We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant!”
Review of Azar

Azar
Ranked #17 of 871 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

A excellent restaurant with beautiful atmosphere, food and staff. The food was delicious, it was very tasty, the service was really good and the entertainment... the best food ive had in Marrakech..Its a must see!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BesteK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    761
    364
    92
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A complete gem!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

A beautiful restaurant hidden away in Marrakech- an absolute must for anyone visiting the city.

Wonderfully decorated, very extravagant and luxurious with delicious food. The food was of the highest quality with great flavours. Would highly recommend the Lamb shawarma as well as the caramel fondant for dessert.

Although seen to be a bit more upmarket in comparison to other restaurants in the city, it is brilliant value for money. Cocktails, alcohol, 3 mezzes, 2 main courses as well as desserts come to the equivalent of £60 English! Which, in England, you couldn't have got the same meal in an equivalent restaurant or quality of food for less than £150.00

Beautiful restaurant, beautiful food. A must!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We arrived early on a Saturday and the place was empty. We were invited to have cocktails in the bar and as it was happy hour, we obliged! The cocktails tasted fairly good although were presented in strange goblets resting in coloured plastic cubes. The meal was incredible - truly delicious. The lamb shawarma and chocolate fondant were to die for. The entertainment - musician and belly dancers - really added to the enjoyment of the evening. We spent about 1400 dirhams for 6 mezze, 2 mains, 1 dessert, a bottle of wine, water, coffees and cocktails. As Londoners, this felt like a bargain.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Lebanese cuisine”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had eaten late in the afternoon so only wanted a light dinner and saw that Azar offered Mezes which we thought would suit our needs perfectly... and perfect it was!
There is a great selection of mezes available and the ones we had were all so tasty! We had a lovely bottle of red Moroccon wine as well, Terre La Ferme Rouge, I highly recommend it. Deserts were delicious as well, I had the chococlate fondant which was to die for! My girlfriend had the profiterolls which were equally as good. The service was also great. Furthermore the restaurant is beautiful! Belly dancers to finish off the meal was a nice touch as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MWS89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best meal in Marrakech”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This place has great Lebanese style food (there are also Moroccan dishes on the menu). You can choose from mezzes to sample a wide variety of food and share. They also have a happy hour and shisha although we did not make use of either. The service is fantastic and the atmosphere really takes you away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Highly recommended!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yogarobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing