We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice play to stay”
Review of Riad Cannelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Cannelle
Ranked #369 of 1,159 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Pros:
- Beautiful Courtyard and rooms
- bathrooms didn't smell (most in Morocco do from experience)
- pretty good breakfast (breads, pastries, jam, coffee and OJ)
- very relaxing place
- good/reliable wifi

Cons:
- about a 20 minute walk from the main square, you can take taxis but arguing over prices gets tiring as every driver tries to rip you off. Most of the walk is okay but I felt a bit unsafe walking in parts at night (dark side streets near the hotel)
- our shower head was broken and sprayed water sideways, as there was no curtain or door this meant the whole bathrooms flooded when I took a shower. That said, we did stay in the cheapest room in the Riad
- Breakfast is only until 10, a lot of places in Morocco offer it until 11, there aren't many other good breakfast choices near either (or I didn't find any anyway)
- this isn't a good place for meeting other travellers
- they have their own food but it is very expensive by Moroccan standards

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Riad Cannelle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 138 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The riad was great, friendly and clean and about a 20 min walk to the square. The manager was great, although the guy who runs the night shift is very keen to sell there own food, to the point where it is very annoying!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbob183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Very well presented...friendly helpful staff. Lovely food. Nice terrace to sunbath ...not dark and enclosed like some raids. Open bright space with designer feel. Highly recommend. Do not be put off by dark alley outside riad ...but recommend arranging a transfer from airport as taxis will not drop you outside riad. Good location for sight seeing and the souks.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodieanna77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Riad Cannelle is just a really lovely and tranquil place to stay. Perfectly positioned in the Medina, it is easy to find and is very close to the souks and all of the cafes and restaurants are a short stroll or taxi ride away. The courtyard is such a cool area to chill out in, listen to music or drink mint tea. The roof terrace is also a nice spot to have breakfast in the mornings or to just lay in the sunshine when you need time out from the chaos of Marrakech! The rooms are spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated, complimented by stunning, ornate, morrocan furnishings. You are guaranteed a peaceful nights sleep here. The staff are very friendly and helpful and go out of their way to help make your stay a wonderful and memorable experience. Adil, Badr and all of the staff at Riad Cannelle offered us a very warm welcome. Absolutely fantastic! You will love it!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outoften1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This Riad was perfect- an amazingly quiet haven from the madness of the souks that are pretty much on the doorstep. It is incredible how peaceful and serene it is once you step through the wooden door into the pretty little court yard, considering it is so close to all the action of Marrakech.

Myself and my boyfriend stayed for 5 nights and really enjoyed coming back to the Riad to relax after sight seeing in Marrakech. Badh and Ali were excellent hosts- very willing to help (even walking with us to various locations to help us get our bearings) and very welcoming. The food is absolutely amazing - we ate twice in the Riad during our trip and the meals were delicious. We are also both vegan and the cook, Fazia, was really accommodating with providing us a vegan meal.

Great location, nice rooms and lovely roof top terrace to watch the sunset from. Would recommend this Riad to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and we would definitely recommend it. The location couldn't be better if you want to wander around the Souks or even venture in to the new town. Adil and Badr were absolutely wonderful hosts and they made us feel very welcome. We ate at the Riad one night and the food and atmosphere was fantastic. The Riad is beautiful and serene and we slept great.I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richi581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Guests are given a really warm welcome at Riad Cannelle. Upon arrival, you are welcomed with tea and biscuits by Adil, the very pleasant, courteous Manager. The chef, Fozzia cooked the tastiest meal I ever had in Morocco over 15 days. It was simply delicious and served by the most attentive waiter, who provided us with good advice and recommendations about food and shopping. We were given telephone numbers by the male staff, in case we needed an escort to our destinations, or needed help. The staff were extremely friendly and solicitous. My friends and I would certainly return to this riad for further short breaks as it is clean, pleasantly furnished and close to the souqs and main square.

Room Tip: It hasn't got a pool or fitness centre but can't remove the buttons!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#276 of 502 in Marrakech
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Le Rubis
Riad Le Rubis
#346 of 1,159 in Marrakech
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Meryem
Dar Meryem
#648 of 1,159 in Marrakech
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Aubrac
Riad Aubrac
#206 of 1,159 in Marrakech
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mille et une Nuits
Riad Mille et une Nuits
#599 of 1,159 in Marrakech
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
riad bianca
riad bianca
#297 of 1,159 in Marrakech
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Cannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cannelle

Address: 10 Derd Sidi Ben Said N10, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 1,159 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $58 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Cannelle 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Cannelle has been developpped out an old property in the Medina of Marrakech.After 4 years of refurbishing, completed in 2007, we've been able to offer a compromize between ancient traditional and classical style, and modern amenities.The development of the riad was designed to offer large private space to our customers, combined with delicate and fine decoration.The intimate and dedicated quality of services offered to our customers, will make their stay an unforgettable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Riad Cannelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cannelle Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing