reheated for breakfast.

Breakfast was served in the main courtyard, under a large plastic covering over the top, to keep out the rain. However, this just collected condensation which dripped directly onto you, and your food. Although there were a couple of mature trees, the courtyard wasn't very welcoming -- ie, the water fountain wasn't turned on, and it was quite cold, and barren.

Staff were friendly, but at times.... ineffective. For example, when we arrived, there was no lock provided on our door as a previous guest had left with the key. We were informed that in a couple of hours, we would be given a new lock. We were told this every day, for a week. In the end, we never got a lock.

The roof terrace was multi-layered and had many areas for privacy. You had to pick up your cushion from the front area, and carry it to the wood chairs provided.

Our 2nd bedroom had windows that faced the terrace, and as the result of the plantings, there were mosquitos in that room all the time (even though the windows were closed). This was not a problem in the rest of the apartment.

The location of this riad is very central. You could radiate out in many directions, and was close to most of the sights. It's still a bit of a walk from the area that taxis pick up and drop off... and the medina's streets are rather hazardous, due to the motorcycles zipping up and down in the narrow streets.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadMisria17, Directeur général at Riad Misria, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
By chance in winter we cover the main courtyard with a plastic covering to avoid rain and keep heat . Inside heated swimming pool may occur condensation. The Misria flat has its own mobile
cover. there are a lot of plantations and flowers on terraces but all rooms have anti mosquitos devices. I will give more instructions about breakfasts. Normally our guests appreciate breakfasts we are serving at any time. We are doing our best to keep our keys when guests are leaving but it's not very simple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We enjoyed our 3 nights at the Riad Misria. We were delighted to be in our first Riad and Michel the owner was more than accommodating. The Riad is lovely and offers good value for the price. I think there are much fancier Riads but this one is just fine – clean and comfortable. Our teenage children loved it too. It is in a great location, we had a few meals in the Riad and someone was always around to answer our questions, walk us to where we wanted to go, etc. Michel arranged for a party the last night with local musicians. What a lively fun time was had by all. We met some very interesting people as well during our stay which only added to the entire experience. We can highly recommend this Riad.

Room Tip: We had the family suite (no sure if that is what it is called) but amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eisenwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadMisria17, Propriétaire at Riad Misria, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
thank you for this nice review but why only four stars on five ? What can we do better?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Upon arrival to the airport we were met by a taxi driver sent by the Riad (on request) and he was right on time. Once we got into the medina we were met by Michel who was standing by to walk us through the winding alleys to the Riad. Once inside it truly is a lovely space and is well situated with an easy 15 minute walk to the jema el fna square. Unfortunately we heard everything that was going on in the central courtyard in our room and no blackout curtains means rising with the sun. But, as everyone goes to bed pretty early it’s very easy to get a good night’s sleep even for sensitive sleepers like me. We later discovered that part of the noise we were hearing through our wall was actually a shoemaker, which made the experience a little more authentic. Wi-Fi can be spotty in the Riad but seems reliable when you have a good signal so no complaints there. The owner was extremely accommodating allowing us both early check in and late check out as we had some odd flight times. The room was exactly as described and overall it was a beautiful place to stay. Michel also made some great recommendations for restaurants but to be honest, the food served at the Riad was delicious and great for a quiet night in. Absolutely recommend eating here but you will need to notify them in the morning if you wish to have dinner as they shop for everything that day. We are not typically bed and breakfast type travelers but really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldwidelunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadMisria17, Propriétaire at Riad Misria, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice words. Medina is medina , what to do!
We will carry on to clean the Riad better and better. Dust is everywhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#157 of 500 in Marrakech
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Saad
Riad Dar Saad
#133 of 1,139 in Marrakech
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kenzo
Riad Kenzo
#316 of 1,139 in Marrakech
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Aya
Riad Aya
#34 of 1,139 in Marrakech
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#6 of 1,139 in Marrakech
637 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Nasreen
Riad Nasreen
#95 of 1,139 in Marrakech
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Misria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Misria

Property: Riad Misria
Address: 17 derb Anboub | Quartier Baroudyine Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Misria 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Misria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing