We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Night In Marrakesh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 700 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Moroccan, Middle Eastern, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coachella, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“First Night In Marrakesh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel concierge easily booked us a table for dinner on a Monday night. The restaurant was not busy when we arrived and was only partially full for the entire time we were there. It was easy for taxi driver to find and we were able to hail a taxi easily for the ride back to the hotel after dinner.

Restaurant is definitely for tourists as there were no locals present. The service was good as was the food although it was a bit pricey. We get in mind is the ambiance was nice. The decor was elaborate and there was even a treat of a belly dancer show halfway through our meal.

We stayed to enjoy a shisha pipe after dinner and then had dessert. The dinner was nice enough although like I said the value was not great. For us it was a great first night in Marrakesh.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank eblis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice restaurant with high standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The food and the service were really good. The venue is cosy and will remind you of places in the West. It's a lebanese restaurant though, so don't expect typical maroccan food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregory c c, Directeur général at Azar, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review .It's very nice but we propose also typical moroccan and international food.

Regards,

La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fun evening out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We chose Azar because we love meze and wanted a change from tagine!
We arrived early for cocktails and just enjoyed the glitzy atmosphere and people watching
The food was excellent quality, service was good, ambience great
Would definitely recommend if you want something un-moroccan for a change!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Could be in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We found this restaurant in our guide book and didn't expect it to be as glamorous as it is! It felt like walking in to a top notch restaurant in the centre of London. The prices however were very good. We ended up eating at this restaurant 3 times. Lebanese food is my favourite food and they had all my favourite dishes. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinalofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely restaurant , beautiful inside and out. Had a lovely evening with good service and amazing food. Would recommend it as a top class restaurant for Moroccan and Lebanese food to any one who comes here. Think even Gordon Ramsay would be impressed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing