We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay at Riad Misria.”
Review of Riad Misria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Misria
Ranked #149 of 1,154 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay at Riad Misria.”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Firstly a big thank you to all the staff,especially Hamza, Khalid, and Fatima who were wonderful, knowledgeable, friendly and very welcoming. You really made our stay at Riad Misria enjoyable and would recommend others to go and stay there. They gave us space and were attentive when needed.
Fatima cooked us the best beef tagine with vermicelli (thin noodles) which was out of this world the flavours were delicious. We are so glad we booked dinner the first night as it rained and we did not go out. We ended up eating at the Riad twice more and we loved it. We used the taxi sevice to and from the airport through the Riad and would recommend this as the price is reasonable and you feel relaxed knowing the driver is taking you to the right place with no other passengers from other hotels.

We had the Apartment Misria booked and stayed there in comfort, we used the second room just to relax and get ready in as the main bedroom lacked a mirror. The courtyard was covered due to the season but can see that would be awesome in the summer. All the TV channels are French and there was no music channel either, but the wifi was ok and we had connection in the main bedroom and courtyard, (no connection in the upstairs / second room)

The location was perfect, and as with all Medina based riads you have to walk through alleys but we did not feel unsafe at all, we just got used to it and the locals recognised us after a day or two. Marrakech was hectic and the prices were high in the Medina so you do have to haggle or get ripped off.
The museum is worth visiting, its so close by 2-3 minutes walk. I would stay here again if I visited Marrakech and if the price does not go up.

Room Tip: Apartment Misria is spacious and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mymocakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    70
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
82
136
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed in the Apartment Misria, which is family accomodation with its own courtyard, but still within the main riad. We had 2 bedrooms, one of which was accessible through the bathroom, and a private courtyard with a wall fountain (that also served as a privacy screen for the window into the bathroom). There is a separate toilet adjacent to the bathroom.

We stayed for a week, and found it to be a pleasant place to explore Marrakech from. The views from the roof terrace over the medina were excellent. Wifi worked in the room, and our suite was nicely decorated. For use of guests was a pool, and hammam.

We were disappointed with the breakfast here, after having been in Morocco for 3 weeks already, and having stayed at 12 different riads during that time. We found it to be the most basic and having the least effort being put into it, of all riads. We were served warmed-up flatbread pancakes -- which usually had hard-crusty bits that were inedible. And, for portions, only 1/4 of a pancake each. Toast was served usually cold and dry. Admittedly, some mornings were better than others. The major problem was that there were no cooks there in the morning. The meal had been obviously prepared the night before, and reheated for breakfast.

Breakfast was served in the main courtyard, under a large plastic covering over the top, to keep out the rain. However, this just collected condensation which dripped directly onto you, and your food. Although there were a couple of mature trees, the courtyard wasn't very welcoming -- ie, the water fountain wasn't turned on, and it was quite cold, and barren.

Staff were friendly, but at times.... ineffective. For example, when we arrived, there was no lock provided on our door as a previous guest had left with the key. We were informed that in a couple of hours, we would be given a new lock. We were told this every day, for a week. In the end, we never got a lock.

The roof terrace was multi-layered and had many areas for privacy. You had to pick up your cushion from the front area, and carry it to the wood chairs provided.

Our 2nd bedroom had windows that faced the terrace, and as the result of the plantings, there were mosquitos in that room all the time (even though the windows were closed). This was not a problem in the rest of the apartment.

The location of this riad is very central. You could radiate out in many directions, and was close to most of the sights. It's still a bit of a walk from the area that taxis pick up and drop off... and the medina's streets are rather hazardous, due to the motorcycles zipping up and down in the narrow streets.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadMisria17, Directeur général at Riad Misria, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
By chance in winter we cover the main courtyard with a plastic covering to avoid rain and keep heat . Inside heated swimming pool may occur condensation. The Misria flat has its own mobile
cover. there are a lot of plantations and flowers on terraces but all rooms have anti mosquitos devices. I will give more instructions about breakfasts. Normally our guests appreciate breakfasts we are serving at any time. We are doing our best to keep our keys when guests are leaving but it's not very simple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We enjoyed our 3 nights at the Riad Misria. We were delighted to be in our first Riad and Michel the owner was more than accommodating. The Riad is lovely and offers good value for the price. I think there are much fancier Riads but this one is just fine – clean and comfortable. Our teenage children loved it too. It is in a great location, we had a few meals in the Riad and someone was always around to answer our questions, walk us to where we wanted to go, etc. Michel arranged for a party the last night with local musicians. What a lively fun time was had by all. We met some very interesting people as well during our stay which only added to the entire experience. We can highly recommend this Riad.

Room Tip: We had the family suite (no sure if that is what it is called) but amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eisenwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadMisria17, Propriétaire at Riad Misria, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
thank you for this nice review but why only four stars on five ? What can we do better?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Upon arrival to the airport we were met by a taxi driver sent by the Riad (on request) and he was right on time. Once we got into the medina we were met by Michel who was standing by to walk us through the winding alleys to the Riad. Once inside it truly is a lovely space and is well situated with an easy 15 minute walk to the jema el fna square. Unfortunately we heard everything that was going on in the central courtyard in our room and no blackout curtains means rising with the sun. But, as everyone goes to bed pretty early it’s very easy to get a good night’s sleep even for sensitive sleepers like me. We later discovered that part of the noise we were hearing through our wall was actually a shoemaker, which made the experience a little more authentic. Wi-Fi can be spotty in the Riad but seems reliable when you have a good signal so no complaints there. The owner was extremely accommodating allowing us both early check in and late check out as we had some odd flight times. The room was exactly as described and overall it was a beautiful place to stay. Michel also made some great recommendations for restaurants but to be honest, the food served at the Riad was delicious and great for a quiet night in. Absolutely recommend eating here but you will need to notify them in the morning if you wish to have dinner as they shop for everything that day. We are not typically bed and breakfast type travelers but really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldwidelunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadMisria17, Propriétaire at Riad Misria, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice words. Medina is medina , what to do!
We will carry on to clean the Riad better and better. Dust is everywhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

From initial contact with the owner, all the way through to our check-out-all of it was a fantastic experience. The owner and staff went out of their way to take care of my family of 7; making us feel welcome, and accommodating our transportation, and late check-out needs. Although Marrakech is a good experience on its own, our stay at Riad Misria just made it even better. Thank you all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDavis4674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadMisria17, Propriétaire at Riad Misria, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you. hope you've enjoyed thf eve party. Lucky family!! Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This riad is a good Riad, the riad provides excellent service. A little bit hidden from main street, but accessible once you know where the main sites are located in the medina. This riad is very close to Ben Youssef Madrasa. This is an overall good experience.The Riad is also close to two of the most famous restaurants in the Medina.The rooms are big and it looks like you have your own private condo complete with patio. The showers are clean and spacious. The breakfast is more than basic, they give you coffee, juice, yogurt, and two kinds of breads. Overall it is a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredito67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Riad Misria for three nights. Only returned back to Scotland yesterday. After getting collected from the airport we were taken to the Riad. We were greeted by Michel the owner with mint tea and macaroons, which were fantastic. We were staying in the arcadia room which was stunning and had a great sleep every night. The Riad has been decorated to an amazing standard and is truly breathtaking.
We went on a day trip to the ourika valley, which was really nice. But remember to bring good walking shoes.
The Riad is minutes away from the markets . Be ready to barter , but remember the moroccans barter for a living , but its all good fun. I would recommend getting the Riad to organise the airport transfers. Arriving late at night without a guide would be very confusing. Michel gave us plenty of maps and ideas of places to see. The food in the Riad was easily the best we have tasted. Cant recommend enough. Khaled (?) the young guy who works at the Riad was so helpful and nothing was ever a problem . Michel the owner was simply a gentlemen . Thanks for a great experience.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mozzynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Nesma
Riad Nesma
#142 of 500 in Marrakech
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#48 of 500 in Marrakech
517 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#13 of 1,154 in Marrakech
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#11 of 1,154 in Marrakech
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#16 of 1,154 in Marrakech
619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Samsara
Riad Samsara
#34 of 1,154 in Marrakech
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Misria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Misria

Property: Riad Misria
Address: 17 derb Anboub | Quartier Baroudyine Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 1,154 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Misria 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Riad Misria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing