We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Peaceful and beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Al Kadar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Al Kadar
Ranked #157 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

The riad is beautiful, a lot of attention has gone into the smallest detail.
Plenty of hot water, great heating system (which was a bit of a luxury since it's never really cold).
The breakfast was very nice, so one night we had dinner, which was an authentic moroccan experience from start to finish.
We particularly liked the roof top terrace, which is very beautiful and peaceful.
The riad is a bit of a walk from the main square, but at least the location is quiet and great for a good night sleep.
We had no problem finding it unlike others reviewers: Michele, the owner, gave us a map and the name of the next door hammam, which all the taxi drivers knew.
He was also very helpful recommending places to see and things to do and one evening even walked to the main square with us.
If we really have to find areas for improvement, I'd say a more powerful light in the bathroom and my partner found the bed a bit hard, but these are matters of preference (I thought it was fine).
Overall I thoroughly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
58
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

The Riad is absolutely beautiful. Michael has tended to every detail..the wood work, mosaics, tiling, plants, rose petals, etc. The room was very clean, bed comfortable and plenty of hot water. All very important in any hotel choice. Breakfast was also incredible.
The welcome, upon arrival, was very warm and provided a great first impression.
However, after that, my stay was okay. I had arrived in Marrakech without a great plan as it was an opportunistic trip. Michael wasn't really that helpful in suggesting places to go. For dinner, he couldn't recommend any restaurants. After pressuring him a bit, he told me to go to Marrakshi, which is an overpriced touristy place with mediocre food. Also, as with most riads in the medina area, it can be hard to find. Micheal gave me the riad's card, which has the address and a VERY high level orienting map, but it wasn't detailed enough for any taxi to find. And, I found it impossible to find my way out of there and back without a lot of help from others in the streets. I contrast this experience with my other riad (upon my return to Marrakech at the end of my trip) where the owner provided not only a map of Marrakech (which identified the general area) but also a hand drawn map with very specific guidance for navigating the small alleys. This type of service orientation was lacking a bit here and, as such, took away from the other positive aspects of the experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

I have travelled extensively and stayed in everything from hostels to five star properties. Riad Al Kadar will ALWAYS be one of my favorite places - mostly due to Michael! The Riad is extremely clean and decorated with just the right touch - fresh flowers floating in the fountain, a bowl of oranges in the corner, colourful glasses at the table... The rooms are tastefully decorated and there is a beautiful terrace where we would often go to relax and unwind after a day of touring or shopping at the souks. The food in Morocco is great but we had our BEST meals at the Riad. The morning breakfast consisted of fresh baked breads, fruit, cheese, eggs, preserves and amazing coffee. Dinners and lunches could also be arranged and the meals were all outstanding. Naima is a wonderful cook and per our request, Michael arranged a cooking lesson from her (complete with a trip to the market in the morning to buy the food). Had to misfortune of having a cold turn into a throat infection that required a doctor. Michael arranged for an English-speaking doctor to come to the Riad. He helped us set up some day tours, made reservations for us at a magnificent spa, suggested great restaurants, gave us great shopping tips and provided us with endless laughs and memorable moments. There wasn't anything that Michael couldn't help us with or arrange for us - he is truly a perfect host! The Riad is located in a residential area - about a 15 minute walk to the
Square. Highly recommend this Riad for ANY and ALL couples and people travelling alone - a great place for a woman travelling on her own. For an unforgettable experience in Marrakech, treat yourself to some time at Riad Al Kadar.

Room Tip: Two rooms have a shower only and two rooms have a bathtub. If a bathtub is important to you, reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureswithLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

If you are heading to Marrakech... you must stay here. Michael, the owner is so 'friendly, accommodating, funny and the best host ever'. Our week there with some great dinners were perfect. He helped organize some tours for us as well as a day pool side when needing a break from the hussle and bussle of Marrakech. The Riad is beautiful and clean clean clean. The food was amazing and so fresh. Michael is undescribable really- full of life, great sense of humor, helpful, and willing to break into physical gestures when trying to get a point across. Again, so much fun. Thank you Michael for making Marrakech even more amazing and special for us.

Pat

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattravels-51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

The Riad Al Kadar, has been the best place that we have ever stayed. It is impeccably clean and the owner Michele is the perfect host. Nothing is too much trouble, he will organise your airport transfer, trips and excursions and even book you a Hammam.
We ate at the Riad on 2 evenings and words cannot explain the quality and service of Michele's hospitality................it was more than perfect.
The Riad is located 10-15 minutes from the main square, Djeema al Fna, but is quite easily found on foot. This allowed us to see and experience local life which you would not see if you stayed in a 'sterile 'hotel out of town.
The area in and around the Riad and Marrakech as a whole is exteremly safe and we can say it is the safest country that we have ever visited.
The souks in and around the Medina can give you a sensory overload, but to return to the Riad Al Kadar is a magical oasis where you can relax and unwind in peace and quiet.
We cannot recommend this beautiful place enough and will return again........Insha'Allah

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDave_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We couldn't have wished for better accommodation in Marrakech. The Riad was spotlessly clean and beautifully restored. Michel the host was extremely welcoming and made us feel at home immediately. We arrived quite late on the first night and so we decided to eat at the Riad. Naima the cook prepared us a delicious meal, so delicious in fact that we decided to eat there every night. It takes roughly 15 minutes to get to the main square. The walk is pleasant and something that you would miss if you were staying in the centre. We couldn't recommend the Riad AND the food highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

We had a lovely time staying at the Riad Al Kadar. Although it is not situated in the central medina, it is only a 10-15 min walk away from the main square down little old streets and souks. The location means that it is a very quiet, peaceful place to stay whilst still being near all the action. The riad itself is beautiful, with gorgeous rooms, an amazing courtyard and even the roof terrace has been thought through in detail. The breakfasts are amazing - Moroccan bread, pancakes, fruit, honey, jams, delicious coffee and fresh orange juice every morning. The owner is incredily friendly and welcoming, very chatty and very helpful, as are his staff. If you don't speak French, it could be a little hard to stay here as english is limited but I'm sure that you would get by.
Definitely stay here - you can't get better service and surroundings for a better price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claraesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#119 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#96 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Beija
Riad Dar Beija
#524 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
#379 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Sable Chaud
Riad Sable Chaud
#105 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Pavillon Oriental
Le Pavillon Oriental
#357 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Kadar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Kadar

Property: Riad Al Kadar
Address: 132 , Derb Jamaa - Arset - Belbaraka, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Kadar 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Al Kadar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing