We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Azar

Azar
Ranked #18 of 862 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Interesting place, good atmosphere and fab 2 for 1 cocktails during happy hour. Mixed grill main was delicious

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    753
    363
    90
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good value meal”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Attentive staff. Good cocktails although beware ordering cocktails in happy hour. It's buy one get one free per person rather than split between members of the party. Easy to find. Tasty food. Atmospheric but didn't stay for the belly dancers so can't comment on this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 985Gelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place for dinner!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place was great! Atmosphere, service, entertainment, food - everything! I would definetley recommend this place!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rebk593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good experience, but average main courses”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Started sitting in the mezzanine drinking the 2-4-1 cocktails which were lovely. the service was very attentive and the atnosphere was perfect. we moved inside for dinner, once again the atmosphere was really good - there was music in the background with dim light and the service again was great. We chose the 6 mezze to start plus one extra - they were great and actually quite filling! For mains i had the mixed grill which was ok considering i had the same thing at the kasbah cafe for a lot less money, portion size was good. My husband had the royal coucous which was a massive portion and rather bland. We were expecting a lit from the food but it wasnt the best. I completely agree with another reviewer thst the food scores low and the place/service scores high.
I had been looking forward to the belly dancers as this was something different, however we did not really enjoy it - it kind of ruined the atmosphere and cheapened the place. We quickly left, as did others.
Overall, a good experience while in marrakech though!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbourko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice venue but .....”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Azar is a nice looking restaurant with some interesting quirks about it (check out the elevator with the rose wall and fake turf floor). They serve very good cocktails and happy hour on the terrace was great. The staff are also friendly enough, but this is a restaurant and the food was very, very disappointing. Probably the worst food we had in Marrakech.

As a venue for cocktails/drinks, I would probably rate this venue higher. If rating it purely as a restaurant I would rate it much lower!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing