We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice play to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Cannelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Cannelle
Ranked #288 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a nice play to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Pros:
- Beautiful Courtyard and rooms
- bathrooms didn't smell (most in Morocco do from experience)
- pretty good breakfast (breads, pastries, jam, coffee and OJ)
- very relaxing place
- good/reliable wifi

Cons:
- about a 20 minute walk from the main square, you can take taxis but arguing over prices gets tiring as every driver tries to rip you off. Most of the walk is okay but I felt a bit unsafe walking in parts at night (dark side streets near the hotel)
- our shower head was broken and sprayed water sideways, as there was no curtain or door this meant the whole bathrooms flooded when I took a shower. That said, we did stay in the cheapest room in the Riad
- Breakfast is only until 10, a lot of places in Morocco offer it until 11, there aren't many other good breakfast choices near either (or I didn't find any anyway)
- this isn't a good place for meeting other travellers
- they have their own food but it is very expensive by Moroccan standards

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    32
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
80
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The riad was great, friendly and clean and about a 20 min walk to the square. The manager was great, although the guy who runs the night shift is very keen to sell there own food, to the point where it is very annoying!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbob183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Very well presented...friendly helpful staff. Lovely food. Nice terrace to sunbath ...not dark and enclosed like some raids. Open bright space with designer feel. Highly recommend. Do not be put off by dark alley outside riad ...but recommend arranging a transfer from airport as taxis will not drop you outside riad. Good location for sight seeing and the souks.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodieanna77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Riad Cannelle is just a really lovely and tranquil place to stay. Perfectly positioned in the Medina, it is easy to find and is very close to the souks and all of the cafes and restaurants are a short stroll or taxi ride away. The courtyard is such a cool area to chill out in, listen to music or drink mint tea. The roof terrace is also a nice spot to have breakfast in the mornings or to just lay in the sunshine when you need time out from the chaos of Marrakech! The rooms are spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated, complimented by stunning, ornate, morrocan furnishings. You are guaranteed a peaceful nights sleep here. The staff are very friendly and helpful and go out of their way to help make your stay a wonderful and memorable experience. Adil, Badr and all of the staff at Riad Cannelle offered us a very warm welcome. Absolutely fantastic! You will love it!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Outoften1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This Riad was perfect- an amazingly quiet haven from the madness of the souks that are pretty much on the doorstep. It is incredible how peaceful and serene it is once you step through the wooden door into the pretty little court yard, considering it is so close to all the action of Marrakech.

Myself and my boyfriend stayed for 5 nights and really enjoyed coming back to the Riad to relax after sight seeing in Marrakech. Badh and Ali were excellent hosts- very willing to help (even walking with us to various locations to help us get our bearings) and very welcoming. The food is absolutely amazing - we ate twice in the Riad during our trip and the meals were delicious. We are also both vegan and the cook, Fazia, was really accommodating with providing us a vegan meal.

Great location, nice rooms and lovely roof top terrace to watch the sunset from. Would recommend this Riad to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and we would definitely recommend it. The location couldn't be better if you want to wander around the Souks or even venture in to the new town. Adil and Badr were absolutely wonderful hosts and they made us feel very welcome. We ate at the Riad one night and the food and atmosphere was fantastic. The Riad is beautiful and serene and we slept great.I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richi581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Guests are given a really warm welcome at Riad Cannelle. Upon arrival, you are welcomed with tea and biscuits by Adil, the very pleasant, courteous Manager. The chef, Fozzia cooked the tastiest meal I ever had in Morocco over 15 days. It was simply delicious and served by the most attentive waiter, who provided us with good advice and recommendations about food and shopping. We were given telephone numbers by the male staff, in case we needed an escort to our destinations, or needed help. The staff were extremely friendly and solicitous. My friends and I would certainly return to this riad for further short breaks as it is clean, pleasantly furnished and close to the souqs and main square.

Room Tip: It hasn't got a pool or fitness centre but can't remove the buttons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Ftouma
Riad Dar Ftouma
#199 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Habib
Riad Habib
#56 of 257 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Mchicha
Riad Dar Mchicha
#299 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Shaden
Riad Shaden
#194 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Zemrane
Dar Zemrane
#561 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Aubrac
Riad Aubrac
#204 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Cannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cannelle

Property: Riad Cannelle
Address: 10 Derd Sidi Ben Said N10, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Cannelle 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Cannelle has been developpped out an old property in the Medina of Marrakech.After 4 years of refurbishing, completed in 2007, we've been able to offer a compromize between ancient traditional and classical style, and modern amenities.The development of the riad was designed to offer large private space to our customers, combined with delicate and fine decoration.The intimate and dedicated quality of services offered to our customers, will make their stay an unforgettable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Cannelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cannelle Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing