We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Riad Ain Marrakech

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Ain Marrakech
Ranked #35 of 295 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Recently stayed at the Riad Ain for a few nights and found it disappointing.

We had emailed the Riad on four occasions before our arrival inquiring about an airport pick up, as there are photos on the internet of a van at the airport with the Riad Ain logo on the side. We never got a response despite using 2 different email addresses and the online form on their own website. We did not see the van anywhere during our stay and also doubt that emails are ever checked.

We caught a cab from the Airport into the Medina and despite having a print out of google maps and a GPS we could not find the Riad. It is actually in a different location to the google map, the bookings.com map and even the Riad’s own map sketch!

The accommodations could best be described as budget back packer style. The bed was a small double and very hard. The room was smaller than it looked on the internet. The pillow had an unpleasant odour. There was a small, thin cotton ‘cover’ that was meant to be a blanket. The ‘spare’ doona/duvet had no cover so we could not use it. The ‘spare’ pillows in the cupboard were obviously used with dirty pillow cases. The shower did not drain and within a couple of minutes you were standing in ankle deep water and had to turn off the tap to allow it to drain before resuming your shower. The condensation from the airconditioner drained into a puddle in the middle of the room. There was a small wardrobe, but they did not supply any coat hangers, so we could not even unpack our clothes.

There was ‘free wifi, but the cable to the router was broken and would fall out – we happened to see the router on the roof terrace, so made many trips up the stairs to fix it.

We did request a non smoking room, yet there was a used and half full ashtray in our room upon arrival and it remained that way for duration of our stay. In addition the other guests would smoke outside our room and the smoke drifted into the room.

The hostesses did not speak any English. Checking out became a 30 minute ordeal as they did not know how to use the credit card machine and had to call someone for assistance and at one stage went upstairs and got another guest to ‘have a go’ with the card machine.

The previous reviews of the Riad do not seem to match the current state & management of the property. The roof terrace seemed to be largely disused and was covered in washing each day. The lounges and bar dusty. We did not use the Spa or steam room, which were an additional and unknown charge.

The Riad fell well short of our expectations for simple comfortable accommodation and I would not recommend a stay here. At around 90 euros per night the Riad is overpriced.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the ground floor, as meals are served outside your room, and guests smoke in this...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Itchyfeetagain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Riad Ain Marrakech
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 144 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

this is a wonderful Riad, full of charme and very clean. The staff is friendly, and the food is amazing. The atmosphere is magic, in a quiet area of the Medina, 10 minutes walk from Djemaa el Fna square. Highly recommanded!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

This perfectly located Riad near the Palace and Jemaa El Fna is a sylish place to stay with a beautiful terrace! After a long day out in Marrakech it was the perfect place to come back to to relax with a glass of wine or Marocain tea. The owner was extremely welcoming and the staff are very attentive.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsBruBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

A magical riad, with lush decor exquisitely attentive to the finest detail ... a feast for the eyes. This riad right in the Medina of Marrakech is one of the most stunningly beautiful to behold, with an outstanding staff. The spa was outstanding, as was the staff and hammam. Probably the most romantic hotel in all of Morocco

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funky0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Claudie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Corentin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank lolajimenezrodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#186 of 502 in Marrakech
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#275 of 502 in Marrakech
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
#221 of 502 in Marrakech
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
#261 of 1,160 in Marrakech
386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Shaden
Riad Shaden
#178 of 1,160 in Marrakech
199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad El Kenz
Riad El Kenz
#30 of 295 in Marrakech
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ain Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ain Marrakech

Address: No23. Derb Jdid | Quartier Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 295 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range: $50 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riad Ain Marrakech 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Minutes from the famous place Jemaa el Gena and within two steps of the royal palace located in a calm district in the middle of Marrakech, Ain is a house d'hosts of charm which combines elegance, comfort and intimacy. The riad is composed of 7 spacious rooms, a living room and a terrace arranged with a space solarium, jacuzzi and a unspoiled view on famous Koutoubia. It's a riad dream, an invitation with in love with space and silence, a place of inspiration with poetry, of meditation and magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Ain Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing